We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! The nicest small lodge in Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frans Indongo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otjiwarongo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frans Indongo Lodge
Save
You added Frans Indongo Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Otjiwarongo 1093, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
S Oxon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wow! The nicest small lodge in Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We knew this lodge was owned by Namibias richest man, but wow, what a wonderful place. The buildings and layout is great, very attractive. The rooms are thatched cabins, with even a thatched bathroom inside. There is every convenience. The viewing deck looks out on a massive field full of rare antelopes. Food and service, top notch. The place is currently run by a friendly welcoming German couple, and everything is just so. It's a pity we were only able to spend one night there, we are going back...

Quality, beauty and interest, its all here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    54
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
34
107
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angelholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very happy at our first visit and had thoughts of returning, When the opportunity came I wrote and asked for a good offer and I got it,
The Frans Indongo lodge is very nice. Fine rooms, nice restaurant and pool area, good food and nice staff. We were just as happy this time!
I had some time to spend and choose to join their evening game drive. It was a beautiful evening and I enjoyed the drive but we did not see that much. However we had two very close and good contacts with a sweet Rhino family - father, mother and their son. After taht you can't complain!
The Frans Indongo lodge is very well situated, so it is a place to stay for visitors to Etosha, Waterberg and of course Cheetah Conservation Fund.

Room Tip: I have only used the rooms closest to the restaurant where there is a family room, but I expect all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We are a family of 4 that travelled for 15 days to Namibia in March of 2012. We ended our trip with 2 nights at Frans Indongo.

We loved the layout. This permanent building. We had our own room that was actually 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms. No issues with bugs or tents. A real lodge. Nice A/C and a great place to relax after our 2 weeks of travel.

The food is excellent with very nice service. Nice pool and beautiful view of some unusual variety of animals that aren't found in the general population any more. Very nice pictures. Don't expect much if you do the game drives. After being in etosha and Damarland, not much new out on the game drive. Just sit on the porch and see a few new species.

We did hike in the high fenced area across the street. Kind of neat to be in the field with the animals. Saw some big cat tracks and a dead wildebeest. A little intimidating while walking on the ground.

Very friendly staff. Very accommodating. They assisted us with our Cheetah Conservation Fund tickets and activities. It was a very nice place to unwind, with good food and A/C and nice beds with full bath. A great stop over to recoup prior to long flights home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubiera, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We didn't expect such a beautiful lodge. We read the reviews before booking, but reality exceeded our expectations.
The chalets are spacious, we were 2 adults and 2 kids and got one chalet with two rooms and two bathrooms (shower only in the main one).
Everything perfectly clean.
Excellent breakfast, dinner and.....welcome drink!
Pleasant fireplace with armchairs, sofas and books in the "living area"
Efficient laundry service.
Amazing rhino tracking (we saw three white rhinos)
Friendly and efficient staff
Good stop to reach C.C.F.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlawn, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here two nights while visiting the Cheetah Conservation Fund and enjoyed the lodge. We stayed in one of the suites, which was it's own cottage. The bed was comfortable and the room bright and cheerful. Our only problem was that we were at the edge of wifi range, but we lived with that.

The dinners were good, with game both nights we were there. The staff was very helpful whenever we needed anything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

not much to report here ,very clean ,neat and the service outstanding the food well prepared. the rooms are lovely we had a wonderful relaxing stay during the inline hockey tournament in otjiwarongo. the place is very nice well managed and i only can highly recommend the franz indongo lodge !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our first lodge in Namibia and we were really impressed. After a tour of 2 weeks and many more nice lodges it turned out to be our favourite lodge. We received a warm welcome with a refreshing drink and a tour of the lodge. The chalets our wonderful, very spacious and very clean. The view is amazing. We were also pleased because it's a rather small lodge, no buses with large groups but only families and couples, so it was very quiet and peaceful, close to nature. A good dinner was served inside a nice warm restaurant. We prefer that to a buffet.
In short: it's a real gem!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frans Indongo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frans Indongo Lodge

Address: Otjiwarongo 1093, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Otjiwarongo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Otjiwarongo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frans Indongo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Frans Indongo Lodge Namibia/Otjiwarongo, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frans Indongo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.