We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Chennai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Good rooms,clean and well maintained rooms.Not much choices on the food.Good location and well maintained surroundings make the resort worth a visit and stay.Would recommend for families

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    155
    78
    20
    25
See reviews for
188
117
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

After doing a thorough research online about the resort (which we had got in exchange for our RCI weeks), I was fully prepared for bad service and maintenance. What happened at the end of our week long stay, however, was much worse than anything I have ever faced in the hospitality sector before.

We were to leave early morning, and the night before leaving we went to settle our bill. They had told us an X amount per room per day when we checked in, and had even written it on our check-in sheet. They suddenly asked for X + 25%. We were ok with paying the extra amount since it was presumably the receptionist's error at the time of check-in. However, instead of asking politely and admitting their mistake, they started talking roughly and rudely asking us to cough up the amount. Then we got irritated and told them we will settle next morning, as we were in no mood for the harassment they were causing us. When we went to pay next morning, they started behaving even worse. Worst is that they had overnight changed all the documents to the X + 25% amount to cover up and even tore the original check-in document after snatching it from us. They had changed all the check-in documents with the increased amount but the old check-in date!

They went to the extent of calling my mother "blind". They were behaving so badly that we were quite prepared to call the cops, but decided against it since we would miss our flight. They started taunting us saying that even the Supreme Court won't be able to do anything without documentary proof. After we paid the entire X + 25% amount, they still kept talking rudely, and wouldn't let us out of the hotel gates till they were sure we did not have any documentary proof of the X amount they had quoted.

This is worse than cheating. They caused us a lot of harassment till we were in tears, for a mistake they made. That too when we were willing to pay the amount they were demanding initially, till they started misbehaving.

Regarding room maintenance - heater, geyser, electric stove etc keeps conking off. Sheets have holes, and some days they couldn't give us fresh towels till evening since they said they were short of towels! The main problem seems to be that they are SEVERELY shortstaffed. Club Mahindra next door is grand and with excellent service compared to this place. Club Mahindra probably has as much staff in a restaurant as this place has on its entire property, even though their property is quite large.

Things which were ok - food, massage, room size and cleaning staff (on being paid generous tips). However, their obnoxious behaviour overshadowed everything else, and this was a nightmarish experience which I hope never to face again.

  • Liked — Room size, massage, food in "Sadhya" restaurant at lunch
  • Disliked — Management staff, reception staff, maintenance
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I went to sterling through RCI and found that the room , a studio one, was very small... The room had no shape at all ... just a lot of corners... The room was on the second floor and that to too far from the main building. Loication was very very beautiful with a serene atmosphere..... According to the price the place was kinda OK but i had expected a lot more............. Do not book travel agency from the travel desk '.' it will tell u a minimal price at first and then will increase gradually and at a time when u have no other option than pay.. Like we went to kochi trhough a taxi provided by the resort.. We were told full cost 5300 for two days.. allepey and kochi ... later when we wanted to go to Cherai beach at KOchi which is 30 km away from the city we were told on the spot that we will have to pay extar for that...

Food was fine and the KERALA MEAL at SADHYA was very good. One night we dined at club mahindra which is just 100 mts away and saw the diference.. Though mahindra was quite expensive but definitely worth it... Do have a dinner there once......

The linen on the bed was torn and having spots whereas the blankets were of the worst quality... moreover they do not provide u a towel everyday, that's only once in 2 days....

Room service takes a lot of time and that is understable as the rooms are quite far away..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Sterling resorts in Munnar.
Located away from the hustle and bustle of the city, the resort provided a good getaway and also a wonderful place to spend our honeymoon.
The location is picturesque and the stay was a wonderful experience.
The best time to go to this place is during Winter.
The only drawback was the high priced food for which we did not have an option since there were no other restaurants nearby.
The room service was prompt and good
Overall a wonderful experience

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

I went to this place in the rainy season, and so, the view was simply beautiful.... greenery everywhere....the hot tea with their special fried item(i don't remember the name!) and the rain falling down the window sill, with a view straight out at the mountains....the rooms were pretty descent...i think this an option you should certainly consider if you are holidaying to munnar. The price is economical as well, so no pressure on your pockets either!

  • Liked — food and the view
  • Disliked — place wasn't so clean!
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We reached the Sterling Munnar resort after having a great time in Kerala house boats and Cherai resort, with great expections. And we were in for a shock ,
1) The rooms were damp and dirty.
2) The bedsheets, sofa covers were soiled and with spots of ketchup etc.
3) Other than the manager , hardly anybody could speak english. We had to struggle to communicate.
4) Frequent powercuts after almost every 2 hours for 5-6 minutes.
5) Food quality was good but the restaurant service was below average.

In short not recomended, the Club Mahindra next door was class apart.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Myself and my spouse stayed here while we were on a getaway to visit munnar and have some leisurely time. The place is just ok, nothing to really talk about. Even the food is just fine.
The overall atmosphere at the hotel is the one which pulls you down. Its so dull that every evening we would walk upto the the mahindra resorts which is close by for a drink and dinner, because the place was so much alive.
We did get a good deal and hence the reason we picked this. If you are just using this as a stay it works, but if you are gonna spend considerable time at the hotel, then reconsider your choice.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Greens is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.