We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous music” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernest & Fidel Cafe

Ernest & Fidel Cafe
66 Rhine Road, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
00599-546.4833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open Tuesday to Sunday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. (breakfast & lunch).Cuban and Colombian food at its best!!
Westborough, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our recent visit to St Martin was capped off by a visit to Ernest & Fidel Cafe for a great dinner and the most wonderful and fun night of music by Ferdinand and his partner playing guitars. Later in the evening a jam session ensued with musical friends of theirs stopping by.....we all stayed until closing!! Don't miss checking this place out. We absolutely had a great time!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    21
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

we were staying at sonesta and got tired of eating their breakfast so we stopped in here one morning and were pleasantly surprised. Great service and delicious food ~

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fun Evening With Very Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

One of the most engaging host/owner we've met. Loves his business and shows his pride in operating this small, Latin inspired, live music filled restaurant in Coupecoy Bay. Great service and very good food made our evening outing enjoyable and fun.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great setting and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This cafe has a wonderful setting and evokes the bygone era of Cuba in the 1950's. Vintage travel posters adorn the walls and photos of Marilyn Monroe, and Fidel Castro and Ernest Hemingway add to the ambience. The front patio looks over a sun drenched courtyard in Cupecoy and inside you'll find large overstuffed leather chairs.

The food is not mind-blowing but very dependable. We were there for breakfast...my partner had an omelette with tomato, goat cheese and asparagus. I had the breakfast combo with pancakes, fruit salad, eggs and bacon. A fine breakfast in a wonderful setting.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“just added to our list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We luckily tried something new on our last day on the way to the airport...we told them we had a flight to catch and they made sure had our food on time....the owner came over to us at the end and asked us if everything was OK...always appreciate that in a restaurant...food VG! esp the soup...:)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernest & Fidel Cafe also viewed

Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Ernest & Fidel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernest & Fidel Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.