We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Abort Abort Abort :|” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Munnar

Save Saved
You added Club Mahindra Munnar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Munnar
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Chinnakanal
Chandigarh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Avoid Abort Abort Abort :|”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Five minutes before I entered the resort, I was planning to buy a Club Mahindra membership with my wife. And 15 minutes into it, I knew I was NEVER going in for it. A part of it had to do with the expectations, but a large part to the kind of accommodation this resort offers, and the overall quality of facilities.

The arrival was non-descript - the lobby lights were switched on when we entered the resort and the whole place gave a deserted appearance. The room allocated was at the far end of the property, overlooking the drivers' dorm and completely dark at night. The room itself would be classified as a 2* category (the explanation given was that this block hadn't been renovated in over a decade). After spending 2-3 hours with the management, we were promised another room the next day. But it did spoil the mood and the overall facilities and lack of planning in the resort's architecture did nothing to uplift the spirits.

To be fair, the location of the resort is one of the best you'll find - the sheer stone rock-face at the back and tea-gardens at the front, with a view of the lake does seem like something. Just that this resort seems to be poorly-managed, with average 2* facilities - certainly not worth the hype and definitely not a 4* property as you come to expect reading about the resort.

So, is there a better place to stay in Munnar, if not Club Mahindra? I wouldn't know - try checking with your friends and family - but certainly avoid this one!

Room Tip: Try haggling for a better room with valley view, nearer to the reception areas. The rooms at the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    245
    51
    21
    13
See reviews for
335
192
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My family and relatives(who are also Club Mahindra Members) had been to your Munnar Resort during 2-6th October 2012. I would like to share my holiday experience with you. My co-brother's family who were accompanying us had visited your resort few years back as they're also members and had really praised your resort. But like us, they too were heavily diappointed this time. I feel if the resort doesn't improve, it would be no longer worthy of being called a Gold Crown Resort.

Positives:
The resort is beautifully located and well-maintained.
Staff at reception are courteous and helpful.
Negatives:

The studio apartments are very small in size and cannot comfortably accomodate 3 adults. Your Kumbalgarh resort in Rajasthan has more spacious rooms. We were disappointed looking at the room size as we thought they would be of the size at Kumbalgarh. We had to convert one into a 1BR later.
Newspapers were not supplied daily. Only on the 1st day. And on the day of checkout, we were refused newspaper at the reception(when the resort had not delivered newspaper on the other days of our stay).
The grocery store has only biscuits, juices and noodles. No provisions like rice, dal, cooking oil, vegetables etc. like we saw in your other resorts. A kitchenette is provided in the rooms, but one cant make use of it at all to cook any food as no provisions are available at your resort grocery store. One is forced to eat at your restaurant at exhorbitant rates. Providing the kitchenette is deceptive. The grocery store can't be called 'grocery' store.
Wifi needs to be extended to all rooms and cottages. Considering that the cottages are far away from the reception area, it becomes an ordeal to wait for shuttle service or walk down all the way for internet use.
Activity centre at your resort is the worst I've seen so far at all your resorts. No good activities were organised. The organiser couldn't communicate clearly(pronunciation was not clear at all and he couldn't take control of the crowd). We had requested many times for organising a DJ night before our checkout, but they didn't do it claiming that it is organised only on Sunday. Prizes weren't given to winners. Also, the movie CDs collection is terrible. I have seen better day and night activities organised at your Nawalgarh and Kumbalgarh resorts.
We were charged Rs.2000 extra for extra bed charges. We were 11 adults and had booked two 1BR apartments and 1 STU. So that was meant for 11 adults totally. We were initially told by the resort staff that taking an extra bed or not wouldn't make a difference, so we asked for one as my family is of 5members. I am totally shocked that you people try to charge your customers like me who has made an upfront full payment for my membership for a petty thing like extra bed,and that too when we have rooms booked enough for 11 adults.
Most of all, were were hugely disappointed with the restaurant food. The food was not at all upto the mark like what we've had in your Rajasthan resorts. We had read good reviews about the food at your Munnar property, but it was definitely not worth the praise. The choice of items in the buffet was bad, deserts were not that good, the food lacked seasoning and was also heavily lacking on spice.

