We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All B&B's should be like this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeysuckle Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Broughton Gifford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeysuckle Cottage
Save
You added Honeysuckle Cottage to your Saves list
95 The Common, Broughton Gifford, Melksham SN12 8ND, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“All B&B's should be like this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

What a treasure! We felt like we were staying with family. Sue is a hostess with a true servant heart. Darius was so helpful with sightseeing and travel advice. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt so very welcome. The rooms were spotless and comfortable and the food was superb. Thank you Sue and Darius. We hope to visit you again one day.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The host and hostess.
  • Disliked — That we could't stay longer.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

My friend and I were wanting to visit Longleat Safari Park and were in need of a B&B. We thankfully found Honeysuckle cottage which is run by Sue and Darius Mehta who are a lovely friendly couple who make you feel extremely welcome. There is only one twin and one double which makes it nice and cosy.

Nice extra touches in the rooms and lovely breakfasts. Plus, if you like rugby, you won't be short of conversation. Overall it's a lovely country cottage but also an ideal location as it's close to the main attractions.

The Bell on the Common is a great pub across from the B&B which has great food and friendly staff - do beware of the swans outside though!!

Longleat Safari park is definitely worth a visit - and is not just for children! It is a great day out. Bath is also a must, in particular the Roman baths and the Jane Austen centre which is fascinating.

http://www.honeysuckle-cottage.org.uk/index.htm

  • Liked — Friendly and relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOW
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

We had just a one night stay for an event close to this village. The welcome was excellent with a lovely pot of tea! The was clean, tidy and met all of our requirements. The en-suite in the double room was good with an excellent power shower over the bath. Breakfast hit the spot very nicely with very good quality ingredients. The local pub was good with good pub fare although you do need to book at the weekends. The village is lovely and peaceful and this would make a great place to use as a base for moving around the district for Longleat & Bath and so on. The bed was very comfortable.
All in all an excellent place to stay and good value for money. As a hotelier myself I appreciate the effort that goes into something like this that makes it look effortless. Well done to Sue and her husband. We will use this place again if we in the area, if it isn't already booked up!!!

  • Liked — Nice quiet country village setting and host friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing we didn't like
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I Stayed here for a night with my boyfriend after going for a day trip to Longleat Safari Park (about 15 minutes away) and found it very welcoming.
Easy to find off A roads, yet right by this lovely green in the middle of a typical country village.
It was very lovely, we had a large bedroom with nice veiw and containing a television and comfy beds, and lovely little touches like ornaments and guidebooks.
There was a sitting room and bathroom just for us, and it was very lovely - the bathroom contained little touches like cotton wool pads in little bowls, etc.
We had breakfast in the dining room which was a selection of fresh strawberries (mmm), yoghurt, cereal, toast, and a fried breakfast which were all gorgeous.

The couple who own the Cottage were very helpful and sweet, the price very good (50-55 for two inc. breakfast), and the cottage itself was romantic and in a very picturesque location.

For entertainment we had a very nice dinner in the pub across the green called The Bell, and we then went to the other village pub the Fox where there was a live band and fireworks. We wandered home under the stars after a great evening.
On the way home we visited StoneHenge which is very close.

We are in our early 20s and had a great weekend, and I feel this would also be great for an older couple as there are a number of attractions closeby.
This is higly reccomended.

  • Liked — Everything was great, it had a whole package.
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

Hoping to bypass Bath en route to Cornwall, we stumbled on Honeysuckle Cottage on a tourist website. We had no trouble finding the cottage nestling in the most lovely little village of Broughton Gifford near Melksham. The cottage itself is a delight - furnished with exquisite taste and with all the comfort and space associated with a good hotel. Breakfast was excellent too.

The owners are a charming couple who instantly made us feel at home and were most helpful when we discovered we had a flat tyre the following morning! The cottage is in such an idyllic setting. We picked our way through knee-high wild flowers on our way to the excellent village pub and encountered a family of swans on the way - complete with 3 fluffy little cygnets!

Visitors to Bath/Longleat and those who just want to escape from the madding crowd could do no better than to stay in this lovely home.

  • Liked — High quality, friendliness and helpfulness of owners. Idyllic situation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honeysuckle Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeysuckle Cottage

Address: 95 The Common, Broughton Gifford, Melksham SN12 8ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Melksham > Broughton Gifford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broughton Gifford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Cottage Home built in the 18th Century offering B&B accommodation in pastoral surroundings near Bradford-on-Avon and 10 miles from Bath. Twin and Double rooms offered. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeysuckle Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.