We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long time owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cupecoy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ocean Club
146 Lowlands | Cupecoy Beach, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamburg, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“long time owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We have owned 4 weeks at Ocean Club for over 20 years. Obviously we like it very much.
I read a long and very critical review of Ocean Club and I must say most of her complaints were unfounded. As to why would anyone own there, because it is quiet, not pretentious and less expensive then the "glitzy" places she listed. Glitz I would rather not pay for. Ocean Club is not a hotel. They do not provide your entertainment. Yes their rooms could use some updating, (which is happening as I write this,) but I don't know about you I do not go to the carib. to watch TV. Maybe its like owning a place at the "lake" or a summer cottage some where. As far as the beach goes, there are plenty of other beautiful beaches to go to, however, heaven forbid, you might have to rent a car. Leave the computer, the cell phone, the TV, and the world at home and veg out at Ocean Club.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

maybe we hit the perfect storm of bad circumstance, but.....

We checked in with a surly counter person, and made our way to the room. Very outdated, but what the heck, we were planning to be out most of the time. We started to unpack, but did not feel comfortable putting our stuff in the very dirty drawers. Looking a bit more closely. the place was FILTHY! Hand smears on the walls, crud and stains on most surfaces, the bathroom was a hazmat zone. Front door lock was broken. Big sign on the air conditioner warning that you will be charged if it is left on. We sat on the bed to figure out what to do, and noticed the bottom of my wife's feet were BLACK! Back to the office, I politely asked the surly desk person to have the room cleaned.

Even surlier housekeeper arrives, we decide to wait at the car, well, because the cafe is closed. 30 minutes later, we were back to the room. It was better, but still bad. Like a frat house after a keg party. I pulled back the bedspread to reveal sheets with stains and hair on the pillow. That was it.

Back to the office, the surly clerk SOLD us the WIFI internet password so that we could use my laptop to locate other accommodations. Back to the room, no connection available. Back to the office, the surly clerk informs me that the internet only works in the office, and the office is now closing.. I ended up sitting on the steps of the closed office, absolutely furious.

We did find a fabulous place, (listed on TA) and we had a great vacation after that. We are heading back in a few weeks.

Cheers

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Room wasn't ready when checked in just before the office close time. Unit next to us had barking dog on deck the first night of stay and office said "pets shouldn't be allowed, they are leaving tomorrow"?? Had no idea that on site cafe closed for off season and staff seemed to be in off season mode also (although they were accomodating and friendly whenever asked for help). The was major construction going on right across the street and feel they should have put guests on opposite side of resort - more near ocean side to get away from construction dust and such, lost water on last weekend Friday due to the work going on. If have back issues or heavy bags, not place to stay unless ask for ground unit. The spiral staircase is difficult, especially with construction dust. Unit looked like it had been in a bar room brawl and the unit lost. Bay was great though - pretty much had to ourselves due to off season. Watch out for taking more credit than cash out in town - no gas stations that take credit and bars/eating sometimes required a $30. to $40. purchase to pay with credit when we were trying to spend $6 to $8 for two drinks and leave. Wondered if the local bartenders had a scam going with this one because we didn't have at all stops.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Very clean, beautiful views from our room and a great almost private beach. Everyone was helpful and friendly and the pool was wonderful, especially in the evening. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

After reading many of the reviews on this page, we were reluctant to stay at the Ocean Club. We were given a timeshare at the location for our wedding gift. Needless to say, we were very satisfied with our trip. The facility isn't the flashiest, but it definitely worked out for us. Our one bedroom studio was very clean, and ideal for our stay. Every appliance worked well, and the studio was stocked with clean dishes. Our stay was during their off-season, but there were a few other (6-8) other units being occupied. Cupecoy beach was only 50 yds away from our room. The beach, while small, is very private, and beautiful. My wife and I had the entire beach to ourselves a couple of times.

The Ocean Club is located a very short drive from the Airport. (~5 min drive). It is also close to Maho, Mullet Beach, Sunset Beach, and Simpson Bay (i.e., many good restaurant spots).
Also, given the recent crime on the island, it was nice to know The Ocean Club staffs grounds 24/7 with a security officer.

While not a big deal, the only thing we disliked is the quality of the city road outside of the facility. Pot holes, and rocky gravel, paired with a few sections of pavement litter the street through Cupecoy (~1 mile stretch).

If your looking for a quiet, simple place to stay, we definitely recommend the Ocean Club.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We arrived to a VERY hot 2 Bedroom unit facing the pool. The unit was large and neat and clean but is showing its age in areas. Got the A/C on and it seemed it took a long time to get the place cooled down. Large closets in Both bedrooms which were up stairs (spiral stairway) hard to get heavy suitcases up. Bathrooms were nice but the shower stalls were very tiny! Large soaking tub was nice in the Master bath. Linens were changed daily & were bright and fresh . laundry in unit was nice. Had some problems with the Bathroom window not closing so A/C not helping when going out the window, had cold water in Guest shower, but both needs were attended to quickly. The biggest problem was that the pool Bar and grill had closed for the seaqson the day we arrived, so after a long hot day we had to go search for food. the pool area was clean and very pretty. Loved the friendly resort cats. kitchen was well stocked. some of the units were showing their age but over all it was quiet and clean and close to many Island sites. Beach was close but water was rough. the cliffs were beautiful and you could sit and watch the cruise ships come in. staff was helpful and attended to our needs. not many folks staying in resort during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We extended 4 extra days and happily stayed there. Its off the beaten path, quiet, on a nice small beach, has a beautiful garden and swimming pool. 2 miles from the airport, toward the French side but still on Dutch side. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We would definately go back to Ocean Club to the villas by the pool. The tower aparts were OK, but they had to move us from there to a better studio villa because the air conditioners were not working properly in the tower. They told us they are renovating very soon, with upgrades to furniture, facillities, etc.
The bar / snack bar was good, resonable priced and very good food, the MauiMaui was great. But, it closed for the summer during the week we were there. Too bad, there is not too much to walk to from there. The parking was very good, under cover, out of the sun, a BIG plus.
There is a very small convience store next door at the Saphire that had everything we needed in a hurry. The new "Market Garden" grocery store at Simpson Bay just east of the draw bridge was very nice, had everything, reasonable prices, good beer and rum prices.
The road in the area was under constrution, very narrow and bad to drive thru, but should be about finished as we speak.
Again, we will happily go back there and take our family!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Club

Address: 146 Lowlands | Cupecoy Beach, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty lodging in Cupecoy Bay
Also Known As:
The Ocean Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
The Ocean Club St Maarten-St Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ocean Club to your Saves list