We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Globe Restaurant

Globe Restaurant
995722 Mono Adjala Townline, Rosemont, On L9R 1V1, Rosemont, Ontario L9R 1V1, Canada
(705) 435-6981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Rosemont
Price range: $15 - $19
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Caledon, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Favorite Place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Restaurant was an old hotel/bar long ago.. The creaky floors, antique pieces of furniture is all part of the ambience, But of course, it is the food. No matter what you choose it is excellent, and is beautifully presented. One of our favorites is the roast beef on a crusty roll with soup/salad. Servers have been there for years and are great. They have a sideboard with the yummy tea biscuits and goey butter tarts for sale. I often get one the soups to go as well. Good for dinner after a big lunch. Busy in the summer, would recommend a reservation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    15
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really enjoyed the atmosphere, an old country home in the middle of nowhere with charming hosts ,super service and delicious food . Everything is homemade with local products . All dishes were served steaming hot . The soups were to write home about ,the main dishes of the same rank. I had the best sorbet in years. An old fashion vanilla ice cream made the day for one of our guests .It was a place I aim to return next trip north of Toronto .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Always something different on the menu. you will never leave hungry.They use seasonal produce in most of the specials. Only drawback is if you don't like something i.e.. mushrooms they will be in most entrees. Try one of the tea biscuits and the desserts are homemade.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gone down in quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This restaurant used to be spectacular, but has gone down in quality, portion size, and service. We were out for dinner two couples and found our server could not make a ceaser, the drink. Then she said there was no Tabasco in the restaurant -- so it makes sense it tasted off. My dirty martini had olives with pits, and beer and cider were served in juice glasses. They have removed the choice of soup or salad from the entree ( which is roughly 30 dollars). The choice. is now a tiny half cup of soup or juice. Who wants juice??You must buy a salad seperate. The salads used to be spectacular and fancy greens. Now they are plain lettuce. The calamari was also soggy and under cooked. The waitress was quite slow. The lamb chops my friend ordered was half the portion it used to be. Plates used to be full with garnish and are now bare with two Brussels sprouts.The end of the meal, my Spanish coffee came in a juice cup which I had to wrap my napkin around to drink as it was to hot to hold. This restaurant needs to get some appropriate stemware, better service and lower the prices. You can't expect customers to pay the same price for less quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Atttention to detail always wins bonus points in my book”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely Valentine's lunch and the atttention to details was incredible, little red wooden hearts here and there very simple potatoe heart stamp placemat, heart shaped bread pretzel and heart crouton made the lunch just that much more special. We had never visited before and found the service and food both very good. We will definitely be back for a dinner next time.
The fresh baked tea bisquits were yummy. We left very full and couldn't even consider dessert but we were offered a freshly baked heart shape shortbread anyway that we gladly accepted as well as candy hearts w our bill.
Lovely touch!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Globe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Globe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.