We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, they're working hard to turn the image around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Beach Club Resort

Save Saved
You added Sapphire Beach Club Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Club Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lowlands 147, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Elkridge, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Adequate, they're working hard to turn the image around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Staff was friendly. I enjoyed the private boxing lesson with Claudette Alexander very much.

The first room they assigned us was really bad (2 bedroom with lagoon view, decent sized but horrible view and broken shower), but 2 days later they reassigned us to a smaller, but much, much nicer room with gorgeous ocean view and hot tub on the balcony. It really didn't seem smaller to us, but there were only 2 of us so we didn't need a 2nd bedroom.

LOVED the hot tub! It was spotless--maids are exceptional!

Desk staff: Santana and Eunice were terrific, helpful and courteous.

Most guests were French which was great for a more varied cultural experience.

I was not happy about all of the mosquitoes...bring lots and lots of bug repellant, but there are lots and lots of them everywhere on the island.

The restaurant was nice...but WAY over priced. $11 french onion soup and $19 Caesar salad with 4 shrimp & 1/2 dollar scallops. $9 mojitos-- ridiculous!

Best tip for you: eat at the restaurant next door at the Ocean Club. Prices are amazing and food is delicious! $8 breakfast every day!

Internet access was $10/hour, but you only need to pay for a few minutes at a time.

Convenience store on site is located in the basement, very good prices and helpful cashier. Nice people.

Gym. what can I say? a big, big, big disappointment, however, that's where the daily workouts provided free of charge came in handy! Every morning there was a walking tour by Claudette, then boxing followed up with aqua aerobics. Much better than a gym!!!

Beds are cool, comfortable and very clean...king size!!

Kitchens and bathrooms are lovely (remodeled). European style soaking tubs (but no shower curtains) Plenty of clean towels every day.

Getting towels for the pool was not a problem except in the evening and really that wasn't a big deal for us.

Don't miss the Manager's Cocktail Party on Monday evening with Blair and his team (event managers). We had live music, free drinks for an hour and enjoyed meeting everyone from the team, some local vendors and other guests.

The pool is beautiful and cleaned every morning...spotless!

We were completely surprised by how clean everything was during the entire trip. This hotel is working double time to make everyone happy. I would recommend.

Location was excellent. I really am glad we stayed in Cupecoy Beach. It was easy access to everywhere on the island and some places were overcrowded and I could see that would be tough to get around, park, eat or feel safe. We felt safe and less stressed in Cupecoy than most other places on the island.

I highly recommend Baie Rouge and Orient Beach. Wonderful, comfortable and enjoyable places to check out. Baie Rouge is family friendly and Orient Beach is a sexy, fun place for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view only. Don't even consider lagoon view...there's really no view at all and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    116
    76
    92
    124
See reviews for
84
192
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were just there for 3 nights last week until we alson found out that your room keycard opened every villa. After being shown this by our neighbor who was robbed the previous week, we also went straight to management and police who really did absolutly NOTHING about it. Also broken appliances that were dangerous fire hazard!!!!! We left straight away and found a much much better resort! Use extreme caution!!

