We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King of the Hills” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Mahindra Munnar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Club Mahindra Munnar to your Saves list
Club Mahindra Munnar
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“King of the Hills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

At 8000 ft above sea level, nestled amidst the hilly ranges of Munnar covered with tea gardens all around, lies the Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar resort. Being one of the oldest of their resorts, it comprises mainly of period cottages spread across the sloping landscape, each with great views from the balconies. Well furnished and maintained, the 1-B suite we stayed was both spacious and good enough for the vacation.

We enjoyed the winding trails to walk around and explore both within and outside with the Power House waterfall only a short distance away. The resort itself is well equipped with Activity centre for indoor games and events, Play area for kids, adventure sports, a giant chess board, a grocery shop etc which are handy. A mini library has also been incorporated and hopefully will be more functional in future. Due to limited availability of land, currently, there is not much scope for outdoor play/events. However the Resort Services Manager informed us that they had acquired another 5 acres of land nearby and plan to enhance the experience within the next 2 yrs.

Food at the restaurant is as good as one can find at any 5-star hotel - enough variety and great on taste - from Continental to Chinese, as well as the South and North Indian menus on offer. Special brand events like Banyan Tree festivals etc are also organized for interested audiences. Staff service was ok - though there seemed to be some tight-lippedness on transparency of schemes and rates for members and non-members, esp. by the Restaurant Manager. The junior staff and the cooks manning the tandoor were warm and friendly.
The Ayurveda center is apparently Olive Leaf certified by the Govt. of Kerala and offers both wellness and healthcare specific services like Shirodhara etc.
The variety of flora and fauna within the resort, including the vegetable/fruit garden near the adventure sports arena add to the pleasure of exploring the place at leisure. Since it was the peak of the monsoon, the drive to and from the place, the stay and the sightseeing visits across the hills, countryside etc. have a charm of their own in this season.

Potential improvements:
1. better coordination between staff
2. Facilities for some outdoor games/events
3. modernization of services offered like (a) provisioning of wi-fi/internet service not just in the activity centre, but within each of the cottages. (b) replacing analog cable TV service with about 10 view-able channels to digital cable service. In the cities, the switch to digital cable has happened without any change in tariff.
4. Better equipped library with more books and CD/DVDs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    280
    57
    22
    17
See reviews for
373
212
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Munnar is a small hill station in KERALA India with wonderful nature vistas all around. amongst the hills is a beautiful small compact resort of Club Mahindra's at Munnar, nestled amongst Tea Gardens. The greenry around the place and beautiful walks around it is what makes it a perfect destination for a quiet weekend spending. Staff is courteous and helpful and the facilities compare with the best in the world.

Room Tip: ask for a valley view room at 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Club Mahindra has build a top class resort at Munnar but failed to recruit the staffs up to the standard. I stayed there for only for 2 nights and felt why I booked here ?? The staffs were so rude and I thought to leave room after my first day. I dont want to mention their names but like to mention they should treat the members like members. The front office should understand they are the face of the Resort.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paratwada, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We came, We saw, We feel, and………………… Club Mahindra won.
Ya Club Mahindra won.
Club Mahindra wins our heart, our soul n moreover our Trust, our confidence and
our faith too.
We realy feel proud to be member of Club Mahindra.
We Stayed at Munnar fr 02.06.12 to 05.06.12 and at Tekkadi 05.06.12.
We enjoy excellent hospitality and excellent service.
MUNNAR:
Pros:
1. Excellent Resort
2. Excellent Hospitality
3. Excellent cleanness
Cons:
Though no any area to complaint about, except following incident at Munnar.
On 4th june evening when we show our willingness to give our feedback and ask password required to enter our feedback to person in charge at reception, He denied to give password and told us to enter our feedback next morning after chaeckout. On the next morning after checking out we again request to issue password, but person incharhge told us that we cannot enter our feedback as we have already checked out. We don’t understand why these people want to deprived us from opportunity to give our feedback.
THEKKADY:
Pros:
1. Excellent Resort
2. Excellent Hospitality
3. Too polite staff
Cons:
The only area where more attention is required is Cleanness in the open area. We are not complaining, and it may be due to fact we have visited to Munnar Club Mahindra just a day earlier. At Munnar once the rain came for shortwhile. As soon as rain stop, work to clean premises, (specially stairs in the open area) got started. Such type of eagerness n early action not seen at Thekkady.
But………………. Staff from Thekkady is too polite and too helpful. Incharge at reception, travel desk, Member relationship, Sports activity centre, spa centre, activity centre , restaurant and and and all are too helpful, too polite.
You can say facilities at Munnar are at Best and Employees Incharge at Thekkady are at Best.

