We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the mark, especially for kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Irwin Inn

Irwin Inn
RR 2, Lakefield, Ontario, Canada
(705) 877-2240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 31 Restaurants in Lakefield
Restaurant details
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Missed the mark, especially for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the inn for the long weekend in July, and overall had a great time. The kids loved the kayaks, canoes and fishing, and we enjoyed the tennis and watersports as well. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The cottages were quaint and comfortable. The downsides were simply that the owners need to put some money into the resort, which is starting to look a little shabby. The golf course was really just a big field and very hard to navigate. The signs were faded and the flags were tattered and torn. The greens were absolutely unplayable, with big weeds and ruts all over...it was hilarious! We actually took pictures because it was so funny to see a green like this. The hot tub was shut down, and clearly had been for some time. At the restaurant, we found that the kitchen could never keep up with the buffet, with patrons descending on the waitstaff like vultures when stuff like the smoked salmon would finally come out. There was only ever one item available for the kids, and the four kids really only liked the burger bar. There needs to be at LEAST three items for the kids. The meals for the adults were three star at best, and we've been to many other resorts. The tea that was ordered by one in our party at three breakfasts only ever came at one of the meals. The flower beds and flower boxes were beautiful, and the beach, while small, was well maintained, as were the docks and equipment. The kids had a blast in the water. Overall, it was a good family weekend, but not great value for the rather large price tag you will pay. Three star value for five star investment. I hope the Inn can invest in some of the basics to clean up the place, and invest in skilled staff in the kitchen to really bring the restaurant back to it's former glory.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwininnkeeper, Owner at Irwin Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Irwin Inn in the summer months is especially for Kids and families - safe environment, gorgeous lake & area. Kids recreation program has always been popular. We have not used any insecticides
or herbicides on our "golf field" for 10 years. We tell guests it is a small, fun area, for kids and families to play at no charge. It only functions as a good place to learn or practice golf at this time. We are repairing greens, one at a time presently.We are constantly maintaining sections of the resort on the almost 200 acres of property.
Kids are welcome to choose items from the buffet of freshly made salads, soup, fresh raw vegetables with dip, hot and cold appetizers, Irwin Inn's own fresh rolls/bread plus a children's main course choice, which changes daily.
Breakfast buffet is extensive, constantly filled with fresh food made in our kitchen. There are situations when a few guests monopolize a half tray or more of smoked salmon, and it takes a few minutes to replenish. Freshly cut fruit, our own granola, muffins, cereals, fresh eggs, bacon, hash browns, pancakes, smoked salmon, etc. and a specialty item changes daily as well. We
have always had great ratings on our food in reviews online and in person. Our chefs, including pastry chefs have been highly trained. We pride ourselves in using fresh ingredients and making everything from stocks to desserts, in house. I am glad your kids had a blast sorry you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food, the best we've ever experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Our dining experience at the Irwin Inn restaurant while on our honeymoon was of luxury standard, quality and service. The restaurant has idyllic views of the lake and was above and beyond what we were expecting. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful and made us feel so welcome. The food was beautiful and the best we've ever experienced, so much so that we felt compelled to take a photograph of each course that was brought to our table throughout our four night stay. Even if you're not staying at the Irwin Inn, you MUST take advantage of the incredible dining experience there. A superb dining experience to treat your spouse to.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to relax, take in the view, eat good food, great hospitality from the staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We wanted a fall get away ,in the tradtion of a family owned lodge (which is so diifficult to find today , we always went to Muskoka but all the family owned lodges are either now gone or owned by a chain and are costly for what they offer.)
Thank goodness we went to the Irwin Inn, its family owned by Dennis & Patty Irwin . If you want a lesson in how to treat customers then this is the place for you, great accomendations, the meals were tasty for both breakfast & dinner . Yummy .. and the menu had plenty to offer to all taste, the best part is the view from the dining room right on Stoney Lake and its worth the price of admission & priceless.
The property is beautiful , lots to do, horseback riding , golf, or simple checking out the falls colors from your private deck or gazing at the fireplace in your room. Who needs Muskoka branch out and vist the Irwin Inn @ Stoney Lake , for attentive service , good food and you will have a great vaction memory with your family, we can hardly wait to go back . Thank you for a new tradition Cheers Paula Prince

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We havent been to the Irwin in over 8 years, and was looking forward to the short getaway we had this past week July 2009. Like many years ago the hot tub and sauna were still NOT up and running! , also to our surprise the pool was out of service as well for a few days, no television with DVD in our Inn room, the very old boat was broken down not allowing for the sunset cruise that's offered. The restaurant staff were very accomendating and pleasant, but all and all we felt the Inn was in need of alot of updating, the park the rooms and especially the lawn cabins. We will not be returning any time soon unfortunately.
sorry.....

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
“Awesome family vacation spot for a multi-generational group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Right on Stoney Lake... beautiful views, friendly and helpful staff, country inn style accomodations, fine dining. The people at Irwin Inn are like family. They truly want you to enjoy your stay at the Inn, and will go out of their way to make it happen. Lots of activities for every generation -- kids recreation, adult activities, great food, opportunity to meet people and build lasting relationships.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irwin Inn also viewed

 

Been to Irwin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irwin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.