We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iloha Seaview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Iloha Seaview Hotel to your Saves list
Iloha Seaview Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pointe des Chateaux, Saint-Leu 97436, Reunion Island   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Leu
Reunion
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed in and visited quite a lot of hotels in Reunion and the ILOHA is by far the best. It is an amazing hotel with the best facilities and service on the island. Unlike most other hotels in Reunion, there was regular entertainment which is very useful when you have a family, as too were the free table tennis, free computer, free croquet, free daily English newspaper letters, free kids colouring pamphlets and a great snooker table.

We chose to stay in a typical local bungalow and it was just incredible. The room was big, the bathroom was really nice and we even had a balcony with cooking facilities. However, best of all was the view of the sea and the garden area in front of the house.

On the last day, we had a meal in the restaurant which is listed as one of the best on the island and in France. I'm used to quite bad food in restaurants but this was a real exception. It was delicious and presented well. The service in the restaurant was also very friendly and helpful. In fact, I'd go so far as to say that the staff at the ILOHA have the best customer service in any hotel in Reunion.

I really don't know why this hotel is a 3 star as they have 2 pools, a spa, an Italian restaurant, a local restaurant, an icecream bar, a drinks bar, a lounge and even a gift shop.

What made our stay even better was the recent deals so we got the 3rd night free. Having paid double the amount for a little room over a hotel car park in St Gilles the week before, I was pleasantly surprised by the ILOHA.

I can't recommend the hotel enough and I'd really suggest venturing out to discover the lovely town of St Leu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    161
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
80
193
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The staff is very nice in Iloha Hotel.But if they wish to get more non-french visitors, they have to go to an English course. You need a car there but you would anyway if you travel to Réunion. There´s a bus stop just down the road.We used it to go to St Denis and the airport. Buses are cheap (4,20 euros in 2013) and they are on time. But I´d say the Iloha hotel is very convenient for those who want to do the paragliding and other sports.
Breakfast time was ruined because of the birds that came immediately when you started eating. There were lots of them and you had to protect your food all the time. It was stressful but the breakfast itself was ok.
Otherwise the hotel was very clean and peaceful.
Somebody here recommended Chez Stephanie in St Leu and we went there for dinner. But it was awful. Very dirty,lots of flies.The food was cold and we didn´t know what it was because the two shouting ladies couldn´t any English. The meat was tough and 12 euros price was definately too much!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having been relocated by the sister Palm Hotel, and then given the wrong directions by the Palm to their sister hotel! Stopping at the Kelonia centre for directions ( definitely go), we finally found the venue. The greeting at the reception was ok only. When we advised them of the wrong directions, we had a shrug of the shoulders. We were guided to our room, which was a bungalow. No bath, separate shower/ toilet. I asked about rooms with baths, but was told it was fully booked. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and I have to say this again, in comparision to Diana Dea Lodge 5* from us, I felt we had been working backwards since.

Breakfast was ok. Coffee, tea and hot milk all from the same machine. There are 2 pools, one beside the bar/dinning/breakfast area. Another one 1 or 2 mins walk too. There is Internet in the main parts of the hotel.

We had a massage together, which we both thought was good. A washing machine which we could book to use, which to be honest was the highlight of not travelling with a load of dirty washing.

We had dinner once in the Trattoria which was ok. My other half had pasta, which was basic, and I had the lasagne which was good. The salad was lovely!

A just ok venue for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Leu, Reunion Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We 've been going to this hotel for a few years, each time for one night or 2 and it's getting better each time in term of infrastructure.
Entirely refurbished in 2011 it now has a a second part all new with a 2nd pool.
the service is correct and the cuisine can be better for the price but still it is a great place to evade for a lovely week-end...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at Iloha for 2 nights only and would have been happy to stay longer. The hotel is very elegantly decorated and the rooms are particularly comfortable. Our room had a small kitchenette on the terrace outside which was great to prepare food for our 9 month old daughter. The restaurant do take-away pizza and pasta which was also very useful.

Breakfast was a simple buffet but definitely adequate. The hot breakfast options did not look at all appetising. Lunch was excellent and good value for money.

The pool is lovely but not heated. The spa looks great although we didn't have time for a massage.

Room Tip: The hotel does have seaviews but not from all the bungalows so, if you want a seaview, make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Had been to the hotel last year for honeymoon for 4 nights. Our stay was a marvellous one. The hotel is very quiet and cosy. We had an amazing seaview from our room.The staff is helpful and always greet you with a smile. Food as well is good. I can say it's value for money. We would love to stay there again on our next visit to Reunion Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We've stayed here for 3 nights in November in a bungalow and I have to admit that the Iloha was the best place we've have been during our trip at La Réunion. The staff is very helpfull and kind especially Julien at the reception. The views from the hotel to the ocean are just wonderfull. The hotel offers a very cosy atmosphere. The architecture and style is very decorative and tastefull especially when you compare it with other hotels on the island.
Breakfast was perfect and very relaxing. We have been eaten only in the italian restaurant and the service was great and the dishes would also please to real Italians.
You feel that the hotel is ruled by a very good management!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABRICE19031969, Directeur général at Iloha Seaview Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear Sir,
I acknowledge receipt of your post and on behalf of all the team of Iloha, I would like to thank you for carrying this nice opinion about our hotel.
Our recent renovation, as well as opening a new Italian restaurant and wellness space was to reinforce and increase our customer satisfaction and it is a great pleasure to know it is successful.
As our priority is customer satisfaction, it is very important for us to provide a good quality of service and information and your kind comments will be referred to our team.
We wish you the best, and are looking forward to welcoming again soon in our hotel.
Kind regards
David PETA - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iloha Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iloha Seaview Hotel

Address: Pointe des Chateaux, Saint-Leu 97436, Reunion Island
Location: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Leu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Leu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Iloha Seaview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Iloha Seaview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iloha Seaview Saint Leu
Iloha Seaview Hotel Reunion Island/Saint-Leu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iloha Seaview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.