We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort to your Saves list
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Chennai
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed there for a week during October. Excellent location. Breathtaking view of the hills, Very good trained staff. Place has been completely renovated and rooms are in very good condition. Food was very good (though pricing slightly on the higher side)October- December a very pleasant time to visit.

Room Tip: In case you are travelling only as a couple, opt for the smaller rooms, ( I think they are called gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    155
    79
    20
    25
See reviews for
188
117
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vellore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in this Resort for 3 days. Very nice experience.Newly furnished apartments with good staff. It is 15 km away from Munnar city. But very nice place. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant.. Very Good place to take rest. We got pleasant weather during the end of september month.

Room Tip: Well furnished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

location is sterling.
in the mountains, very peaceful. place is landscaped nicely too. rooms were good since they were all renovated recently. given the way sterling maintains its properties, it is quite likely that this place will become dumpy in a few years, so now is the time to visit.
there is a lake close by (annay-yerang dam or something like that but translates to elephants coming down). that lake is visible from sterling itself. it is as yet an undiscovered gem and just a 10 minute drive from sterling. highly worth a visit, the resort folks can tell you how to get there. it was beautiful, scenic, peaceful and all the related adjectives. the lake is fringed with mountains and occasionally elephants stop by to quench their thirst. fortunately or unfortunately that did not happen when we visited.
food is sterling is good, service was reasonable. the place definitely helps you unwind. they also have an activity room which my son (3 yrs old) enjoyed a lot. they have lots of entertainment options for all age groups. there was a bunch of supremely talented crooners the first night who were belting tamil songs on a karaoke machine. they should have been booked for murdering those songs, or maybe they helped keep the monkeys at bay.
sterling folks will keep insisting that 4 people can share a single bedroom. thats a lie, comfortable for 2 adults plus one kid. only way to fit in 4 people is if they are 2 siamese twins. so repel their efforts to stuff 4 of you into one room.
the kitchenette did not have a hot pan or induction stove, the major reason we got a single bedroom apt. it has a fridge, microwave, electric kettle and pots and pans. for some reason, sterling thinks that this makes them special and keep reminding you that you can make your own coffee in your room.
the travel desk is very helpful and set us up with all our travel needs. the scenery outside is really great, so i don;t quite understand people who gripe about the views from the room. all you need to do is take 10 steps and you will have great views.
we definitely want to go back, maybe during monsoon, when all the waterfalls are roaring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on our property. We have noted down your feedback on kitchenette. We assure you that we will look into it and take the necessary actions.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location of the resort is awesome ,though i must say it takes a good long drive to reach it .But the journey itself is through the tea plantations which is a breathtaking view . We went there on our anniversary and had an amazing time staying in the cottage with valley view.The room and bathroom standards can still be improved upon as it is quite basic and not luxurious stay .

The staff is very courteous and helpful ! We stayed for 3 days and the food was good with different options on each day for veg and non -veggies .The chef especially made our trip memorable by surprising us with artistically decorated , yummy deserts !
You can do lot of activities in the resort like rifle shooting , indoor games and rope games(especially for kids) . We had fun doing the rappling and zummering on the large rock within the premise in the resort .Night safaris are also arranged for animal lovers The jeep safari to the anaimudi hill and konakumalia tea factory has a gorgeous view ! Not to forget the authentic kerela massage with oils which is done here was quite refreshing ..
The take home message is its not a 5 star property.. but if you want to have a relaxing, nature trip with some adventure , good food and hospitality experience then go for it as sterling will make this a memorable trip for u ..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, Chhattisgarh, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Booked a regular cottage for us (1 couple).
Newly renovated resort.
Nice cottage with very good vally view provided.
Welcomg staff & prompt fomalities.
Gold car provided to reach us to our room.
Spacious room with living & dining room attached.
Clean linens & quees size bed.
Microwave oven with few but useful utensils provided in the cottage.
Nice spacious cottage.
Good reception area with nicely done garden infront on it.
Lot of fun activities conducted in resort for guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage room with valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location is on Valley 22 km. above munnar But hardly 10% of room must be having view of valley. Our room was so badly located it had three windows and unfortunately all three windows where facing another apartment ruining Privacy. Looking at the planning this Must be true for almost all rooms. Imagine you go to Hill Station all the way from Mumbai to Kerala and you have to stay with all windows closed & No View of even a tree. Room was nice & Big with good Furnishing & Accessories. Kitchenette was seemed to be well equipped.Bathroom Though big it really needs renovation.
Reception and other public areas were so crowded you feel like you have come to some ST Bust Stand. Fortunately Room service were good. Staff at all the places were good co-operative always willing to help bearing one or two exception. Play area were Library (?), table tennis table,carrom etc. was in very poor state. Sofas kept there were literally stinking.
One Cabinet in poor shape with few books (must be the left overs by tourist) and even in bad condition than that of cabinet, they call it Library.
Restaurant food was ok i.e. not good not bad.
some repetition at restaurant made us think leftovers of last meal used in next meal. desserts were good except we took three dinner and every time Ice cream was Vanilla flavoured.
All activities were concentrated at one place which they need to scatter or atleast give more area to it. (but this might be the problem of full peak period).

Room Tip: Stay only if you get room on front side building. back side cottages have no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays. We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on the maintenance of our rooms, quality of service and our staff's behaviour. Meanwhile, we have noted down your feedback on the maintenance of our play area, F&B services and crowding at certain areas in the resort. We assure you that we will look into it and take the necessary actions.

We thank you for taking the time to let us know your views and please be assured that we are making the changes that will showcase our property in a way that earns your appreciation. We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

It was a better than expected stay at Sterling Resort, sterling Holidays had gifted me a 2 nights voucher to try out their resort, which I happily accepted.
To reach Munnar, which is the worst part, 4 hrs drive is compulsory whether you opt to reach by air or by rail.
Upon reaching, I was shown my room quickly, which was very nice, all equipments were nice qualiy and staff seemed helpful.
Lot of sightseeing options are available, tea gardens, tea museum, spice gardens, wild life tours and very beauiful water falls.
Resort conducts daily getogether and some events every evening, there are also a variety of options to destress like pool table, PS3, Wii, Ping Pong etc though not all are free.
There is no Internet option in rooms, there are some PCs kept at a common location which can be used on payment.
During my stay the credi card machine was not working, the nearest ATM is 1 Km away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: Chinnakanal 685612, India (Formerly Sterling Holidays Green Vistas Munnar)
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Greens is nestled within undulating hills in the quiet village of Chinnakanal, some 18 kms from the hustle and bustle of Munnar town. The resort is located high above the Munnar town with splendid views of the Anaiyirangal Dam, tea gardens and surrounding forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Sterling Resort Munnar
Sterling Hotel Munnar
Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munnar - Terrace Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.