THE MATTER OF CONCERN FOR STRICT VEGETARIANS:
For strict vegetarians who hesitate to have a food from combine kitchen, It concerns to have a food from club mahindra's food restaurant.Due to this problem you may miss the taste of wonderful food offered from Club Mahindra. Its my humble request to Club Mahindra Management to have a separate kitchen for Veg and Non Veg food. I think Club Mahindra also not feel happy if any of their member be deprived of the food offered by themselves.

The unforgettable instance at Thekkady Club Mahindra Restaurant:
At the Club Mahindra restaurant during our visit to Thekkady all are enjoying the food except me. Seeing this Restaurant incharge Mr CHANDER KUMAR SINGH enquired me. I told him that I nevar eat a food from combined Kitchen. Knowing that he arrange a dish of SUKHA ALU and some snacks prepared at outside stall infront of us. I never forget his kindness and goodness. Too much thanks too Mr CHANDER KUMAR SINGH.
At last we want to say that we have enjoyed Wonderful holidays at Club Mahindra.

Room Tip: Rooms above reception have a pleasant morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Top class accommodation and food. We booked there for 5 nights but extended another night. Staff was very friendly and cooperative. Food was also excellent. It is the best place for a family holiday.
They arranged special activities for kids and families every evening, like Karaoke, DJ Night, Carnival Games, Magic Shows etc. We enjoyed all our days.
There is lot to do for adventure also. They have Adventure Zone to try out different activities.
There is a well equipped SPA also and there service is also very good. Otherwise you can use the Gym also.
One thing to keep in mind is the time for travel from Cochin Airport to the Resort. Although, its only 150 kms., but it takes about 4-5 hrs. due to single lane road and traffic in Cochin city. So start early if you are going back to cochin.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I wanted to share experiences of our visit to Club Mahindra Lakeview, Munnar which was very nice. Seeing places in and around - visiting Alleppey, Thekkady, Tiger Resort, cruise on the river Cauvery and enjoying the Kerala Ayurvedic massages made the overal trip very enjoyable indeed. Must visit destination for all who need some rest and relaxation away from the hustle and bustle of City life.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front porch with a view of surrounding tea gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Munnar: this name of this town should at least have had a 't' in it. Because there's tea everywhere you look... Anyway, Club Mahindra is a property that is away from the main part of town, which is good because you need to get away from it all, which is why you're here. It is located nicely and is huge. You need to be slightly athletic to get to your rooms from the main reception area because it has lot of steps that go here and there. Sure, there are shuttles.

It is not a beautiful property, it is quite all right. There is something slap-dash about it, something very functional that does not elevate it into a place that stirs your senses. It is one of those time share properties, so it built around keeping the family happy. So my room had a kitchenette, a drawing room with a sofa set and dining table and a bedroom and a nice balcony. It was functional, as I mentioned before, and not luxurious. So towels and hand napkins are at a premium, for example.

The food was quite good, both dinner and breakfast, and quite lavish too. In time share hotels, you have to give choice for the entire extended family, right? Munnar is a good place to go to and spend a few days and this property will keep the family happy. What else do you want?

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view before you check-in - it might be an effort, but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Mahindra Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Munnar

Address: Via Suryanelli, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Club Mahindra Munnar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Club Mahindra Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Lakeview Munnar Hotel Chinnakanal
Hotel Mahindra Lakeview Munnar
Club Mahindra Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Mahindra Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.