We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit but the first beautiful impressions remain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastide de Boulbon

Save Saved
You added La Bastide de Boulbon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Bastide de Boulbon
Rue de l'Hotel de Ville, 13150 Boulbon, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Boulbon
Hofstade, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Second visit but the first beautiful impressions remain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It has been our second stay for a 10 day period. We had the same room as before: number 8 ( garden view) and with our 6 friends we remained full of enthusiasm: good breakfast ( eggs included) good diner, a beautiful place to stay and last but not least the charm of the hosts: Jan and Marie-Claire. Here you are not only having a superb holiday but you also feel at home: you can ask everything ( I-mac, i phone, portable....restaurants, places to visit) and the hosts are merely visible. Only there to serve you.
Close to Avignon (16 km), it is the perfect place to stay in the Provence.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger rooms: 1, 4, 7, 8, 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    23
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
194
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just come back from a 9 day stay in this charming hotel, I agree with the previous reviews; the hotel is tastefully decorated, the garden is simply stunning and the food was delicious (especially the Stendhal dessert!!). The hosts are great, Jan for his tips on what to do and Marie- Claire for being omni present and so helpful. The location is perfect too, never far away from the best Provence villages and only 1hr from Marseille airport. It was a home away from home....Marie- Claire offered us a welcome and leaving drinks, which we thought was a lovely touch! Overall, great value for money in a very expensive part of France! The atmosphere is chic without being stuffy.
The only suggestion I would make to enhance guests experience would be to vary the snacks which are served when ordering drinks (I appreciate they are free but a bit of diversity would be nice!),
Thank you Marie- Claire and Jan, we had a lovely time, you have a very very special place! We are hoping to be back some day! Tony & Sandra Sheridan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days at this wonderful hotel. The hosts are warm, engaging, and available. They helped us plan our daily excursions, suggested excellent restaurants, made reservations for us, and even arranged for a dry cleaning service. The hotel is tastefully appointed and entirely in keeping with its surroundings. The rooms are elegantly decorated and immaculately clean. We travel with lots of luggage (7 cases), and our large room easily accepted all our unpacked belongings, plus allowed us to stow our bags out of the way. The king bed was very comfortable. There was a 46" flat screen TV on the wall. Small focused reading lamps were attached to the headboard; there were also bedside table lamps. The bathroom was well-appointed. Some rooms have stall showers and others have bathtubs with handheld fixtures. The shower stalls were excellent; the handhelds in the bathtubs are mounted a bit too low to have a comfortable shower. The restaurant mainly serves the guests of the hotel, but is also open to the public. The food is well-prepared by their own chef. A European-style breakfast is available daily; the dinner menu has three "entrees" (starters), three "plats" (mains), cheese, and desserts, plus a good wine list. We ate here three of our five nights because it was not only convenient, but very good. The garden is stunningly beautiful. Weather permitting, breakfast, tea, drinks, sunbathing, and swimming in the heated pool are all available in this lovely spot. Given the charming hosts, the beautiful rooms and accoutrements, the excellent restaurant, the fabulous garden, and the convenience to area attractions, this is a three-star hotel at the top of its range. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had 2 great nights here last year. The rooms, the garden, the food and the overall ambience was superb. I'm quite critical about giving out 5 stars on Tripadvisor but this place highly deserves it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here for 5 nights - have stayed 4 already . It is a great place to stay - have eaten dinner here every night and food is excellent Facilities are good with beautiful gardens . Boulbon is a pretty quiet little town with a beatiful hilltop fortress
Would return so that's the best recommendation

