We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly love St. Martin and Rainbow Beach Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Beach Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupecoy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Beach Club
Save
You added Rainbow Beach Club to your Saves list
Lot #149 | Dutch Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
“Truly love St. Martin and Rainbow Beach Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Rainbow beach is located in coupecoy very near the airport. The units are very well appointed and there is everything close by. We have been going there every year for about 5 years now and can't wait to get back. The residents are friendly and the private cove offers you some great private time in the carribean. The units are well maintained and the owners are very easy to work with. Love that Jill.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Rainbow once again. We look forward to seeing you again in paradise! Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was our first trip to St. Maarten, and everything exceeded our expectations. The location is terrific, right by Mullet Bay Beach, casinos, great restaurants and grocery store. The views from the balcony are spectacular. Only a few minutes from the French-side border. Very convenient to the airport and Simpson Bay. Our condo was very well equipped with all the little details that make you feel at home. The place is immaculate! The owners live in the building and were very helpful with suggestions and recommendations. It was comforting to know that they were available for any questions, and could not have been more helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and are looking forward to the next one! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Those are some great pictures you took! Very happy you enjoyed your first visit to St. Maarten. Please come back and visit us again soon....thank you for the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our 4th trip to St Maarten and we are excited every time we stay at RBC. The view from our balcony is breathtaking at sunset and in the morning. Our accommodations are excellent with a full kitchen, washer and dryer and parking lot with 24 hr security. Located in Cupecoy, this makes it very convenient to the French or Dutch side. As a result, we can make it to Marigot in less than 30 minutes and Grand Case in 45 minutes or Phillipsburg in 30-45 minutes depending on traffic and 15 minutes to Simpson Bay. In addition, having our own private beach is a plus with a shady cave which we visited on Sat and Sun before Sandy hit the US east coast. The waves were rougher than usual but it was still an excellent way to relax after a busy week. Lucky we spent those days because by Mon the waves were huge and crashing into cave to the point where it wiped out all the sand so all the rocks were exposed. You could no longer enjoy the beach but just watch in amazement as the waves became more violent. The full moon also contributed to constant waves crashing into the wall. We had never seen it like this before but it didn't stop us from visiting other beaches we frequent. Overall, RBC meets our needs perfectly. It has a gym as well but it would be nice if you didn't have to pay extra to use it.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view if available. You won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Rainbow Beach Club once again. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have been visiting St. Maarten for every year now for 6 years and this is the second time that we have stayed at Rainbow Beach Club. It is a perfect location for a family to stay because of proximity to the Airport, great restaurants, beautiful beaches, incredible shopping, and the French Side.
Rainbow Beach Club is gated with security which we really appreciate and is extremely easy to get in and out of. The staff is kind with great knowledge of things to do around town and can help getting a taxi service for you if needed, even though we do recommend renting a vehicle as the island is gorgeous and well worth just taking a ride around as much as possible.
The condo that we stayed in was breathtaking. From the moment you get up in the morning until the moment you go to bed, you have a wonderful ocean view with a nice breeze coming in off the water, and abundant sunshine. It is clean and furnished perfectly, with everything you need to cook meals, which helps when you have two little kids.
Outside the grounds are kept very well and the two pools are perfect, not to mention you are swimming on basically a cliff overlooking the ocean!!
If you are looking for a great place to stay as a family or as a couple, this place is awesome. we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We always choose to take the ocean front.....it is well worth it, with the beautiful unobstructed vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Owner at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay again. Hope to see you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Rainbow Beach Club in April 2012 with friends whose family owns a condominium. The Club met all of our needs and was a quiet and peaceful place to stay during our trip to Sint Maarten.

The Club is located within minutes of the airport and many restaurants and shops. It is a short drive to Baie Rouge and Marigot by car and under an hour to Philipsburg.

The Club itself is located right on the ocean and has its own private beach [and cave] with a spiral staircase leading down to it. Yes, two of the small pools were not filled during our stay, but the main pool was always in perfect condition, and we were never in the position to share it with other guests. The grounds were clean and beautifully decorated with flowers, and the views of the sunset by the beach and pool were stunning each evening.

The Club was gated and guarded by 24 hour security, so we had no safety concerns. Parking was free. I would have liked to have access to wifi, but plenty of places offered it in town.

Overall, it was the perfect home base to explore the island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for writing your review. All three pools are now filled. All the units here are privately owned, so some come with internet and/or cable and some don't. This would be something you could check on prior to your next visit. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to the island soon...thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We rented a penthouse unit in the third week of March. At no time before arrival were we informed of the supposed fued going on between owners and the managament company.Upon arrival the alledged owner informed us of this fued while pointing out the two closed pools.We were than taken to our unit, where followed a ridiculously long list of do`s and don`ts. Kitchen was nice,bedrooms leave a little to be desired. One TV in the whole place.Views were great from the roof balcony, but the furniture was rusty, the hot tub has seen better days, the cover was falling apart and you had to throw the electrical main everytime you wanted to use it. Our second day there the air conditioning broke down, We spent a day and a half in 85 degree temperatures. The owner- manager did have it fixed.Fortunately we had a great bunch of people and laughed it off as another adventure. But at no time were we offered any type of compensation for any of the resorts failings.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay. As in your case, 2 pools closed, AC breaking down, not pleased with the furnishings. We had a very unusual circumstance at Rainbow Beach Club, in that the developer wrote the condo documents in such a way that he voted himself in as the manager for life. You can imagine the conflict that this would create.