Room Tip: 1BR apartments have spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Resort is everything you expect it to be, Great location , superb rooms and good food. Gives you a great value for money. We stayed in the newly renovated studio apartment rooms. Came with a fairly large kitchenette a living area with a balcony and a large bedroom which opens out towards the lake.

We loved the rooms and it made for a quiet break what we were exactly looking for. The kitchenette is also well equipped , we did use it when we were bored of eating the same lunch spread. There was a store right opposite to the room we stayed, where daily supplies were stocked. A good option when you do not want to eat at the restaurant everyday for all your meals. The activities offered are also decent though it seems crowded all the time. Didn't try out any of the jungle adventures or anything. But we had a quiet break for three days and got back to routine refreshed.

Definitely a good choice to consider if you need a good break with a great location & resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Munnar Club Mahindra location is perhaps one of their best in the country , if not the best. The place is about 20 KM away from main Munnar town and that is good as Munnar town is too crowded. Yes there are not many things immediately around Club Mahindra place but one does not need anything as long as you are ready to enjoy the serene surroundings and green tea plantations around. Taxi folks are available to take you around. Food can be in their restaurant where service is great, spread is good but quality is very good but not extraordinary. Alternative is we were in a one bedroom apartment where minimum cooking was possible.
We traveled in end September ad it was perfect. Rains had just stopped and it was green all around. Though we visited several tourist attractions, the best we liked was lazing around at the Club Mahindra location.

Room Tip: Try their one bedroom / stdio cottages that are away from Reception/ Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A nicely laid out hotel with beautiful views down the tea bush covered hills. Room cleaniess was not up to scratch and the tolilet constantly smelt. There was an awful swell of sewarge at the front of the hotel which was off putting also. Good facilities for entertainment (especially kids) and an average equipped Gym. Really cheap laundry so a good spot to get some done if touring. Food quite good and a nice bar. One of the big downsides is it is 20 plus km from all the things you might what to see and do in Munnar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place located at Chinnakanal in the Periakanal Tea Estate of Kanan Devan Hills Plantations (KDHP) holds an mystical and magical charm. Far from the maddening crowd (yes, Munnar is now a maddening crowd), secluded and peacefully overlooking a lake, this is one of the finest Club Mahindra resorts in India.
This was the 2nd visit to Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar and the 3rd visit to Munnar. As compared to the first visit to Munnar in 1998, the Munnar town has changed significantly. There are traffic jams near the local market, wherein there were no traffic signals in 1998. Those days, Munnar was not really popular with many holidayers and the preferred options were Ooty and Kodaikanal. With these 2 hill stations getting over crowded and highly commercialized, the holiday crowd has moved to Kerala and to Munnar since 3-4 years.

The location of Club Mahindra Munnar is pure bliss. Set amidst a tea plantation with greenery all around, there is thick mist right from 6.00 in the evening till 9.00 in the morning. This place is one of the rare few in Munnar which has mist throughout the year. The experience of having a hot cup of local tea, sitting in your balcony and watching cusps of mist rolling into your rooms is mystical and magical. Advisable to carry light woolen, if travelling with children or elderly.

The rooms are done up exceptionally well. Local material is used abundantly. I stayed in a 1BR unit which was really high up and going up / coming down to the restaurant itself proved to be an exercise for the lungs more than adequately compensated by the mist and the fresh air. The rooms in all aspects are sheer luxury. I was impressed with the quality of genuine teak planks used for the flooring and the rosewood furniture.

The restaurant as usual is 1-up from any other Club Mahindra resorts, I’ve been to. The spreads are of good quality, variety, taste and visually appealing. Visit this restaurant after a meal and one will still end up having something.

