We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good two weeks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Inn of Lakefield

Village Inn of Lakefield
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Village Inn of Lakefield to your Saves list
Village Inn of Lakefield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Queen St., Lakefield, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good two weeks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel and the staff are really nice. Comfortable rooms, cleaned nicely etc. It was a good stay and certainly was not unconfortable at all. On Friday nights the music from the loon does come through the floor but it finished by 1,

The breakfast is included and the buns from the bakery are nice.

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
19
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Had reason to visit Trent University in Peterborough for a week-end. Could have stayed in Peterborough but decided to try Lakefield, an easy 12 - 15 minute drive up the road. The Village Inn was a very good choice (really, the only choice in Lakefield). Completely non-smoking which is great, we had a balcony room with two Queens. Room was clean albeit dated, bathroom on the small side with the kind of wear and tear you would expect. But at the rate for the two nights, it was very good value.

Our room was on the second floor, facing the main street in Lakefield; the only noise was the Friday night live music from the Pub - it ceased around 11:30pm. All very quiet on the Saturday night, we were the only ones in the Pub at around 10pm.

Complimentary breakfast was basic and adequate. Coffee served was actually pretty good and I'm particular about that area. Would have liked to have seen bananas in the fruit basket. The Inn is situated perfectly and the surrounding shops close at hand. Great location.

Lakefield is a enchanting town, close to the canal system and a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of bigger centres. I would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Peterborough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at this quaint in for a hockey tournament for 2 nights. The inn is situated on a cute little street with little fudge shops and walking distance to a grocery store. The breakfast that was included was ample, and the room was clean. We booked the use of the party room for one night so the team families could have a get together. If we were in the area again, we would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have stayed here twice this year and found it a very restful place. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The village of Lakefield is amazing everyone made us feel at home. Cannot wait to go back. Talk to the staff and they will tell you what to visit. Shop in the great little stores it feels like stepping back in time. Patrick and Maggie.

Room Tip: Close to Peterbourgh and lakes. Lots to do just ask the staff. The rooms at the back are quieter on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Really enjoyed our two night stay, only used the place to sleep as we were in town for a wedding but found it very sweet with a lot of history. Lakefield is a beautiful little town and this Inn fits in nicely. Didn't know about the continental breakfast included until the morning of our departure but we enjoyed it that morning. Lots of variety and good coffee. The Inn itself is very clean and quiet. The rooms are spacious but I do wish there was wireless internet. There is a cable connection on the desk but couldn't use it as I had an iPad. The pub that's connected to the main lobby has free WIFI though but you need a password. Lakefield is small and not a place for a 5 star hotel so the quaintness of this Inn matches the feel of the town perfectly. If you are looking for all the bells and whistles from a full service hotel this isn't the place for you but for a place to lay your head or a little getaway, it's PERFECT!

Room Tip: Opt for the balcony room as you'll have a view out the front and see Downtown Lakefield vs the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry B, Manager at Village Inn of Lakefield, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are in the process of getting WiFi, and hope to have it in the entire building soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed here for a conference in the area recently. Serviceable accommodations....breakfast is below average...business amenities lacked a lot...small desk..no business centre..copy services etc. No pool or work out room. Pub on site is average. Nothing much to do after six....they roll the streets up pretty early. I'll stay in Peterborough next time. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Stay in Peterborough if you want stuff to do and available everyday amenities and services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at the lakefield inn for 5 nights and I found it "sad". My son and I were happy to leave that place. It has no soul, no smiles. The bedroom is Ok but looks so dark, if they just change the bedcovers for a lighter color it would already make a big difference. During all my stay the shower/tub was not cleaned and the vaccum was not done, they just make the beds and bring new towel and clean the sink. So they are not big on cleaning (the inside border of the window was full of dirt). It feels like nobody is motivated in that place, they just do it as a job. The front desk people do what they have to do without a smile, again just doing their job...
This place could be so nice but the light and life is missing. May be the staff is not treated properly by management ?
But I will say that the waitresses from the Thristy loon (the pub-restaurant attached to the inn) were very nice and helpful .


The breakfast...well it is just some factory made croissant and muffins, some cereals... We always ate out. Such a negative feeling...

Room Tip: Take a room facing the parking lot, will be much quieter than a street one as you have the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Village Inn of Lakefield, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
The Village Inn is a small, quaint inn that prides itself on providing clean rooms and personal service. The rooms are individualized with richly, coloured bed quilts which may make them a little darker, but very cozy. Housekeeping staff provide daily room service which includes making the beds, providing clean towels and any needed bathroom amenities, doing the dishes and taking out the garbage. Floor vacuuming and bathtub cleaning are done between bookings and when requested. I have reminded the staff to wipe out the window sills as dust and dirt from the parking lot does collect there.
The staff of the Village Inn are valued and respected by the management and are often complimented on their friendliness and helpfulness by guests. As last week was very busy they may have had a little less time than usual to chat with guests.
The complimentary continental breakfast that is provided includes coffee, tea, juices, milk, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, bagels, muffins and fresh, locally made scones, croissants and cinnamon buns. We try to offer a wide range of cold items for guests to enjoy.
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your recent experience did not meet your expectations but l hope you will consider trying us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Sherry Brundle, Manager
Village Inn of Lakefield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Inn of Lakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn of Lakefield

Address: 39 Queen St., Lakefield, Ontario K0L 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Lakefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Village Inn of Lakefield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakefield Village Inn is a newer, boutique hotel located in the centre of the historic and quaint village of Lakefield, just minutes north of Peterborough. Accommodations are 28 in number including two luxurious suites and two wheelchair accessible rooms, ensuring a peaceful stay. The Inn offers 24-hour service and is fully accessible via ground floor power entrance and elevator. The Village Inn of Lakefield also boasts an excellent meeting and conferencing facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Inn of Lakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Lakefield Hotel Peterborough
Village Hotel Of Lakefield
Village Hotel Peterborough
Village Inn Of Lakefield Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Inn of Lakefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.