In the last several months, subsequently, the homeowners association went to court to have the right to hire a management company of their choice; of which the HOA won a decisive victory. In the beginning of the transition, there was a great deal of conflict. The owners had no advance notice of what was going to take place by the previous manager/developer; which included the emptying of the 2 pools.

Since the late fall of 2012 the new management company has had gained complete control of the facility, including pool maintenance, security, trash removal, landscaping, etc. You can see by recent reviews that the issues prior to that time frame have been completely resolved. The new management company has done nothing short of a fantastic job in bringing Rainbow Beach Club back to it’s full potential.

When securing a rental property, make sure you ask for as many pictures as possible and lists all contents (bed sizes, number of TV’s, VCR’s, docking stations, etc.) & amenities. The condos here are privately owned so these items will vary from unit to unit.
The owner should have offered some sort of compensation for your troubles.

We hope you will reconsider Rainbow Beach Club when visiting St. Maarten in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We are staying at Rainbow Beach Club for one week. One week before leaving I received and email from the owner of the condo who told me that the pools had been drained. Apparently there is a fued between the owners and the management company. The owner of the condo provided references and suggestions for other places. After talking with my travel partners, we opted for a discount on the unit (offered from the owner) because we were already in '"vacation mode" and didn't want the stress of finding another place. I asked the owner if, aside from the pool, we would face other hostilities. We were assured that was the only issue. We were given all the documents and instructions for the condo before we left. The owner stressed that we should say we are GUESTS OF xxxxx.-do not say we are renting. This made me a little suspicious as we were ensured there would be no hositility from the management. We checked in Saturday. I did as the owner instructed me and said that we were guests of his. Obviously this is a red flag for the rental company that is on the property. I stood for 30 minutes while the guy at the desk told me he had no reservation for us. He flipped through the same papers for 20 minutes only to keep telling me that he had nothing. Then he suggested that I call the owner. i said, "No, you call the owner." He said he doesn't have a phone?? Then he asked another guy that worked there if he had anything. So he flipped though another set of papers about ten times. He was not letting us in and he had no intentions of resolving it. Finally I blurted out that we had paid and we wanted in. Suddenly, he pulls out a piece of paper for me to fill out. I am still trying to protect the owner so, I didn't fill in the amount paid. This guy points to the ''amount paid'' question and tells me to fill it in. I told him that we were guests. He proceeds to start yelling at me berating me that I had told him I'd paid and that I have to fill it in. I was in complete shock. I was being abused because of an issue between and onsite rental company and condo owners. I just threw in a number and he opened the gate. He didn't care about security or rules or reservations. All he wanted to know is how much we had been charged to rent. The only was to describe it was verbal abuse. He was horrible and completely ruined the beginning of our vacation. We didn't trust staying here and didn't trust how we would be treated each time we left the complex-you need to pass the front desk each time you can and go for the gate to open. We will NEVER stay at Rainbow Beach Club again. It is a disaster. You are on your own if you rent here. The elevators and the building look so run down because no-one is taking care of it. The pools are empty, they have stopped taking care of the lawns/gardens, and the front '"concierge"' is run by an angry guy that abused guests. We ran into a very helpful young girl that told us basically everyone had left the complex because the situation was just too frustrating for them. Too bad for the owners but, no reason for guests to be abused. I believe the owner of the condo stayed at knew this and chose to put his guests in the middle of this dispute rather than be up front and honest about it. Good Luck to anyone that stays here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RainbowCupecoy, Public Relations Manager at Rainbow Beach Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review. Sorry to hear you had a bad experience during your stay. As in your case, difficulty getting onto the property, rude guards, not happy with the property. We had a very unusual circumstance at Rainbow Beach Club, in that the developer wrote the condo documents in such a way that he voted himself in as the manager for life. You can imagine the conflict that this would create. And yes, at the time, he was not letting owners rent on their own.

In the last several months, subsequently, the homeowners association went to court to have the right to hire a management company of their choice and rent their condos on their own without paying the developer a 25% fee; of which the HOA won a decisive victory. In the beginning of the transition, there was a great deal of conflict. The owners had no advance notice of what was going to take place by the previous manager/developer; which included the emptying of pools, lack of maintenance & landscaping.

Since the late fall of 2012 the new management company has had gained complete control of the facility, including pool maintenance, security, trash removal, upkeep of grounds/landscaping, etc. You can see by recent reviews that the issues prior to that time frame have been completely resolved. The new management company has done nothing short of a fantastic job in bringing Rainbow Beach Club back to it’s full potential.

Again, we’re sorry you had to deal with such problems during your vacation and hope you will reconsider Rainbow Beach Club when visiting St. Maarten in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Beach Club

Address: Lot #149 | Dutch Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New, World Class Rainbow Beach Club Resort is a bold achievement in architectural design. Built on a massive coral incline directly above its secluded beaches, St Maarten's newest hotel presents spectacular oceanfront residential accommodations with panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea complimented by towering mountains, salt water lagoons, and lush, tropical foliage known only to St. Maarten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Rainbow Beach Hotel
Rainbow Beach Club St Maarten-St Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.