We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian River Brook B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian River Brook B&B
Save
You added Indian River Brook B&B to your Saves list
#2 Indian River Road | P.O. Box 1629, Springdale, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Springdale B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

it was a very nice and homey B&B. We stopped there on our way to Gros Mourne and we were glad we did. She prepared us a delicious jiggs Dinner with Roast Moose and a custard dessert with fresh berries, it was AMAZING!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely, peaceful B&B!! Doreen was so welcoming and she made us the most delicious Jigg's Dinner in the evening! She also let us play her organ, and then she sang us Newfoundland folk songs while playing the "Ugly Stick" and told us wonderful stories. The Blueberry pancake breakfast in the morning certainly made it hard to leave! We went away feeling pampered, it was like leaving a weekend at home!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice location off themain road, watchthe turn in it is quick and not real well marked but worth the trouble. Nice house full of personal collections of the owneer, very quiet, pleasnt owner, ask her to sing, just wonderful. Best phone reservation I have ever made anywhere. Go there if you are in the area or just passing and need a place to sleep

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, VT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My stay in August was a special one and already a fond memory. Wasn't I lucky to arrive in time to help put the final touches on a "traditional+" Newfoundland jiggs dinner--oh so good! After dinner, Doreen, family and friends joined us for great story telling, singing and playing some unusual instruments. After a restful night's sleep, she topped off the experience with delightful pancakes covered in fresh fruit topping with blueberry sauce.

Doreen is a great hostess, cook, and singer--all 3 for the price of one! Beyond that, she is a crafter and has quite a display of items for sale. If you are headed across the province, Springdale is well-situated for a stopover, and you will be thrilled with your stay at Indian River!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This B & B is close to the TC Highway and for us was a convenient overnight stop on the way back to St. John's. The room was very comfortable. Service was great. Breakfast was superb. IT is also a place where the hostess actually sits and visits with the guests, while not many B & B operators seem to do this anymore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This location is very convenient for an overnight stay when traveling the #1 highway. And while you travel a few km off the highway, it is an opportunity to learn about the real Newfoundland people. Yes, this is a province of Canada, but they are still unique, and proud of it.

The room was spacious with a three piece ensuite bathroom. The water is supplied by a well and while that limits their make up and water pressure, the clean fresh taste alone or as coffee is a treat. Most important when you are traveling, we had a great sleep and a great breakfast. Others have described it well. Similarly others have talked about the ugly stick (cricket from Bricket, and couldn't stick it - with two legs!), and the dancing master, and the spoons. They have it right, and it makes for a very entertaining breakfast. When I leave a place like this B&B, I always wonder how long you are going to find unique combinations of people like Doreen, and a place like home to stay. This is something that people do because they want to do it, and should be never taken for granted.

If you have a chance to stop here, I highly recommend you do it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Indian River Brook B&B. Doreen is a fabulous host, making us very welcome and feeding us superbly - the fresh blueberry pancakes are something else! Entertainment was terrific, haven't seen anybody "play" the dancing master before and it and the Ugly Stick were a great enjoyment, as was all the stories about fishing and local life. We learned a whole new vocabulary from the fishing discussions. And the local knowledge!!!! We'd never seen salmon jumping before, but Doreen made sure that we knew exactly where to find them. We hope to be back in Newfoundland again and will head back to Doreen! The rooms, decorated to suit different areas, e.g. Newfoundland or Labrador were well appointed, well furnished, clean and comfortable. We'll be singing the praises of Indian River B&B for a long time to come. Margaret and Jim, from Australia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indian River Brook B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian River Brook B&B

Address: #2 Indian River Road | P.O. Box 1629, Springdale, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Indian River Brook Hotel Springdale
Indian River Brook Bed And Breakfast
Indian River Brook B&B Springdale, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian River Brook B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.