We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful vacation at the Summit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Summit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Summit Hotel to your Saves list
The Summit Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chappaqua, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful vacation at the Summit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in St. Maarten! The rooms are charming, and have a kitchen with everything you need. You even have your own private balcony overlooking the bay - gorgeous by day and romantic at night. The pool is great, and so is the staff. There is a restaurant on property, and a great bar. Plus, The Summit is near EVERYTHING, close enough to walk into town and the beach. We hope to return soon -- maybe for the next full moon party!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear mikevmd,

Thank you for your kind words and great review of the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that we could deliver another wonderful vacation for you and hope to see you return for many more. The advantage of staying at the Summit, as you noted, is that we're close to everything and yet tucked away and private too. It's the best of both worlds. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Summit any time at all although I do agree, full moons on the island are an especially fun time to be here.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    61
    14
    10
    7
See reviews for
28
88
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I won a weeks stay at "The Summit" via "Everything St Maarten" website. Thanks EST!! We enjoyed our stay at the summit. The staff was very friendly and easy to get along with...the Activities Director was OUTSTANDING and made us feel welcome!! We met friends that were staying at The Summit, after there timeshare week, for an extended stay. The Summit was close to all the best beached....Maho Beach, Cupocoy Beach and Baie Rouge Beach which was GREAT!! Because we were at the beach daily.....beach bums during the day! If you want a relaxed quite stay....check out the The Summit Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay have a great view and porches to sit on and enjoy a great view of Simpson Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Chuck,

First, let me congratulate you on winning your stay at the Summit on Jeff Berger's website, EverythingSXM.com. That was lucky! Second, thank you so much for your kind words about the Summit and the high ratings you gave us. I especially appreciate your comments about our Activities Director, Sasha, who works hard to offer guests a wide range of fun filled activities on the island to help them enjoy their stays. I'm glad you had a chance to stay with us and enjoy the easy access to great beaches and the comfortable, laid back atmosphere we offer at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I just returned home from my second stay at The Summit this year. The views are unbeatable and simply a joy to wake up to every morning - plus it was nice to have our own balcony. The staff was friendly and responsive, the rooms clean, and the beds comfortable. The grounds are quiet and beautiful, and I like that Maho and beaches are just a short drive away. I plan to stay here the next time I visit St. Maarten and would recommend The Summit to anyone looking for a relaxing hotel with island charm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear KSL 484,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you posted on TripAdvisor about the Summit Resort Hotel. I agree that the views from our rooms, especially the Premium Water View rooms overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon, are simply incredible. With more than a 180 degree view, the lagoon in the foreground, gentle hills of St Martin/St Maarten in the background and the island of Anguilla in the distance, I often find that I get lost looking at the view myself! It certainly is a nice way to unwind. Having Maho, Porto Cupecoy and the beaches of the lowlands all within a few minutes drive of the Summit makes us a very convenient location as well. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our beautiful island.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Are finishing up our 10 trip to The Summit, and thought it was better than ever. It is one of the older places we've looked at in SXM, but we consider it quaint, charming. and a good value. Almost everything seems to work fine, and the staff very quickly takes care of any anomolies that pop up. All of the staff are friendly and good to deal with.The bar usually closes a little early ( around 10:00 pm ), but they have a great "happy hour" that attracts locals & those from other nearby hotels/resorts.

They don't have a fitness center or room service.

We will be back in the future !

