We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papaevangelou Hotel

Save Saved
You added Papaevangelou Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papaevangelou Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Megalo Papigo, Papigko 44 004, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Papigko
Welwyn Garden City
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to this wonderful place! Again we were welcomed with great warmth and kindness, making it immediately a comfortable place to be. The setting is amazing - so beautiful, and there are carpets of wildflowers just a few metres beyond the hotel.Our room was warm and full of lovely features and we were lulled to sleep by a nearby nightingale. There is a lovely terrace where you can sit on comfy sofas, amid pots overflowing with flowers, looking at the fantastic view. Breakfasts are magnificent! - up to 8 varieties of home made jams and freshly made apple cake just a small part of what you're given.
The walking is great - suiting the energetic to the dawdlers (like us!). The village has many small restaurants each with its different character, so there is no need to go anywhere else - plenty to explore in a small area.
Can't rate it highly enough and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
111
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The first thing you notice is how well adapted Papaevangelou Hotel is to its surroundings — and those surroundings are spectacular indeed. Built entirely of stone and slate, like the other buildings in Papingo, the hotel sits high atop a ridge above the town, offering the visitor breathtaking views of the Astrakas mountain range and its deep, wooded, gorge. A dramatic hiker’s and photographer’s paradise, a veritable symphony of nature :-)

The owner, George Papaevangelou, is the perfect host...friendly, helpful, informative. He will tell you the best hiking trails, where to get a good meal in town, which places in the area are worth a visit. In addition to his ample and varied breakfast, he will make whatever style of coffee you want, on order. The rooms are large, clean, airy, sunny, and all with a good view.

Realy, if you want a great little hotel in breathtaking surroundings, Papaevangelou is it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went there at the end of a loooong day and we discovered this fabulous place...all is perfect and fantastic .... But something and I should say someone is fabulous ... Just stay there to enjoy the Life and live à dream

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

During my travels back to the homeland, I visit Zagori from time to time for hiking. Papaevangelou is a great place to stay when in Zagori. The rooms are all in a traditional style, built and decorated to a very high standard, and with nice views. We chose a room downstairs, because we liked the atmosphere and the view from the bathroom: I had my shower looking at Gamila (aka Tymfi, the high mountain towering over Papiggo). Bliss!
The breakfast is great too, with good coffee (that's VERY important) and a wide selection of foods, all homemade. I scoffed a whole jar of strawberry marmalade, having worked my way through cakes, different kinds of breads, eggs, cheeses, honey, etc... A perfect way to start your long hike to Gamila or whatever activity you're planning to do in Zagori. Papiggo is close to Kleidonia, where you can do river kayaking and to the Spiliotissa monastery, which can be found after an easy and short hike from Aristi. (Another nice and not too difficult hike is from the bridge of Aristi to Kleidonia, along Voidomatis river.)

The couple who own the hotel are both very friendly and helpful, and will give you advice about where to go and what to do, if you haven't done your 'homework'. We'll certainly be going there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. When we were there, the downstairs floor had just been refurbished to a very hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Many people have written about the natural beauty of the Zagoria region of Greece and Georgio who runs Papaevangelou. The beauty of the region is right on, and Papaevangelou is your home in the sky. From the moment you enter the property, Georgio makes you feel like one of the family. He goes out of his way to make your experience totally enjoyable and one to always remember. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The property is at the highest point in Megalo Papigo with magnificent views of the mountains. After exploring the region and towns there in by day, we'd strolled down the cobblestone streets to restaurants for dinner Georgio would recommend by night. We would always strike up a conversation with nice people who either lived in Papigo, or were there like us on holiday which made for memorable evenings. Most tourists traveling to Greece on holiday, never venture out of the tourist areas like Athens or Olympia to see the beauty of Greece. The region of Zagoria, and Papaevangelou, should be added to any tourists destination while visiting Greece. This was by far the best part of our Greece holiday.

Room Tip: Love our room/suite above the archway. It had a single day lounger plus a queen size bed and plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertzliya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you visit Zagoria you MUST stay at Papaevangelo!!!
Although the way up to Papigko is long and winding, it is worth it! The view is exceptional. The room is spacious, very comforable and very well equiped and maintained.
Breakfast is superb, rich and tasty. The owner, Iorgos (George), is so friendly and cheerful. He will make you the best coffee ever whenever you ask.
We stayed there 3 nights and enjoyed evey minute!
Thank you Iorgos!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Only one word to describe our 2 night stay at Papaevangelou...SUPERB. We were a party of 8 who came mainly to go "water rafting" and a little walking in this beautiful area. The owner Giorgos is the most welcoming, happy, smiling, helpful host you could ever find...and it's true his coffee is tops and always served with a wide beaming smile!!!! The hotel is in a wonderful position in Papingo with beautiful views...definately a little bit of paradise!!!! The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are delicious - a large variety of home made cakes and jams made by Giorgos' mother. Giorgos helped us to arrange our water rafting experience with a local company whose guide Theo was "excellent" with a brilliant sense of humour. We left Papaevangelou hotel having had a fantastic 2 night stay...but somehow know that we will all return again!!! Thank you Giorgos for making our stay so special. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Papaevangelou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papaevangelou Hotel

Address: | Megalo Papigo, Papigko 44 004, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Zagori Region > Papigko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Papigko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Papaevangelou Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Papaevangelou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papaevangelou Hotel Epirus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papaevangelou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.