The warmth of the resort team is unparallel. No doubt, this place has been accredited with the RCI Gold Crown year after year. The entire team will go beyond expected to deliver exceptional service and with a smile. Even the security staff is caring and pro-active. On check-out, my driver inadvertently left behind a parcel at the lobby and realized his mistake at Kochi airport. Just a call was good enough for that parcel to be delivered back to me.

Sightseeing in Munnar was not a great experience since it was too crowded and water levels at most of the lakes were at their lowest. There were maddening crowds at Madupatty for boating and Kundala was closed for all activities. Eravikulam Wildlife sanctuary is another sad story. This was entirely shocking as I had spotted a herd of wild elephants in 2007 at Madupatty during boating and a flock of over 100 Nilgiri Tahr in 1998 at Eravikulam.

Visit to the Tea factory was like a memory refresher of sorts. They’ve added a short film on the history of Munnar which was interesting. Earlier, fresh tea could be purchased from every estate. This is now changed and teas from all estates as available at the KDHP shop near the main market. Other shopping items can be fresh spices from various shops in the market. Try bananas of atleast half a dozen varieties and local passion fruit if you are adventurous in eating.

Do visit the Saravana Bhavan restaurant near the Bus stand in the main market, to have authentic South Indian stuff, though I don't believe that this one in Munnar is the same as in Chennai. However, the stuff doled out is good.

Noticeable change in Munnar was the commercialization. There are veg. restaurants (such as Mahavir Bhojnalaya) everywhere serving Marwari, Gujarati and Jain cuisine, an adaptation to the holidayer segment from Western India. There is one such Mahavir Bhojnalaya located at a 2 minute walk from Club Mahindra Munnar and we being vegetarians were tempted. We tried it once and the experience was good. The taste is authentic Marwari and hygiene levels are reasonable. Cost per meal is reasonable and the change was welcome.

Hordes of local people (from central Kerala and parts of Tamilnadu) packed in buses, mini buses and private or tourist taxis descend onto Munnar every weekend and leave scattered water-bottles, disposable plates and excess food all over the tourist spots. This is appalling and destruction of the fragile ecology. Due to excessive commercialization, mushrooming of small hotels, local handicraft stalls and roadside eateries, all tourist spots are crowded and there is nothing called off-season or lull season. Munnar is possibly going the Ooty way and the local government must act fast else the destruction is irreversible.

Temperature levels have risen due to high commercial activities and one can spot AC units in most of the hotels and restaurants which were a rare sighting 10 years ago.

Overall, still another 4-5 years for Munnar to be known as a commercial town. Till then, be there to enjoy the mist and magic available in places like Club Mahindra Lakeview.

Room Tip: 1BR and 2BR on a higher altitude will have the best mists rolling in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iRELAND
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The trip up to club mahindra is an amazing one - getting you 8000metres above sea level with amazing views of the tea plantations. I dont want to give club mahindra an unfair review as I feel it was not what our travel agent should have booked for us so this should hopefully help "foreigners" to India rather than locals who seem to be fully aware of what it is! Myself and my husband were on atour of Kerala, staying mainly in cgh earth hotels. So Club mahindra was a bit of a shock to us- it is an activity centre with accommodation- so fantastic if you have kids and want to spend the days trekking etc- not so much us! We were given a room in the main building which I have to admit was very basic- more like a hostel and the shower didn't work- despite two calls and one visit to reception it was never fixed and we had to resort to washing in the sink! On the plus side, the food was fantastic and the restaurant staff were really nice even suggesting food for us. I would issue a warning to be aware that this is not a "luxury hotel" as we were led to believe but rather a handy stop over on your journey through munnar. In saying tthat, a working shower is vital in any room no matter how basic and this is the reason for the average rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Mahindra Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Munnar

Address: Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chinnakanal
#3 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Mahindra Munnar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Club Mahindra Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Hotel Mahindra Lakeview Munnar
Club Mahindra Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.