We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been going for 3 years and absolutely love it!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Cupecoy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupecoy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Cupecoy
Save
You added The Inn at Cupecoy to your Saves list
130 Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cupecoy Bay B&B and Inns
Weston, Ma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Have been going for 3 years and absolutely love it!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2006

My Husband and I have been going to The Inn at Cupecoy for the past 3 years for 7-8 days each stay. We absolutely love it! The rooms are clean and very nice and the linens are amazing!! I tried to get them for our home! The market is great, including the best beach cover ups ever!! When we first stayed at the Inn in 2003, it was spectacular! They had sarongs, beach bags, etc in every room, there was a stocked fridge with soda, juice, water, beer, wine, etc, that was included. The Inn was amazing and clean and the service was perfect. Our second and third stay were great, however we saw small changes...such as no more stocked fridge, the Inn did'nt seem as clean. I know the Inn has been going through managerial changes, and hopefully the Inn will stay as the Inn at Cupecoy. It is a true gem. We love the privacy. It feels like your own home. You must rent a car in St. Martin and the location is great, very close to the best beaches and casinos. I have travelled all over the world and have stayed at the nicest of the nice hotel for thousands of dollars a night, and the Inn is still one of my favorites. It is not a full service hotel, so I do not recommend bringing children, but for a young couple it is great and so much fun. The Inn is just a cool place to go and get away. The only other nice hotel in St Martin in La Samana, and that is almost $1000 plus a night.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2006

Upon arrival at the Inn at Cupecoy, we were greated by a very abrupt woman at the front desk or rather at thegrocery check-out counter! We were not taken up to our room but rather handed 2 keys and old to see which one worked!! Thank God we chose the back room because it was the quietest and we found out that the tv worked..........some of the times. The roomwas clean but black mold growing up the silk window treatments. We were not aware of breakfast in the mornings! Thank God for Marion our housekeeper!! She really helped us out! She new how disappointedwe were! We had planned this trip for a year. We thought paying 350.00 a night, we would have lovely accomodations.....we were wrong!! We had asked to talk with the owner.....nver happened!! We have contacted out travel agent. Will be surprised if it is still in business next year!!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

This 5 room "little gem" failed miserably in providing the privacy and comfort deserving of guests paying $300+/night. We felt more like intruders than paying guests. Reasons to steer away from the Inn at Cupecoy are numerous. Ocean views obliterated with the construction of high and low rise condos (we knew about the low rise but not the high rise). The walk to the beach access is down a dirty, dusty, dangerous road. Staff not welcoming upon arrival. we were merely handed a key to our room; except for Marion the staff paid no attention to their guests. The owner failed to even acknowlege our presence. There were no daily wine and cheese tastings poolside at sunset nor were guests "encouraged" to help themselves at the open bar, as advertised. Our privacy was invaded on 3 occasions with a cocktail party for 60 one night, a dinner party for 20 (8-11:30pm) another night and lastly a night of loud music from 10p-2a. These functions were all held in the small courtyard and pool area just outside the inns rooms. There were people milling about, sitting, talking loud, drinking and smoking right outside the door to our room. We were upset and confronted the assist. mgr and were told there would be no more functions after the first night and that the Jazz music would be held in the restaurant downstairs. These reassuring statements turned out to be untrue.
Redeeming qualities: Nice rooms, comfortable bed with quality linens and good housekeeping. Delicious sandwiches from the market downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2006

We stayed at the Inn at Cupecoy for five nights and were very disapppointed. One night there was a private dinner party for 20 (with music), from 8 PM - 11:30 PM, within close proximity of our room. The area was rearranged for the event, with the dinner table placed immediately outside (almost blocking) two of the guest rooms. After some complaints, it was moved approximately 10 feet away. We were expected to avoid the area while the event was on. Another night, there was a private cocktail party for approximately 17-20 (with music), and again were expected to vacate the area. There's more... a third night of loud music, which was part of their weekly Thursday through Saturday Jazz series (10 PM to 2 AM). People were seated outside our room; it was uncomfortable. One guest emerged from her room shouting, "enough is enough" to the disc jockey.

Despite the above, our room was neat and clean, with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was the same each morning, but tasty.

One last note: The manager lied to us about the weekly private events and told us that the Jazz night was not going to be held in our area. No apology was expressed to us for the inconsideration and the inconvenience of the private parties or loud music.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

This is the second time I have stayed at the Inn at Cupecoy, and after last year's wonderful visit we couldn't wait to get back--and we even convinced four friends to join us. What a difference a year makes--unfortunatly not good changes. This is a five room inn with the rooms around the pool. One of it's selling points was the intimacy and privacy of the design. However, current management views the area around the pool and rooms very differently now. They see it as an area to host private parties for groups as large a 60. You almost have to sneak into your room. And the noise continues well into the night. A dining table for 20 was set up immediately in front of my room. When I complained, I was told that the area was effectively the hotel's lobby and they could do what they want. I couldn't get over the disdain they have for those of us staying there--we seemed an inconvenience. Here I was taking up three-fifths of the hotel and being treated like an after thought. Walter, one of the managers, was particularly dismissive. And I would be carefull giving them a non-refundable deposit--my TV didn't work the whole week and I learned that it was because they hadn't paid their DirectTV bill. Makes one wonder what other bills are going unpaid and how long this place can last. They had a wonderful property and they've turned it into a missed opportunity. Too bad--it used to be special and some of the staff who still work there, Marion and Elisha, do their best to make it so, but they aren't in control.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellysford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

Nice room with a great housekeeper, but that's about it!

This inn has seen better days. It might have been okay at one time, but a huge condo is being built right across the street, so that is your view. Apparently, this has caused the entire place to slide into mediocrity. But the worst was yet to come. Unbelievably, on Thursday through Saturday, they set up a loud disco scene at the bar with a DJ or perfomer and amplifliers right outside of your room. It begins at 10:00pm and goes until at least 2:00 am. Weird, and not very considerate of guests paying almost $300. per night. They also tried to double
charge one night's stay. Still trying to resolve that one.

Don't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Cupecoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Cupecoy

Address: 130 Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Inn At Cupecoy St Maarten-St Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Cupecoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.