We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly comfortable and cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

The George Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   20 High Street, Leadenham LN5 0PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Leadenham B&B and Inns
st. louis, mo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Surprisingly comfortable and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This old coaching inn, now pub, proved a pleasant surprise in a sleepy town between Scunthorpe and Lincoln. Our bedrooms were pleasant, the beds most comfortable and the bathrooms small but adequate (mine had a towel bar missing, the other had an elusive power switch to turn on the shower), and the sound from the market square was minimal. The dinner in the restaurant was really quite good, and the wine list more than adequate. In the morning, the young host Glenn offered a full English breakfast that was as delicious as it was freshly cooked. We recommend this inn if you take it for what it is ~ a fine example of an independently run B & B/pub run by enthusiasts.

Room Tip: The bakery/tea shop next door is the antithesis to modern service, refusing customers for afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    12
    6
    10
See reviews for
13
23
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very poor standard of accommodation. Room was dirty, cobwebs everywhere and bathroom was not of a suitable standard. Smelt damp and musty, carpets were grubby, no wardrobe space. Breakfast was good which was the only thing that deserved praise. Staff were pleasant enough. Would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I'm afraid that if you visit this place either for a drink, meal or especially a stay, you will be incredibly disappointed. The place is terrible, scruffy, smelly and run down. The food is overpriced with poor presentation and quality. The accommodation is seriously poor, shared bathrooms, 70's decor' and a musty smell that would turn a dog away. Talking of dogs, the entrance to some rooms is gained past the pubs dogs, high wired compound for two sorry looking husky type dogs. The "gardens are as scruffy as are the surrounding buildings. Save your money, buy a tent.

Room Tip: Easy, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have just returned from The George and felt compelled to share my experience. Our party of 4 attended the on a chilly April evening and although the bar was reasonably full when we arrived, the temperature was too chilly for comfort. A log fire had been burning but was on its last legs. After a while we all felt the need to put our coats on and I went to try and re-invigorate the fire. Alas there were no logs available and although the barman (and I presume the owner) saw me, he studiously ignored my attempts to warm up. Nevertheless we ordered food and waited, and waited, and waited. When it arrived, we were presented with differing degrees of success. Two meals were great, but the 2 mixed grills were burnt! The chef presented the dishes with the burnt sides down which suggests he knew that the food was below standard. Disappointingly, no-one came to ask if our food was satisfactory until they appeared to clear the dishes. When we expressed our opinion on the meals, we were met with a surprised expression and the comment, 'the chef has left'. Nothing else was offered. Finally, when paying for the meal, the barman (and I presume the owner) did not enquire if we had had a pleasant evening and offered no indication of customer care.
To be fair, I think The George could be a great place but they need to change their attitude and start looking after their customers and make them comfortable. The Chef cannot be content to send out sub-standard food and the proprietor needs to get a appreciation of the fact he is there to look after his customer. Overall a disappointing visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night while working away and was very happy with the george hotel. The room was lovely, the food and the drink were excellent and the staff and locals were all friendly and the waitresses were very helpful and pleasent. I am looking forward to visiting again.
Dave from stoke.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH LINCOLNSHIRE
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wonderful place for tea
We go once a week and it is always amazing
The portions are huge and I love the cheese soufflé....
Staff are great
Great value with either buy one get one free or £10 for two
Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for one night at the begining of December for a Birthday Party. We had been quoted £70.00 for a double room en suite. I looked around and found the same with Laterooms.com for £54.00. The George is set in a nice village square with a really good indian restaruant opposite. We did'nt have a meal in the restaruant but the breakfast in the morning was excellent (everything that you asked for they produced). Bedroom and bathroom a bit cramped but its an old building. Would use again. 8/10

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: 20 High Street, Leadenham LN5 0PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Leadenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Leadenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.