We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort – Architectural Beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Munnar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Munnar to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Munnar
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort – Architectural Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Munnar is one of best tourist attractions in Kerala. Beautiful scenery, excellent weather, greenery, mist – it is nature at its best.

Lake view resort is an amazing property. It is constructed in such a way that it matches the profile of the land and looks splendid in its not so common color paint. When combined with the beauty of the hill and greenery, it is a visual treat.

One thing that needs special mention is the warm welcome on arrival. Club Mahindra has a typical way of welcoming guests. That is great and I like it !

The Resort is far away from Munnar town but that doesn’t matter because who wants to be in a town when you are on a vacation? most of the attractions in Munnar are away from town anyways. The resort is huge and requires internal transpiration to commute from one place to other. The restaurant is in the main entrance hall and the resorts are a bit away but they do have a very effective and well managed internal transportation system.

There are also a lot of activities indoor and outdoor organized by the resort.

The restaurant is also great – food is really nice. Live kitchen is available and the restaurant staff are very courteous and customer friendly.

Great service, excellent food, spacious rooms, amazing location – Lake View Munnar is one of the best resorts I have been to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Manoj,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Munnar resort. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Additionally, our staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    311
    64
    26
    18
See reviews for
420
242
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My name is Arun Basrur and I live with my family in Sharjah. I am also a Club Mahindra member (on the recommendation of my younger brother). So every year, on my annual visit to India (in , I spend 1 week in any of Cub Mahindra's properties in India or abroad (of course I have to do the reservation earlier).

This time around, it was Kerala - Munnar, Thekkady and Ashtamudi.

Over the years, my loyalty to Club Mahindra has only increased because of their top-class properties, the food at their restaurants and the overall experience.

We (my parents, wife, son and I) flew to Cochin from Mumbai at 10.35 am (one can reach there by road or rail also) where I had (earlier - over the internet) booked for a Toyota Innova with driver for 8 days (cost me just Rs.17000.00).

The car drove us to our first stop - Munnar. It took us all of 6 hours to reach Munnar from Cochin (although the distance was not much, it was the terrain which was time-consuming).
But what awaited us there made the drive worth the while !!!

Club Mahindra Lakeview is a Gold Crown property of the Mahindras and is situated AMONG the tea estates (and when we went there it was raining and the tea leaves there had not been removed - so it was beautiful)!!

We had booked 2 rooms (one for my parents and the other for the 3 of us). When I went to the reception with my confirmation voucher, they told me that the 2 rooms are quite far apart (and this property is quite big). I was immediately adamant that we needed rooms close by to each other or better still adjacent. So they upgraded me to a 1-bedroom unit which was touching the room they had booked for my parents (so the start itself was great)!!!!!

The rooms we got had an amazing view (the fog - due to the high altitude and the rain) only magnified the beauty !!

Our daily routine was to start the day at around 8.00 am by going to the restaurant for breakfast (my son is a huge fan of the food in Club Mahindra hotels as am I). We would then go for sightseeing with our Toyota Innova. Lunch invariably was at one of the hotels in town. Back in the hotel by 3.00 - 4.00 pm, we would be greeted by rooms which had been done up by the housekeeping staff (and they would make some animal / bird out of the towels - snaps attached) !! A quick afternoon siesta and we would be up by 6.00 pm. At 7.00 pm on most days, they have some activities or the other (especially for children) or there was the clubhouse so we would spend our time there till 8.00 - 8.30 pm when we would come back to our rooms and get ready for dinner (again at the restaurant). After a sumptuous dinner, we would be back t our rooms (the rooms were quite a distance from the restaurant so the hotel people had 24-hour shuttle services to ferry people around). Watch some TV (every room has cable-connected TV) and by 11.00 pm - time for bed.

We stayed in Munnar for a total of 3 days but if we had time, we would definitely have loved to stay longer (the experience was so amazing, incredible, awesome) !!!!

I would definitely recommend this place to people who want to enjoy a nice, quite holiday nestled in mother nature (believe me)!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main hotel building are the typical hotel rooms. It is the rooms which are away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Arun,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A very nice resort. All the rooms are pretty far from the reception. You may have to take the shuttle service provided by the resort as climbing can be difficult. The resort is well maintained and nice. Rooms are also nice depending upon the room you get. I was lucky enough to get the full wooden villas at the topmost part of the resort. the rooms very simple amazing. The food in this resort is expensive as other restaurants are too far and all the attractions are far from the place. If you go anywhere be it sight seeing shopping or safari you will spend minimum of 4-6 hours in going down and again coming up to the resort plus the additional distance depending upon the activity.

The resort's shop is not at all equipped so better carry all stuff you may want. There is no badminton court. Only indoor sports such as air hockey table tennis and fuss-ball and a few video games. There is no swimming pool also.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the top of the resort area. Preferably room no 1171 if you are looking room for 4 adul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi Ankit,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Munnar. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A quiet location but a very happening resort. Idea for couples as well as family. Very courteous staff with excellent service. A perfect place to enjoy and unwind. It would have been better if internet connectivity was provided in room also instead of just the activity centre. Arrangements for pick up from rooms are proper.

Room Tip: Keep a vehicle with you. It would come to almost the same thing as pick up and drop. Photon does no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Munnar. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our accommodation and enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

To begin with, the location though far from core Munnar, was just brilliant, the drive up to the resort was simply breath-taking, through the mist, mountains and the deepest greens of the tea estates around! Being the 1st and the oldest resort of Club Mahindra, it does appear jaded and old but the other facets of the resort, be it cleanliness, staff, service, food, fun activities more than make up for it! For me, the most heartening aspect was that my family (parents, wife, brother and mother in law) had a wonderful time here. The time around mid august was perfect weather wise, not too rainy, not to crowded, not too sunny and it presented beautiful range right through! The mountain views were enchanting and soothing to our minds! Highly recommended..

Room Tip: Chose rooms on the higher floors on the mountain side for amazing views up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hi Ritwik,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Munnar resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the accommodation and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon. Please do share your experience with us and other members on our “Share The Love” tab on our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great property, beautiful location and very peaceful. Service was prompt. Just one thing and this goes for all Club Mahindras that there is internet available only in the activity centre. Would prefer if it was available in the room too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Munnar. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked our property and hope you enjoyed the various activities at the resort and our staff will be delighted to receive your appreciation. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice will be shared with the resort management on priority. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I recently stayed for 2 days with my family. It was a wonderful experience. I wish I may have stayed longer. All the amenities provided in resort was good but food was very expensive and location was around 20kms away from Munnar City and road is not safe for driving after sunset but you have to scarifice to have a excellent view of paradise. But apart from Stay it was toooooooo expensive to eat at restaurant. They have lot of disparity in rates if you are not there member so be cautious and do get your food packed before reaching the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, Manager at Club Mahindra Munnar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hi Anuj,

Thank you for your feedback and glad that you enjoyed your stay at our resort at Munnar. We are also hoping that you can stay longer on your next visit with your family ! Your inputs regarding the restaurant prices have been duly noted and shared with the resort management and with regards to the location, our resort at Munnar is located away from the city to provide the much required respite to the vacationers. That said, we have shared your feedback and please do continue to provide us such points as it helps us understand what is important for our guests and thus also provides us opportunities to improve our services further. Looking forward to welcoming you at our resorts and in case you wish to share any other details, request you to visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Munnar

Address: Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Mahindra Munnar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Mahindra Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Hotel Mahindra Lakeview Munnar
Club Mahindra Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.