Room Tip: Go to Simpson Bay resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel for the following reasons:
Our 2nd floor end unit was infested with roaches in the kitchen - saw them crawling in the silverware drawer and in the cabinent underneath the stove. Beyond the kitchen they were in the bathroom on the vanity.
There was no hot water. The water temperature was lukewarm the entire time.
The a/c didn't work properly
Wi-fi connection we paid a weekly fee of $45.00 was irratic. We had to be on the balcony or near the sliding glass door to keep connected.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here back in November and booked based on the Wyndham name which was removed from the property just prior to our getting there. Not up to a Wyndham standard.
The beach was seriously too small to enjoy beyond just walking down to see it and walking back up into the property. Not really a "Beach Resort".. Room was clean and comfortable. Obtaining a rental a car onsite we spent most days out and about visiting beaches around the island which were fantastic to visit and spend time enjoying. We also took day trips to Anguilla and St Barts which consumed a couple days of our week. The Sapphire was a reasonably priced place to stay to rest up for the next day. Good to base out of and see the rest of St Maarten/St Martin. Onsite restaurant and bar was expensive and would not allow room charges or credit cards at the time we were there. Cash only.. Small store in the basement had some basic groceries and we found a great store just down the street the day before we left.
So if you decide to stay here, Rent the car, (Traffic can be congested sometimes in specific areas so ask around to avoid the rush hours etc) See the Island while you're there. Enjoy some beautiful "Beaches" just not at the Sapphire...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantzville B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Of the 2 places in Mexico and 1 in the Dom rep we've vacationed in this was our best vacation to date. If you expect red carpet treatment and the finest of everything this is probably not the place for you though. Our room was nice and clean with a nice view of the ocean. The large tub/shower didn't have a curtain but so what. The jacuzzi on the balcony did have some algae on the bottom and we didn't use it, but we had come to relax on the beach anyhow. The beach right in front of the resort has eroded and is very small but it is less than a 10 minute walk to Cupecoy bay which was our favourite beach because of the privacy and seclusion. Never more than 10 couples on the beach and Danny rents out chairs and umbrellas, sells rum punch and $2 beers and makes fantastic BBQ chicken and ribs. We did rent a car for 3 days which is a must if you want to visit other beaches like Orient bay or go shopping in Philipsburg. Orient bay is typical of the larger beaches with chairs lined up 5 rows deep and a steady stream of beach vendors trying to sell you stuff (nice beach though). All of the island's beaches have one thing in common and if you are offended by nudity you should be aware that all the beaches seem to be clothing optional. We only kept our car for 3 days because we preferred to stay near the resort. All the staff were really friendly and we had most of our meals at the poolside restaurant/bar. All the meals and drinks were delicious and reasonable. Special thanks to Nadia & Jerome at the bar and the funny Frenchman who made us wonderful omlettes and rich coffee every morning. To summarize we loved Sint Maarten and would stay at the Sapphire Beach Club again because of the staff and more secluded atmosphere. If you are more into night clubs, casino's and shopping, Simpson bay or Philipsburg would probably a more suitable location on the Dutch side of the island.

Room Tip: Ocean view best, People seem to be confused about the room numbering but it's easy to figure out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were very satisfied with our one bedroom ocean view suite until we discovered, by accident, that our key opened other rooms - many other rooms. Management seemed to know about it when we reported this security breach, but they gave us no reassurance and did not fix the problem during the 6 remaining days of our stay.

Room Tip: choose a room with ocean view, preferable in the third building (rooms starting with a 3) and on a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STATEN ISLAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We were told its on the beach. Wrong No beach. there was no activities going on. the place was dead. Not friendly. You have to have a car or you are trapped. If it rains by the golf course your car gets stuck do to flutting. People were stuck in the middle of the night and there was no one to help. The bed and pillows were very unconfortuable. They need new mattress and pillows. Cleaning people are not doing their job. they forgot the washcloths every day or they left you with dirty one. When we were leaving they dont thank you for staying or ask hope you enjoyed your stay. because they no how bad it is. Its the worst place to stay..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sapphire Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Club Resort

Address: Lowlands 147, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Club Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapphire Beach Club Resort is located just 3 miles from Princess Juliana International Airport on the Dutch Side of Sint-Maarten, on French-Dutch border. Situated between the turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean Sea and the beautiful Simpson Bay Lagoon on Cupecoy Beach. 180 spacious guest rooms, penthouses and villas elegantly decorated with Caribbean decor, fully equipped kitchens including coffee maker; with luxurious Italian Marble Bathrooms, Internet access, cable TV, VCR and DVD and fabulous view. Relax in style and enjoy tropical breezes from your private terrace or balcony, with spectacular views of the ocean or the expansive Simpson Bay Lagoon. All the ocean-view rooms have a private jacuzzi on the balcony, and all the luxurious villas and penthouses feature private swimming pools and Jacuzzis overlooking the view of the Caribbean Sea.Enjoy the island’s wonderful beaches . In fact, the resort is within easy walking distance of beautiful Cupecoy Beach, a prime spot for swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing and other water sports. SBC is nearby golf course and tennis court as well. In just few minutes you can enjoy duty-free shopping at the upscale designer boutiques and jewelry shops of Philipsburg and Marigot as well as nearby hip clubs and casinos. Take advantage of the whole range of hotel services SBC offers to our valued guests:- Open Reception 24h / 24 and 7 days / 7- Swimming pool- Fitness Room and Beauty Salon- Business Center- Bar & Restaurant- Activity Desk- Car Rental Desk. All surrounded by the fabulous mix of Dutch, French and Caribbean charm that makes Sapphire Beach Club Resort a delightful place for vacation all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sapphire Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Club And Resort
Sapphire Beach Club Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Wyndham Sapphire Beach Resort
Wyndham Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Wyndham
Sapphire Beach Club Resort St Maarten-St Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire Beach Club Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.