We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indian River Brook B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Springdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indian River Brook B&B
Save
You added Indian River Brook B&B to your Saves list
#2 Indian River Road | P.O. Box 1629, Springdale, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Springdale B&B and Inns
NL
1 review
“Unique and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a wonderful overnight stay at Indian River Brook B & B. Doreen is a wonderful hostess, and her stories of aspects of Newfoundland culture were new to us, even though we're NLers. Doreen herself, together with the quiet charm of the setting and the uniqueness of the welcome (we were treated like family) made this clean and comfortable B & B a place we recommend highly.
Dave and Irene S.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baddeck, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Cannot say enough good things about this bed and breakfast. Wonderful accommodations, fantastic breakfasts. Doreen and family are the perfect hosts!! Doreen goes all out to make sure your stay is a special one !! Thanks so much ! Hope to see you again soon !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Warm welcome, very nice bedrooms, clean, decorated with the local touches, handcrafted conforters. Great homecooked breakfast, Doreen also entertained the guests with songs and Newfoundland culture. On the day we were there we just dropped by hoping for room after a while spent on T.C. Highway. For our next visit we will definitely plan our stay there. Great b&b to stop and visit. Nearby walking trails system along salmon fishing river. 

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Indian River Brook B&B is immaculately clean with modern ensuites in every room. It's just a few minutes from the Trans Canada Highway and near the towns of Springdale and Kings Point. Nearby there is a beautiful boardwalk, a stunning waterfall with trail to climb to the top, a beautiful pottery gallery and a lovely cafe with yummy cod cakes.

However, what truly makes the Indian River Brook B&B special is your host, Doreen. Doreen goes out of her way to make you feel like you are a welcome guest in her home. This the REAL Newfoundland. Forget all that touristy stuff and share a laugh or maybe even a song with Doreen who will show you the meaning of Newfoundland hospitality.

If you have a little time I highly recommend booking a cooking class with Doreen for an extra cost. She is a master of traditional Newfoundland home cooking and you won't be disappointed. If you don't have time then at least make arrangements to eat dinner at Doreen's for a small extra cost. Her meals are to die for and you won't find anything better in town (or in any other town!!).

I usually have a rule that I don't revisit the same place twice when I travel but I couldn't wait to return to this B&B on my way back to Deer Lake airport. Thanks Doreen for making me smile until my cheeks hurt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, AB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Oh my! We had a fabulous stay! We were so welcomed and felt right at home. The lovely room, the conversation, the FOOD - wow! I even got a bread-making lesson thrown in! It's worth letting Doreen know ahead of time and plan to have at least one full dinner there as she makes the best Newfoundland food that I have ever had (don't tell my family!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marystown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My son and I stayed with John and Doreen when my son came to Springdale for a hockey tournament. We were immediately made to feel like family. We were welcomed and felt as if we were home. We had great breakfasts and Doreen even had soup made for my son and other players when they came home from playing hockey. A home away from home. Doreen and John are great hosts and advocates for the Springdale region!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Even if Springdale is not on your list of places to stop, it is worth making the effort to stay at this B and B, for the flavour of Newfoundland. Doreen and John were wonderful hosts. Doreen cooked up a wonderful seafood dinner for us then joined us at the table. This was followed by a solo performance of local songs with her Ugly stick! In the morning we joined another couple for a delicious breakfast of pancakes, fruit and sausages....followed by a reading of a whale story by Doreen, complete with the local accent! Our room was large and the bed comfortable. Doreen and John very helpful with local places to visit.
There are few restaurants in Springdale and this B and B is not actually in the town, but Doreen's dinner, which can be ordered ahead of time is well worth the $25.00 per person.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Indian River Brook B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian River Brook B&B

Address: #2 Indian River Road | P.O. Box 1629, Springdale, Newfoundland and Labrador A0J 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Springdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Springdale
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Indian River Brook Hotel Springdale
Indian River Brook Bed And Breakfast
Indian River Brook B&B Springdale, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian River Brook B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.