We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all about the View!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Summit Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Summit Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Lagoon Tour!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cupecoy Bay
MASSAPEQUA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It all about the View!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Bright sunshine and crystal blue water views automatically make you feel good. Especially when you're coming from the cold. This hotel has the best views and a picture perfect pool location. It;s not ont hebeach but very prettyy views. The beach access is down the road and costs about 15.00 per person for the chair and unbrella.If you want any type of comfort and luxery this hotel is not it. The rooms are clean but very dated.Cracked floor tiles, stained lamp shades, a bit too old applianceas and utensils, cheap bed linens, bathroom curtains, etc... I didn't feel clean at this hotel and I can deal with a lot.Also, there were too many "wild cats" roaming the property. I know it was an improvement from their past ratings, but too much for me.
The "restaurant" has such low traffic, that I worried about the freshness of the food, especially when the bartender had to cook since the chef was not there. However, the meal was tasty.
They have a happy hour which draws the timeshare crowd.This is not the place for young couples or families.No activites or much to do. You do need a car, as most of the area is still under renovation from a past hurricane. Walking is not the safest at night. All activity is in the next town.(5 minutes)
Internet is in the main lobby.The staff was friendly and tried to accomodate but they know the restrictions and give service with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a direct view. You can also ask for the owners unit which they rent from time w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear pastalover123,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments about the Summit having the "best views and a picture perfect pool location" since we do indeed enjoy what many guests call the best view on the island. It truly is spectacular. I am sorry to see some of your other comments about the Summit but must confess to being slightly confused since some comments contradict each other. You say that you "didn't feel clean" but at another point you say "rooms are clean." Regarding the restaurant, you say you worried about the "freshness of the food" and yet right after you say "the meal was tasty."

It may be best for me to respond to this review in a way that allows potential guests to understand, and appreciate, the value that the Summit has to offer. We neither pretend, nor strive, to be a 5 star property and are happy to recommend other hotels, such as La Samanna on the French side of the island, to those guests who require Egyptian cotton linens and Sub Zero or Viking appliances.

At the Summit we offer clean, comfortable and spacious rooms in a beautiful, peaceful setting at a reasonable price point. Given that the Caribbean is an earthquake zone, and the ground here moves from time to time, floor tiles do occasionally crack and we strive to replace these as quickly as is practical. The six resident cats who live on our four acres of property are the result of our "catch, spay/neuter and release" program which spares these animals from being destroyed while ensuring that they do not reproduce. Free high speed Wifi is in all of our guest rooms and our staff, some of whom have been with us for many years, happily welcome guests to what many feel is their "home away from home" in St Maarten.

I appreciate that the Summit may not have been the right property for your vacation, but am gratified by the many wonderful reviews we receive from other TripAdvisor reviewers. In fact, just today we learned that the Summit has won a 2013 Certificate of Excellence Award from TripAdvisor for the overwhelmingly positive number of reviews received. This is our second year in a row of winning that award and thank all of our wonderful past guests for their great reviews.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    51
    12
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
75
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston(southshore), Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here as a last resort for one night after a flight problem. We had no car. Just taxi. No pool they are doing maintence but no one told us that. The beach is walkable but the last thing you would want to do after a day in the sun is walk that far. For the area it is in we were advised do not walk at night. We kinda felt trapped. The place is pretty but not my idea of a Caribbean Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear islaandwomen,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am concerned about your statement that no one informed you that the pool was closed for emergency repairs because there is a prominent notice on our website, when you go to book a room there, and our travel partners such as Expedia, Orbitz, RCI and others have all been notified and have promised to inform potential guests of the temporary situation we are in. I would greatly appreciate it if you would contact me through the Summit website and let me know how you booked your room. I cannot identify your booking through the islaandwomen nickname obviously, so need you to contact me if you would. Once I know how you booked, I will take steps to ensure the right notices are being given to potential guests.

Regarding the area the hotel is in, someone gave you bad advice. As the previous reviewer noted, BB's Lolo is right down the street and filled with people having fun. The Atlantis Casino complex, with more than half a dozen restaurants, is a three minute walk from the Summit and there is plenty of security around in the form of guard shacks and posted patrols. Many of our guests walk there regularly.

I would like to extend to you an invitation to return to the Summit, as my guest, next time you are on the island so you can experience the magic of our property when everything is running normally. Our pool will reopen no later than May 20, 2013 so anytime after then we would be happy to welcome you back. I hope you will take me up on my offer.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our second time at The Summit and can't say enough about the place and the employee's. One of the most fantastic views on the island. The deck of the pool a perfect place to watch a sunrise. The grounds are quintissential Caribbean with a wide spread of different flowers and tree's and winding paths among the units. The rooms and furnishings more then adequate. All the employees friendly and responsive. Michael at the bar was fun and informative. BB's Lolo down the street a must stop with it's eclectic mix of college students, island visitors, and locals all having a fun time. Too bad we have to wait 2 more years before visiting again!

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the view of harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear wpvz,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review and 5 star rating you gave us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate it. I'm glad you had a chance to enjoy sunrise from the pool deck. It's a magical time of day and watching the sun rise over the hills across the lagoon, and seeing how still the water of the lagoon is at that time, is one of the most peaceful and relaxing experiences you can have anywhere. I'm glad you enjoyed walking the grounds of the hotel too and seeing the hibiscus, bougainvillea, oleander and other native species of flowering plants we have all over. Our gardening crew takes great pride in the grounds, as you might imagine.

Thanks again for the great review. We can't wait to welcome you back!

