We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of its 5 stars” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Munnar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Munnar to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Munnar
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not worthy of its 5 stars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great location, great views, but it can't see how this hotel deserves it's 5 star rating. Inattentive staff who couldn't care less. We arrived at 2.30pm and we were left to find our own way to the restaurant. All we wanted was a light snack for lunch so we walked into the restaurant and we were ignored by all the staff. We asked for the menu and we we're told there was just a buffet available, so we helped ourselves to a small snack, but later we were charged £9 each for a full buffet lunch. We complained, but got nowhere. Later we found out that there was an a-la-carte restaurant next door which might have suited us better, but nobody pointed it out to us, and later we found that it has a very limited menu and is over-priced. We had a noisy room (traffic noise outside during the day, loud music in the front garden in the evening, loud plumbing noises in the room when the boiler fires up at 6.00am, noisy fellow guests in the corridors). No a/c in the room - only a ceiling fan. No heating in the room except an ancient fan heater. The shower was shabby and dirty. The minibar was empty, but that didn't matter as the fridge didn't work anyway. No room service menu. No swimming pool. No gardens to speak of. AVOID.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Simon,

We are really sorry for the unpleasant experiences you have faced and can assure you this is not typical of our staff. Having read your comments, as an organization, we strive hard to ensure a great experience to all our members and realize have fallen short of the same on this occasion. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. We also request you to provide any further information or feedback that you might have on our Facebook page at the “Listening Post” tab. Additionally, we also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    280
    56
    22
    17
See reviews for
372
210
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked a one bedroom along with a HU. The one BR units are good but all of them entail a slight climb. If you are at the top, the shuttle could pick and drop you. But if you are on the mid level of the hill, you better have good lungs and stamina to run up and down.
Good things:
-Clean, spacious, aesthetic accommodation.
-Great views
-The cottages are made in such a way that there is ample privacy and quietness when required
-The views of Anayirankal lake, down in the valley are beautiful
-The property is bustling with people checking in and out, which makes it a sought after property as well as a chirpy place
-The activity center had a daily planned schedule of activities every night. Though I was not a regular, but I do know of some people who were quite hooked to the karaoke night, dance night, tambola night etc
-The food buffet is impressive. We mostly had breakfast and dinners. Good variety, freshly cooked. Ample food options for everyone. A bar with limited selection of drinks too.
-Beautiful deck to grab meals and just relax
-Cab station for pre paid cabs is at the gate of the hotel.
The property is well kept, updated and clean. I however think that the bathroom fittings could be newer and nicer. Hot water posed a slight bit of an issue because after the first person bathed, there was no hot water.
The staff is the best I have come across in any hotel, resort or place I have stayed at. Ever smiling, ready to help and happy. I will return to relax.

Room Tip: 60+ in age, please see that your room is either in the main building or at the top most end. Anywher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience but also the dining experience and the evening activities at our resort. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Furthermore, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We reached the hotel on 8th. and checked out on 10th. Feb. The drive from Cochin airport took us approx. 4 hours. The last part of the drive from Munnar town to the hotel was approx 20 kms which we covered through a steeper but shorter route since the regular way was blocked for road maintainence.

Once reaching our destination at about 4.30pm we were lucky to watch the sun set in the hills and its rays fade through the tea estates that amazed us from the balcony view of our hill top room.

We checked into the ausum property of club Mahindra which offers only room without any meals.
The reataurant is highly priced but Mallus are smart. There is a local restaturant offering north and south indian food which is good and cheap. Besides this there are some local grocery shops and ayurvedic massage centre at walking distance from this property.

On the 9th. we drove to Munnar town, Tata Tea factory and a nearby Dam which we didn't get off at since it was dry and we weren't interested in spending time near the lake. Instead we drove back to the hotel, en route picked up fresh carrots. Once at the hotel by 3.30 pm we took the jungle walk up the mountain to the sita devi lake. The locals say there are wild elephants and its not very safe but its not that risky aswel. Normally they recoment to walk between 8-5 pm but we returned by 6 pm and had no problem. I personally recommend to hire a local villager from the village en route up. You can pay them Rs. 200 instead pay the hotel Rs. 300/person.

On the 10th. we checked out and drove to the spice garden en route to Kumarakom.

Overall hotel expereicene for service, room and stay was very comformtalbe. The room service, house keeping staff were prompt and quick.

Over satisfied.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Gagan,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Munnar resort. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. like. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the ambience but also the dining experience and hope you liked the activities at our resort. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Furthermore, your points regarding the food prices at the resort have been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management on priority. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I am in love with mountains so I was dieing to reach Munnar, the moment we set out for Kerala. The Club Mahindra property at Munnar is indeed excellent....especially the view from our cottage was just heavenly. The cottage was cosy with a small kitchenette. The resort staffs were courteous and service was not bad though a bit delayed because of the distance they had to travel to serve us, in case we ordered for room service. The view from the balcony was something that left me spellbound.....the view of the lake, the sunrise was simply marvelous.Often we would not take the car service and walk down the hilly path till the main building and it was a real good exercise.Munnar itself is so green......the journey through the mountains was beautiful. We felt like stopping at every corner to take a click.We pampered ourselves with the famous Kerala massage and it was so very relaxing. The trip to Eravikulam National Park, Maatupetty Dam, Kundale Lake was also nice.Enjoyed the spped boat ride at Kundale Lake.The spice gardens were interesting too.In short, Munnar was a worthwhile visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked the view from the cottages and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Ask for cottages/rooms that promise an infinity view of the tea plantations and the picturesque mountains and lake. For urban junkies, this resort has plenty to help unwind. From rappelling to putt-putt golf or fabulous Ayurvedic treatments in the spa, one can spend the entire day without having to leave the resort.

The staff are well trained and quite adept with communication. Food is good, provided you opt for the buffet. The ala carte menu is exorbitant.

Ps: If you are an airtel customer prepare yourself for a few days of data-free time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Munnar. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the sports activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Furthermore, your points regarding the food prices at the resort have been duly noted and will be shared with the resort management on priority. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had gone with My Wife for 3 days stay in Jan 2014 End and I must say it was the finest stay of our entire Kerala tour, It has a unique location which is a real treat whenever you step out of your room, also the stay, Service & comfort was exceptional in all sense, only part which was offbeat was the expensive food and beverages in the hotel restaurant. Rest all is just Awesome... Enjoyed my stay..

Room Tip: All rooms have goodView
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi Nirav,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our resort staff will be absolutely thrilled to know that you enjoyed the ambience at our resort and would be delighted to receive your compliments. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We reached there in afternoon, we were welcomed by delicious welcome drink. We were provided studio room with kitchenette. Room was well equipped, cleaned and maintained.

View from balcony was amazing, I am uploading picture of the same with the review. Room service was good.

Thing that we didn't like was:
On the second day of our arrival there was cab strike in Keral, so people stayed in resort don't have option of going out to town and have lunch/dinner. I don't know whether it was intentional or not, but keeping that in mind resort staff have prepared 3 time meal offer for guest, I found it way too expensive compare to other same level hotels. I personally think it was not fair to set/raise price in such cases.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Munnar. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Munnar

Address: Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Mahindra Munnar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Club Mahindra Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Hotel Mahindra Lakeview Munnar
Club Mahindra Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.