We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views & good grilled food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort Munnar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fort Munnar to your Saves list
Hotel Fort Munnar
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Munnar, Kerala | Chinnakanal Post Office, Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Chinnakanal B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Stunning views & good grilled food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Located 18kms away from touristy Munnar, Fort Munnar in Chinnakanal is worth the long drive. We enjoyed the clean room (toilet was clean too). The best part was the stunning view. They have a good barbecue grill on the lawns in the evening. The food was tasty and the waiters willing to serve, even if they don't fully understand English. The property has a good front lawn where they will arrange a bonfire for you, should you wish it. There is ample safe parking for those wishing to drive down themselves. It has multi-level gardens. At certain level places they have erected benches, creating a private area for anyone wishing it. The silence punctuated only by bird calls was the ideal way to de-stress. The open terrace has a few rooms from where they operate the Ayurvedic massage centre. We heartily recommend that you go in the lower peak season when noisy groups or kids are not around.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYTISSAN, Manager at Hotel Fort Munnar, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your experience at Fort Munnar, Chinnakanal, Munnar and we would like to thank you for recommending us through this portal.
It is only with the support and patronage from Guests like yourself that we have completed 14 years of creating memorable experiences.
Your comments and suggestions are valuable to us and we thank you for the same. Such constructive suggestions help us to better our services and facilities.
We look forward to your continued support, and welcoming you back on your next visit to Munnar.

Cheers!!

Shyamprakash
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    51
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
60
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

A recent trip to Fort Munnar hotel proved to be a delightful surprise. Besides a warm welcome, the hospitality of the staff impressed us very much. A charming Coffee Room off the lobby called Coffee Casa overlooked a panoramic view of emerald green tea estates and a lake which we were told also served as a watering hole for wild elephants. Very interesting sight-seeing trips were arranged, we saw mountain goats called Ibeks perched precariously on mountain slopes and got our first glimpse of a tea factory. In the evening, wrapped in warm clothes, we sat on the lawn around a camp fire and enjoyed a folk dance performed by local tribals. The food was absolutely excellent. The Chef catered to our every taste without a murmur. The rooms also matched the hospitality -spacious, spotlessly clean, offering splendid views of the surrounding hills and forests. We found it the ideal ambiance for a terrific holiday. So, impressed were we that we've already decided on another visit. A superb place to escape the hustle and bustle of the big city!

Room Tip: A rooms from where you can see the Lake is definitely the best choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Resort is large and well maintained the staff is great . the rooms are great and taste fully decorated food is marvelous. good if get the rooms in first floor and valley view rooms. Every thing about our stay was simply amazing thanks for fort munnar and management team

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was with family last month had an opportunity to experience Munnar and offcourse Fort Munnar !its an ideal place to feel the beauty of that place offers with top class hospitality. A friend of mine told of Fort and its worth you spend !! You will feel the warmth of friendly hospitality while you check in in the front.

Room Tip: Ask for Valley view room upgradation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulara
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I stay in this hotel for 2 days as part of my journey to Kerla I stay on 7.12.2013 and departure on 9.12.2013. 1st of all I like the location of that hotel but when I went inside and did my room checking all story change, room are not as spacious as Abad plaza Cochin. We found dirty bed sheet , dirty pillow cover and a bunch of hair in bathroom . Seriously room needs some maintenance and proper cleaning . Then we decided to order our dinner in room and we order fish curry and khichadi . Fish curry was superb but khichadi was horrible and again we found hair in khichadi. Then thanks to front of staff Frances he admit his mistake and give us complementary snacks and hot drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is 20 kms away from munnar ... nothing to do around there but just spend time in the hotel .... the food is also not so good but no option as nothing is close to it to go and have something else ..

Room Tip: Stay somewhere closer to munnar and not so far away from the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was with family last month had an opportunity to experience Munnar and offcourse Fort Munnar !its an ideal place to feel the beauty of that place offers with top class hospitality. A friend of mine told of Fort and its worth you spend !! You will feel the warmth of friendly hospitality while you check in in the front desk .The hotel is not Fort or something .lol but its has got that right ambiance it brings ,reaching out there is easy and you wont feel any sort discomfort during your stay because some one will be there always to look in to your needs and comfort ! its really a home away from yours and they manage to achieve what they expected .You wont have any complaints while Fort staffs always bring the best in serve you with a pleasant smile !!! the stay was good in neat and tidy rooms and the food is really up to your expectations in that cold weather ! was a pleasant stay ......with friendly people !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fort Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Munnar

Address: Munnar, Kerala | Chinnakanal Post Office, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fort Munnar 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Fort Munnar and let nature encircle and entice you…There are very few virgin nature available in these days of polluted cities and even many holiday destinations. Fort Munnar prides itself in its location – 21 kms from main Munnar town, surrounded by enormous trees, enchanting hills and trees with thick green foliage.A trip during the day from Munnar to Chinnakanal is an experience by itself with soothing greenery lavished all through the winding hills… you would never want the journey to end.Reach Fort Munnar at Chinnakanal and you are in for an equal treat to your eyes. Fort Munnar offers the most expansive lake / valley view in the region, from its lake view rooms, coffee shop and from the roof top.Well, this is just one of the reasons for you to holiday at Fort Munnar. Once you are in the hotel, you will be pampered at every stage. Our bright, ever-smiling reception staff ensures you a smooth, fast check-in and you are escorted to your room where a welcome drink reaches you in a jiffy. As you enter the room you will be fascinated by the excellent in-room facilities - A King size bed, big Wardrobe, Wooden flooring, LED colour Television, Mini bar, Tea/coffee maker, Room heater, luxurious attached bathrooms with bathtubs and running hot and cold water. Come lunch / dinner time and our chefs churn out exotic, mouth-watering delicacies that are served admirably by our restaurant staff piping hot on your table. However wonderful the drive might have been but still one feels the stress of travelling this far. Well, we have an answer for that. Walk into Green Leaves and relieve your body stress and tension through a massage from our expert therapists.If you are planning a sight-seeing trip you will be assisted with a list of places to visit and the distance of each place from Fort Munnar. Our reception staff will help you with organizing vehicles for your sight-seeing as well. Once back from the sight-seeing you can relax with a cup of coffee and snacks at our swanky Coffee Shop overlooking the Anayirangal Lake – Coffee Caza with splendid vista of valleys, mountains and tea gardens spread out before you. or the more spirited of you can let your hair down and shake a leg at our discotheque – Screammmmmm! Next day morning you could visit our gym for a quick work-out and be ready for the day.Well, when you do all these your children can enjoy their day too at our Jungle park – the children’s play area.When the atmosphere is so calm and cool the mind is at peace. Right decisions are taken, right ideas spring out of a peaceful mind. So, plan a conference in our spacious 150-seater (theatre style) conference hall and the mood and ambience is right for a brain-storming. All facilities required for a conference would be provided. You can even plan group activity or games for establishing camaraderie not only among your employees but also between the management and the employees. You return to your business as one strong team ready to take on the challenges of the business world.So, Fort Munnar caters to young and old, people looking for privacy, people looking for leisure and people looking for peace and quite.Visit us to believe us… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fort Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fort Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.