We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had Lunch- Had to Return for Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of To Steki tis Gefsis

To Steki tis Gefsis
Main Road, Dimitsana, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Dimitsana
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Washington Dc
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Had Lunch- Had to Return for Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We ate outside on a cold winters day as we had our dogs with us. The waiter despite the cold and being only in a collared shirt was friendly and stayed with us as we made up our minds. The menu features Greek Alpine food which is a special treat. We had the cockerel and while it was supposed to come with Spagetti, he substituted a local hand -made pasta favorite without asking. How thoughtful! It was delicious. We returned that night for dinner and the family were warm and inviting. We had the port in a "hull" or small pottery dish with potatoes and cheese. The wine has house and was the best house Roze I have had in Greece. I would wholley recommend this quaint and warm place. Lastly, for a main dish, salat, starter and half kilo of wine- we paid 17 euros and the desert was complimetary!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very good restaurant in Dimitsana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Low profile, very friendly staff, beautiful cuisine ( the wild boar was super) , very down to earth prices.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The place with THE taste, indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoyed a relaxing, outdoor dining experience at this place for dinner both nights of our stay in Dimitsana. It is located on the main road that curves through this small, quaint mountain town. As we dined, we enjoyed watching the locals interact at the nearby tavernas also along the street. The female owner was our server both nights and we enjoyed speaking the little Greek we knew with her and learning the meaning of the name of the restaurant. The food was very good; we decided on more traditional choices the first night and went for the pizza the second night (which is very different from pizza in the U.S., especially the dough - it was unique to try). My favorite item we ate was the fasolada appetizer (see picture); the sauce was so tasty and great for dipping with bread (which was also served). Overall, we had lovely, evening dining experiences here and would recommend it to travelers!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great local cuisine, friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

To Steki tis Gefsis ("The hangout of taste") is a small family-run (husband and wife team) taverna located by the central square of Dimitsana. The local dishes are top-notch, and the service as very efficient and friendly.

The inside space is elegantly rustic, and there are also outside tables where enthusiastic locals treat each other to a beer (patronage of locals is always the best indicator of good food and authenticity!)

One thing I truly enjoy here is ordering *mezedes* (Greek tapas) and a Greek beer or some ouzo or raki. They include grilled local country sausage and cheese, dips, veggies and are absolutely delectable. You can't go wrong here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Steki tis Gefsis also viewed

Dimitsana, Arkadia Region
Dimitsana, Arkadia Region
 
Dimitsana, Arkadia Region
Dimitsana, Arkadia Region
 

Been to To Steki tis Gefsis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage To Steki tis Gefsis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.