We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Summit Hotel to your Saves list
The Summit Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We are owners of 2 weeks in this little resort. Even if we didnt own, we would come back each year. The staff is super friendly, and treats us as part of their family. The pool is as fabulous as the view. The beds are a tad uncomfortable but the rest of the unit is great. Flat screen tv, full kitchen, blender, full sized fridge. Happy hour at the bar/restaurant is fun. So close to everything, just a step off the beaten path.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear ShariS3,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. When you visit the Summit, you do indeed become part of the family as many of our staff have been with us for decades and are eager to make you feel at home. One of our other big advantages is that we are, as you stated "so close to everything, just a step off the beaten path" meaning that guests can enjoy the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife the island has to offer just minutes from the hotel and yet, enjoy our tucked away location and the peace and quiet it offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on a future trip.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    52
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
80
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvington, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night when we arrived in St. Maarten. Our room was clean and had a cute little porch with a beautiful view. Also, the property is landscaped nicely with jungle like pathways. There was always someone working on the gardens. The pool was nice. My only gripe was that there was not a lot of staff around. We had to wait 20 minutes to get a drink from the bar and breakfast was overpriced and took almost 40 minutes for our meal to come out (there was one guy as waiter and cook). I'd say eat elsewhere but it's a nice quiet place to stay and relax.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Coopercoy,

Thank you very much for your review of the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor as well as the 4 out of 5 star rating you gave us. I apologize for the slow service in our restaurant and you may be certain that the matter has been addressed with our staff there. I am glad you did not let it ruin your time with us. I am also glad that you enjoyed the peaceful quiet feel of the Summit as this is what we aim to deliver. Most guests run around the island to the various beaches, sightseeing and shopping during the day and then enjoy returning to the Summit to relax and unwind in our peaceful and beautiful environment. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to our little paradise.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wonderful quiet resort with a real Caribbean feel to it. Not glitzy or showy in any way, but certainly 5* for atmosphere and hill top location. Rooms are well appointed in 2 storey individual buildings and each with a balcony having wonderful views over the lagoon.
Staff are very friendly, courteous and with helpful tips on things to do and see. The onsite bar and restaurant has a small but adequate menu and is well priced.
Although the Summit is well placed with most needed amenities (beach, groceries and restaurants etc.) within walking distance, to saviour St Martin as a whole a car is needed. From the resort it is an easy 15 minute drive to Marigot (the centre of the French side) with its harbour front, market place and old fort.
Phillipsburg (the centre of the Dutch side) is further away and with the traffic can take some time to drive to. It is much more touristy than Marigot and is often very busy as this is where the cruise ships dock.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear suref00t,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you wrote for the Summit Resort Hotel on TripAdvisor. I think you hit the nail on the head with your description of us as wonderful and quiet with a real Caribbean feel. As one of the first hotels on St. Maarten, and now celebrating our 40th year of welcoming guests to our little slice of paradise, we take great pride in being as authentic as it gets. For those who want "glitzy or showy" we are happy to recommend other hotels on the island but for those who want peaceful relaxation in a beautiful setting - not to mention the best view on the island - there is no better place than the Summit.

Thank you again for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great hotel with a "homey" feel. Property has nicely landscaped walkways, with two-story units, each with one room downstairs and one upstairs. I paid the extra for a Premium Water view, and it was magnificent. Balcony was overlooking the pool and Simpson Bay, and was a perfect spot to enjoy a cup of coffee at sunrise and watch the mountains across the bay. Rooms are clean and well appointed with good quality free wi-fi. Multiple beaches are within walking distance, and there is a nice coffee shop just down the street. The Atlantis casino is also within easy walking distance with several nice restaurants. Actually, one of the best meals I had was at the restaurant on location! The staff is wonderful, and by the end of the week, everyone greeted me by name, which was very nice. Definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Premium water view are the rooms with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear jgracely,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review and top ratings you gave us on TripAdvisor. They are much appreciated. So too are your comments about the "homey" feel one gets staying here. That might be because many of our staff have been with us, quite literally, for decades or it might be because so many guests return year after year to what they think of as their "home away from home" in St. Maarten. Either way, we strive to make guests feel at home and I am very glad you felt that way at the Summit.

Thanks also for your nice comments about Tropical Heaven, our onsite restaurant. I will be sure to pass them along to our chef Tracey. I know she will appreciate them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit on a future visit.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in St. Maarten! The rooms are charming, and have a kitchen with everything you need. You even have your own private balcony overlooking the bay - gorgeous by day and romantic at night. The pool is great, and so is the staff. There is a restaurant on property, and a great bar. Plus, The Summit is near EVERYTHING, close enough to walk into town and the beach. We hope to return soon -- maybe for the next full moon party!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear mikevmd,

Thank you for your kind words and great review of the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that we could deliver another wonderful vacation for you and hope to see you return for many more. The advantage of staying at the Summit, as you noted, is that we're close to everything and yet tucked away and private too. It's the best of both worlds. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit any time at all although I do agree, full moons on the island are an especially fun time to be here.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I won a weeks stay at "The Summit" via "Everything St Maarten" website. Thanks EST!! We enjoyed our stay at the summit. The staff was very friendly and easy to get along with...the Activities Director was OUTSTANDING and made us feel welcome!! We met friends that were staying at The Summit, after there timeshare week, for an extended stay. The Summit was close to all the best beached....Maho Beach, Cupocoy Beach and Baie Rouge Beach which was GREAT!! Because we were at the beach daily.....beach bums during the day! If you want a relaxed quite stay....check out the The Summit Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay have a great view and porches to sit on and enjoy a great view of Simpson Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Chuck,

First, let me congratulate you on winning your stay at the Summit on Jeff Berger's website, EverythingSXM.com. That was lucky! Second, thank you so much for your kind words about the Summit and the high ratings you gave us. I especially appreciate your comments about our Activities Director, Sasha, who works hard to offer guests a wide range of fun filled activities on the island to help them enjoy their stays. I'm glad you had a chance to stay with us and enjoy the easy access to great beaches and the comfortable, laid back atmosphere we offer at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I just returned home from my second stay at The Summit this year. The views are unbeatable and simply a joy to wake up to every morning - plus it was nice to have our own balcony. The staff was friendly and responsive, the rooms clean, and the beds comfortable. The grounds are quiet and beautiful, and I like that Maho and beaches are just a short drive away. I plan to stay here the next time I visit St. Maarten and would recommend The Summit to anyone looking for a relaxing hotel with island charm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear KSL 484,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor about the Summit Resort Hotel. I agree that the views from our rooms, especially the Premium Water View rooms overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon, are simply incredible. With more than a 180 degree view, the lagoon in the foreground, gentle hills of St Martin/St Maarten in the background and the island of Anguilla in the distance, I often find that I get lost looking at the view myself! It certainly is a nice way to unwind. Having Maho, Porto Cupecoy and the beaches of the lowlands all within a few minutes drive of the Summit makes us a very convenient location as well. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our beautiful island.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.