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were unsure about the Summit, thinking it might be just too quiet in the Cupecoy area, but we selected it based on price and location. We were pleased with the outcome! It's a great rate for the very decent room you get. We had a second floor water-view king bed room. The room had everything we needed: a well appointed kitchen, comfortable furniture, a good TV with satellite and music, and toiletries. It was very spacious and clean, bright and sunny. There was a coffee maker but no filters or coffee. Bring some in your suitcase! There was a teakettle. The grounds were kept very nicely. Housekeeping service was very nice, put fresh flowers in our room. Remember to tip - don't be cheap if you can afford to come to the islands! The staff was friendly; there is a security guard booth at the entrance and seemed to be manned every time we went by. The view from the balcony was gorgeous; so relaxing. The pool area was well maintained and nice, but the bar at the pool does close down by 10pm and is not extremely lively (not when we were there at least, April). True, this IS a quiet and fairly secluded location, however not as much as we feared from some of the reviews. It was an easy, close and safe walk just down the road - 100 yards maybe - to a great locals bar called BB's - we met the owner BB, he's from Aruba and was really great to visit with. The bar was mostly frequented by residents, and medical students from the adjacent University. They gave us great tips on restaurants and island happenings. Right below BBs was a mini-market grocery store which had a pretty decent selection - prices were comparable to those at the larger markets. There were also 2 pizza joints right by the Summit as well. It was a fairly easy walk to the casino which had several restaurant choices. They had great drink service at this casino! Drinks were free - and plentiful - while you're gambling. We really enjoyed Shak'Eat at the casino, which was much tastier than the name implies. The owner there has a very interesting story also! If you cross the street at the casino and walk to the edge of the golf course, you can take a short cut through there to get to a terrific overlook of both Mullet Bay and Cupecoy Beach. It was amazing there! And we saw iguanas. Mullet Bay is a lovely beach. we played in the waves for hours. There are shacks at the far end (closer to Maho) where you can get some food and drinks, but they also close early. It was a safe beach with a good amount of people. We never felt uncomfortable. You seem to run into the same people in this area, because it is more quiet and a little less touristy. We walked to Maho one day - it is a couple of miles and you can walk along the golf course, but it's easy to get a bus to and from. If you are going to St Maarten for a length of time, I think Summit Hotel would be a terrific home base from which to relax, meet locals, and explore the island.

Room Tip: go for the second floor to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear randy s,

Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I especially appreciate the fact that you were unsure about the Summit, as you said, but ended up being glad you chose it! We are indeed tucked away and off the beaten path and yet, as you saw, we are a few mere minutes walk to casinos, restaurants, markets and so much more. We are quiet by design and appeal most to those guests who love to explore all the beaches, sights and attractions that the island has to offer by day, but then want somewhere beautiful and peaceful to return to and relax afterwards. I am glad you met BB too as he is an interesting guy with a great story to tell. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on a future trip and thank you again for all your kind words about us.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We are owners of 2 weeks in this little resort. Even if we didnt own, we would come back each year. The staff is super friendly, and treats us as part of their family. The pool is as fabulous as the view. The beds are a tad uncomfortable but the rest of the unit is great. Flat screen tv, full kitchen, blender, full sized fridge. Happy hour at the bar/restaurant is fun. So close to everything, just a step off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear ShariS3,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. When you visit the Summit, you do indeed become part of the family as many of our staff have been with us for decades and are eager to make you feel at home. One of our other big advantages is that we are, as you stated "so close to everything, just a step off the beaten path" meaning that guests can enjoy the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife the island has to offer just minutes from the hotel and yet, enjoy our tucked away location and the peace and quiet it offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on a future trip.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in St. Maarten. Our room was clean and had a cute little porch with a beautiful view. Also, the property is landscaped nicely with jungle like pathways. There was always someone working on the gardens. The pool was nice. My only gripe was that there was not a lot of staff around. We had to wait 20 minutes to get a drink from the bar and breakfast was overpriced and took almost 40 minutes for our meal to come out (there was one guy as waiter and cook). I'd say eat elsewhere but it's a nice quiet place to stay and relax.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Coopercoy,

Thank you very much for your review of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor as well as the 4 out of 5 star rating you gave us. I apologize for the slow service in our restaurant and you may be certain that the matter has been addressed with our staff there. I am glad you did not let it ruin your time with us. I am also glad that you enjoyed the peaceful quiet feel of the Summit as this is what we aim to deliver. Most guests run around the island to the various beaches, sightseeing and shopping during the day and then enjoy returning to the Summit to relax and unwind in our peaceful and beautiful environment. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wonderful quiet resort with a real Caribbean feel to it. Not glitzy or showy in any way, but certainly 5* for atmosphere and hill top location. Rooms are well appointed in 2 storey individual buildings and each with a balcony having wonderful views over the lagoon.
Staff are very friendly, courteous and with helpful tips on things to do and see. The onsite bar and restaurant has a small but adequate menu and is well priced.
Although the Summit is well placed with most needed amenities (beach, groceries and restaurants etc.) within walking distance, to saviour St Martin as a whole a car is needed. From the resort it is an easy 15 minute drive to Marigot (the centre of the French side) with its harbour front, market place and old fort.
Phillipsburg (the centre of the Dutch side) is further away and with the traffic can take some time to drive to. It is much more touristy than Marigot and is often very busy as this is where the cruise ships dock.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear suref00t,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote for the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I think you hit the nail on the head with your description of us as wonderful and quiet with a real Caribbean feel. As one of the first hotels on St. Maarten, and now celebrating our 40th year of welcoming guests to our little slice of paradise, we take great pride in being as authentic as it gets. For those who want "glitzy or showy" we are happy to recommend other hotels on the island but for those who want peaceful relaxation in a beautiful setting - not to mention the best view on the island - there is no better place than the Summit.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.