We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super St. Martin hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Summit Hotel to your Saves list
The Summit Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super St. Martin hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This "island" hotel was such a tropical delight with a beautiful setting. The staff was extraordinary, catering to our every need. Very reasonable rates, too! I highly recommend the Summit Hotel in St. Martin (St. Maarten)!!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony view overlooking the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear JuJu H,

Thank you so much for your positive review and kind words about the Summit on TripAdvisor. We take great pride in our staff and the beauty of our setting and really appreciate it when guests take notice as you did. Thank you for that. I hope we have a chance to welcome you back to the Summit on a future visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    63
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
31
94
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We checked in after delay in getting our rental car, anxious to unpack and enjoy the view from the pool deck. We have stayed here before for a few nights, but this time we were staying for a week. The front desk person was so cheerful and welcoming and smiled when she handed us our key for room 4B. Without a doubt, the best view of Simpson Bay lagoon and overlooking a beautiful garden and the pool. We really didn't want to check out a week later. The unit had a very efficient air conditioner wall unit and ceiling fans to circulate the cool air. The kitchen was more than adequate, and the bathroom had a great shower head with good water pressure. Joan kept the place clean and well stocked with towels etc. The pool is surrounded by a large deck and the restaurant-Tropical Heaven. It is independent of the Summit but caters to not only the guests, but locals as well as the medical students from next door. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. The grounds are a throwback to the way vacation retreats blended seamlessly with the beautiful natural surroundings, with plenty of flowering plants and shade trees. The whole operation, feels more like family, rather than the impersonal approach of many of the newer high-rise resorts. If you are looking for a relaxed, low keyed destination on the Dutch side in Cupecoy, close to some of the nicest beaches on the island (Cupecoy, Baie Rouge, Mullet Bay), I would highly recommend the Summit Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front row of buildings (Bldg 1-4) have waterfront views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear 312islandbouy,

I can't thank you enough for the great review you posted on TripAdvisor about the Summit. You hit the nail on the head when you said "the whole operation feels more like family" since that is exactly how we feel about it too. From the warm welcome you get at the front desk to the care that our housekeepers take to make sure your room is clean and comfortable, all of our staff think of you as guests in their home and they love making you feel welcome. We are indeed a "throwback" as you said and proud of it too. We think that providing a clean, comfortable and beautiful environment at a great price and with a warm smile should never go out of style. We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit sometime soon.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have been going to The Summit for 26 years. We own 5 weeks of time share there and would never exchange for any other place on SXM. The staff is wonder full and cater to your every need. The resort is an older type but is very well maintained. You couldn't ask for a nicer time share on SXM.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Bob and Jan,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and kind words you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. When we talk about the Summit as a family place, you are exactly the kind of folks we have in mind! I can't believe it's been 26 years already. Here's to the next 26 in good health. Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip down.

All the best,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acton ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Summit twice. The first time with garden view the second time lagoon view. We have absolutely nothing at all to complain about. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The hotel fully met our expectations it was clean, well maintained, & quiet. The staff were more than friendly and courteous and very willing to help with any inquiries we had. We enjoyed sitting out on our balcony each morning looking into the lagoon.
The Summit is very secluded which we enjoyed as we always rent a car to travel to the beach during the day. This hotel is perfect for people who are looking for a place that is clean & pleasant it is not a five star hotel but we were very pleased with our stay & definately plan to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lagoon view you will be very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear billActonOntario,

I can't thank you enough for the great review you posted about the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. Thank you for including so many of the characteristics that we ourselves promote about the place. Our staff who are friendly and helpful, our clean, well maintained rooms and the quiet, peaceful nature of the property. We are indeed secluded, as you say, and yet located only five minutes from the Maho, Atlantis and Porto Cupecoy complexes with all the restaurants, casinos, nightlife and shopping they have to offer. As you suggest, guests who enjoying exploring the island in their rental car by day will appreciate the clean and peaceful nature of the Summit to return to at the end of the day.

Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband & I were fortunate to have spent a week plus at the Summit Hotel the end of June. It completely met and exceeded our expectations, both in the accommodation & the staff who attended us.The rooms have been meticulously maintained & are well equipped with everything we could possibly require, ie: blender, toaster oven, microwave, dishwasher. Our room had a wonderful balcony overlooking Simpson Bay & French Saint Martin in the distance. A perfect spot to enjoy your morning coffee & a glass of wine in the evenings.
We ate in the restaurant on the day we arrived and on another occasion. Both meals were well prepared and enjoyable. We also enjoyed a few Happy Hours around the pool !!!
From our perspective, what we enjoyed most about The Summit Hotel is the intimacy of a smaller property, the friendliness & helpfulness of all the staff and the feeling that you are not just a guest, but their own personal guest. They sincerely want you to enjoy the hotel & your time on the island & take a personal interest in ensuring that you do.
In summary, not your everyday large impersonal facility but a charming well maintained older property exuding Caribbean charm & personality, staffed by warm caring people who truly do enjoy their jobs. You are not treated as a guest but as part of their extended family.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Simpson Bay, constant cooling breeze and super view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Apressail,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted about the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. I especially appreciate your comments about the intimate nature of our hotel and your recognition of the warm and welcoming nature of our staff. You hit the nail on the head. Since so many of our staff have worked at the Summit for so long, they take a personal interest in helping guests feel at home and go out of their way to help guests enjoy their vacations. Our staff equates welcoming you to the Summit with welcoming you into their homes and they take great pride in doing so. They feel a personal level of satisfaction in seeing guests leave happy and looking forward to returning in the future.

"Old world Caribbean charm" is the slogan we use to describe the Summit and those who value the opportunity to slow down and enjoy the experience of an authentic Caribbean property will enjoy their stays with us. Thank you again for recognizing our unique offering and we look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Village, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was very please with the hotel the view the breakfast the staff it's close to the American university and on the grounds there's a guard to let people in I enjoy the efficiency rooms I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear tamen208<

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate it and the 5 star rating you gave us too! As you noted, we are indeed very close to the American University of the Caribbean (right next door actually) and many of our guests are family of students attending the school. I'm glad you liked the view from our pool deck and yes, the breakfasts are delicious (especially if you tried the banana pancakes!).

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on your next visit to our beautiful island.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Summit Resort Hotel was excellent, my room even had a full kitchen with dishwasher. The room was very big with a king size bed and a separate couch and table. There was also a flat screen TV, with numerous cable channels!!! The restaurant was excellent also, the French toast was delicious!!! The restaurant overlooks the Simpson Bay Lagoon and pool, you can see French St,Martin and Anguilla from the restaurant deck!!! The service was excellent too, very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. Scott Ingram, Northridge, CA, USA

Room Tip: Get Lagoon View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, and 5 star rating, you posted of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it. As a small hotel, without a large budget for marketing, we try to earn high marks like yours from every guest and do everything we can to ensure guests enjoy their stays with us. I agree with your tip about getting a lagoon view room as these indeed have spectacular views. Our garden view rooms are beautiful too, and slightly lower priced, so they may be good option for some as well. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to St Maarten.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
2.6 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
6.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.