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This place is perfect for a quiet weekend getaway. Rooms are perfect, interior pleasant and food very good. Unfortunately we had cold and wet weather, but despite this enjoyed the time there. The pool is heated and the garden just lovely. A nice place to stay for visits to this beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went there to get away from the kids and be together, my wife and I.
The plus:
The bastide is very nice, this is an old mansion converted in a guest house.
The owners, two Belgian who decided to start a new life in Provence, are very nice and extremely helpful to tell you what to visit, how to get there etc.
The garden is small but lovely, with three beautiful incredibly tall and old trees.
The minus:
The price. I often go to 5 stars hotels, castles etc for my work. The price we paid (155€ for 2) is not justified at all. In particular since the breakfast is not included (you need to add 15€/person). The room is said to be superior, but it is like any room in a top end, low end 3/4 stars. There was no place to properly hang coats! No fridge in the room.
Breakfast is not worth the price either. You get an egg, some ham and cheese, and orange juice and some bread and croissant.
Finally, we had dinner there. Again, the food was not at the level expected. I am a fairly good cook, and I can say that the quality of the food was just OK, ie nothing out of the ordinary. Again, it was overpriced.

Apparently, they attract with many customers from Nordic countries and Anglo-Saxon world, and they don't lack customers. Hence there is no reason for decreasing the price.
Fortunately, the owners are very nice people and you feel at home. Otherwise, I would have given a very negative review.

In conclusion, you can get much better quality for the same price, or same quality for half the price in the area.
If you don't care about the price ... it is a nice place anyway.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiediem, Propriétaire at La Bastide de Boulbon, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Google Translation
Merci pour vos gentils mots à propos du cadre de l’hôtel et de notre accueil.
Vous avez séjourné une seule nuit chez nous.
Et en effet, nous avons déjà ressenti lors de votre demande de réservation quelques remarques sur nos tarifs, et cela sans connaître la bastide.
Depuis 5 ans, les prix de nos chambres n’ont pas changé.
Quant aux prestations, je peux vous certifier que nous sommes un hôtel 3 étoiles (pas une maison d’hôtes) dont les services que nous offrons aux clients sont au-dessus d’un hôtel de notre catégorie.
Toutes nos chambres disposent d’une armoire pour ranger les vêtements et d’une penderie supplémentaire où vous pouvez encore disposer de 10 cintres.
Il n’y a pas de minibar dans les chambres, la taille de notre établissement nous a fait opter pour un service dans notre salon ou sur la terrasse. En effet, dans un gîte ou une maison d’hôtes on met à la disposition de la clientèle un « frigidaire » pour stocker leur propre nourriture et boissons, mais pas chez nous.
Voici la composition de notre petit-déjeuner, dont le tarif de 15 euros est également inchangé depuis 5 ans : jus d’oranges pressées, jus d’abricots, jus de pomme, café, thé, chocolat chaud, petits pains au chocolat, croissants, baguettes, pain complet au noix, 2 sortes de confitures, 3 sortes de miel, œufs, jambon, fromage, yaourt , muesli, différents fruits … tout ceci servi à table … Aux futurs clients de notre hôtel à juger si ce prix est exagéré.
Pour le diner il y a une petite carte et chaque jour nous vous proposons un menu ‘retour du marché’. Pour 35euros (inchangé depuis 5 ans) vous avez dégustez : un amuse-bouche, / les asperges et artichauts en salade, sauce mousseline au citron / la bourride de lotte safranée, pommes de terre, fenouils et oignons confits / le moelleux au chocolat, glace à la vanille Bourbon…. La plupart de nos clients « Nordiques » et français se sont régalés.
En décrivant notre jardin comme « petit », 3000m², je me demande si vous êtes vraiment venu chez nous.
A propos, faites nous profiter ainsi qu’aux autres internautes, des adresses où l’on peut avoir une qualité supérieure au même prix ou la même qualité à moitié prix. Nous sommes toujours à l’écoute et curieux de découvrir de tels endroits !!!
Bien sûr on peut toujours critiquer et malheureusement on ne peut pas plaire à tout le monde.
Nous espérons que vous trouverez votre bonheur ailleurs.
Bien cordialement.
Jan De Mulder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Bastide de Boulbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide de Boulbon

Address: Rue de l'Hotel de Ville, 13150 Boulbon, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Boulbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Boulbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your La Bastide de Boulbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide De Boulbon Hotel Boulbon
La Bastide De Hotel Boulbon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastide de Boulbon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.