We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok tavern” 3 of 5 stars
Review of To Lathos

To Lathos
Karkalou, Dimitsana 22007, Greece
+30(27950)31709
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Dimitsana
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
athens greece
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“An ok tavern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

On the plus side, the place seems to draw the locals. The variety of the dishes is very limited though, the taste and the price is fair. Not particularly worth going out of your way -the tavern is 3km away from dimitsana-, but altogether not a bad choice. Very colorful interior, with muskets, old photos of village families.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Athens,Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It was unbelievable we went there last week on 15/9 for lunch.
The time was about 14:20.
We were three friends .There were few people inside.
A lady approached us and told us that there was nothing left to eat/order.
This was our first time in our life. that such thing was happening to us .
What can I say?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Greeknregional specialties in a charming colorful folk setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were very hard and although the fact that this place was off a main road near an intersection concerned us as the best are usually fund in town where it is difficult to park a large jeep. To our delight the food was delicious and interesting, and the staff was pleasant. We had the local cheese read a thin spinach pie with a local twist that was amazing, fresh salad, and local meats and rooster dishes. Dessert was offered on the house, and their house red was fine. It was nice a surprise, and the parking lot made it easy, I was even able to walk our large dog.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

highly recommended. this is how all greek tavernas should be like.
reasonable prices and great food/service

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A hearty family owned restaurant on a farm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

To Lathos is located on a country road between the Karkalou and Dimitsana and built on a farm. It is a great place for children, as there is a large garden to play, and animals such as cows, pigs and donkeys in sight.

The food is local, and includes steaks, country sausages, saganaki (grilled cheese). I was particularly thrilled with the "kokkoras" (coq with noodles). The restaurant is family run, very friendly, and the fireplace is very cozy when its cold outside. One of the top places to eat in the greater Dimitsana region.

Let me end this review with some trivia. I was intrigued by the name of this tavern, "To Lathos" which means "The Mistake" in Greek, a bizarre and self-deprecating name for a restaurant. I asked the owners what on earth they were thinking, and the story is quite amusing. Apparently, they received some kind of subsidy from the European Union to build the restaurant, but did not carefully read the fine print! The terms and conditions or the subsidy were so restrictive, that in retrospect they would have been far better off without the subsidy - hence, the "mistake" :-)

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To Lathos also viewed

Dimitsana, Arkadia Region
Dimitsana, Arkadia Region
 
Dimitsana, Arkadia Region
Dimitsana, Arkadia Region
 

Been to To Lathos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage To Lathos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.