Mike & Pat from NC

Room Tip: There are several different views available, so I'd ask for an explanation of what is available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Mike & Pat from NC,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Summit Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to have you back with us and glad to earn your "better than ever" comment about the hotel. I also really appreciate the work you and Don put into building the Corn Hole game and the picture you posted of yourselves posing with it is great! The game has become very popular down at the bar and is in great demand from guests. Regarding a fitness center, I am happy to report that we are making arrangements with a nearby gym to provide Summit guests with passes to use their facility. It is within an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel and should prove very popular with guests. Thanks again for your great comments and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were at the Summit for our 17th year from Feb 6-23, 2013. We love the hotel and the fantastic view of Simpson Bay lagoon and part of the French side of the island. It is like going home. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. We enjoy visiting at the pool, bar and restaurant with the other quest and have made many good friends over the years. There was a group that I thought was louder than necessary, but they were on vacation and they were always quiet by 11:00. My husband and a friend built a Corn Bag Toss Game. The maintenance staff loaned a few tools and cut some boards to help. We had a few tournaments by the pool and generally had a wonderful time. The hotel has new TVs and new wireless internet that is free for quests. We can’t wait for next February to go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the Summit. I can't believe it's been 17 years! As you know better than most, the Summit appeals to those who enjoy and appreciate a quiet and peaceful setting, clean comfortable rooms, a warm welcoming staff and simply incredible views. Please let Don know that the game he and Mike built has become an instant hit down at the bar and has been in steady use since you left. Thanks again for all the kind words above. We all look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Best regards,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Firstly, the front desk staff were good and they are trying, and it's too bad that they are saddled with this rundown resort. Reading other reviews, they do not accurately reflect our experience, nor the state of the "resort" at all. Our opinion (unit 11B): tired rooms with badly cracked tile throughout, beat up doors and frames, holes in fibreglass shower stall, window crank and screen broken, remote control doesn't work for TV ("not set up for it" and no attempt made to set it up), broken strainer in bathroom sink drain.
The pool area is OK out on the deck but the area under the nearby canopy is seedy. The smell from the restaurant deep fryer wafts throughout the property and is very unpleasant. We couldn't sit out on our deck because of it. We just left the grounds every day. The concrete walkways are a broken jumble, difficult to wheel luggage and carts on. The woodwork railings and stairs are worn and tired.
The complex was noisy, as sound reverberates around the closely packed units. So, we got to hear the partiers (and there is a dedicated group of regulars) until 10-12 pm most nights.
I went looking for a water hose to clean feet off and wandered to the west end of complex away from the pool. What a dark, dreary, fetid secret hole that is, at the maintenance shack. I have never seen anything like that on resort grounds in my life.
It is time for a total makeover at this resort and people need to be warned not to stay here.

Room Tip: If for some reason you chose to stay here, down front on the windward and/or north side would avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear mikemniki,

I am very sorry to read your comments posted on TripAdvisor reflecting your perspective of the Summit Resort Hotel and, I must admit, I am puzzled at how your perception could be so completely opposite those expressed by most reviewers of the hotel. RCI has designated the Summit a Gold Crown Resort for 2013 based on survey responses they received from non-Summit timeshare owners who exchanged weeks at their home resorts in order to visit the Summit. These guests rated us highly enough to earn RCI's highest designation. TripAdvisor awarded us a Certificate of Excellence based solely on reviews they received about the Summit over the course of the past year. Jeff Berger, publisher of the EverythingSXM website, granted us an Award of Excellence based on his personal inspection of the property and visits to the hotel. I realize that it is difficult for any hotel to satisfy every single guest who visits but I am extremely proud of the quality, service and value the Summit delivers to guests and gratified by the overwhelmingly positive reaction and reviews we receive from most guests who visit us. I wish you the best and hope you will give us a chance to change your perception of the hotel on a future visit.

Sincerely,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is not a new resort but it is the Carib at its best. The staff are the friendliest people on the Island and will go out of their way to please you. We own 5 weeks there and wouldn't trade our weeks there for anybody. It is an older resort but very well kept and the grounds are lovel and the view of the lagoon is outstanding.

Room Tip: Take the Delux rooms They are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Nevs,

Thank you very much for your kind words and wonderful endorsement of the Summit. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoy the hotel. As one of the earliest hotels on St. Maarten, and now celebrating our 40th year of operation, we strive to deliver "Old World Caribbean Charm" to those who appreciate clean, comfortable accommodations in a beautiful setting. I especially appreciate your comments about our staff, some of whom have worked at the Summit for decades and all of whom strive to ensure that guests are comfortable and think of the Summit as their "home away from home" in St. Maarten. I also agree that out view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon is likely one of the best on the entire island. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

All the best,
Bruce Jakubovitz
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road #42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cupecoy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
The Summit Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Cupecoy Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.