We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Hotel in Munnar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort Munnar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fort Munnar to your Saves list
Hotel Fort Munnar
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Munnar, Kerala | Chinnakanal Post Office, Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Chinnakanal B&B and Inns
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“The Great Hotel in Munnar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

To the view from the hotel is magnificent. The staff go out of their way to make the stay a comfortable and memorable one for the guests. It was our 10 anniversary, and as our family wanted to Surprise us with a Cake, the Staff ensured they went to the City to get one . The food is generally in Buffet style and the room service of pakodas is just too good. The kids play area when we went was not the very best maintained and the steps to reach it were slippery. But apart from that, the hotel is well maintained, the rooms are clean, the indoor games room is comfortable and would keep folks busy. They also offer to get ayurvedic massages done, which are a real comfort. Must Visit the place again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYTISSAN, Owner at Hotel Fort Munnar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Siju

We, the management and staff of FORTMUNNAR, take pleasure in thanking you for your visit to Fort Munnar. We are indeed privileged.

Your comments and suggestions are valuable to us and we thank you for the same. Such constructive suggestions help us to better our services and facilities.

We look forward to your next visit!


Regards

Team Fort Munnar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    51
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
60
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

In my last vacation to munnar I selected Hotel fort Munnar which was my right choice. The staffs are so friendly and innovative. The hotel was clean and tidy. The view from my room was excellent. The play area is a great place for fun and the staffs were very much supportive. Food was more likely buffet but delicious. Staffs guided me about the best locations to visit and purchase in munnar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYTISSAN, General Manager at Hotel Fort Munnar, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Saneesh

We, the management and staff of FORTMUNNAR, take pleasure in thanking you for your visit to Fort Munnar. We are indeed privileged.

Your comments and suggestions are valuable to us and we thank you for the same. Such constructive suggestions help us to better our services and facilities.

We look forward to your next visit!


Regards

Team Fort Munnar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvalla, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Recently, I stayed in Hotel Fort Munnar. Room was spacious, well furnished and well maintained. Service and staff members are exceptionally good. The food was excellent. The ambiance inside the hotel and garden area around the hotel is awesome.Scenic property with lots of amenities. Employees were very courteous and helpful. Good restaurant.

Thank you
Mahesh

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Fort Munnar as part of our tour of India in March and April 2013. We used a trusted local agent to organize our trip, with half the hotels booked by us, and the other half booked by our agent. This hotel was one that was booked on our behalf. It is located high up in the mountains, and accessed by a single road, which sometimes reduces to single track, but the scenery is just spectacular. On arrival through the hotel gates, first impressions were very good, and on entering, the reception lobby and central stairway were equally as good. We were told that we had been upgraded to a room that overlooks the valley at the rear of the hotel. Once in the room, the view across that valley, to the mountains in the distance had to be seen to be believed. The hotel has two restaurant facilities, one main one down the corridor from reception, and one smaller, more intimate location just off reception. If I had to criticize, then it would be this part of our stay. Although the food was excellent, with a varied menu to suit all tastes, we found the atmosphere of the main restaurant more like a refectory canteen than a hotel restaurant, with its painted walls, fluorescent lighting, and dinette seating. However, during our stay, we only dined here once, being directed to the more intimate setting of the other venue for our other meals, which also shares those views over the valley. Our room was clean and presentable, although without air conditioning, having a ceiling fan instead. We enjoyed our stay here immensely, using it as a base for drives out to the plantations and dams. One other slight criticism is that we could only get hot water in our en-suite bathroom in the morning, not during the evening. To be fair, we didn't mention this during our short stay, and in general the hotel staff couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: If possible try and book a room at the rear of the hotel. The views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYTISSAN, General Manager at Hotel Fort Munnar, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Kelly

We, the management and staff of FORTMUNNAR, take pleasure in thanking you for your visit to Fort Munnar. We are indeed privileged.

Your comments and suggestions are valuable to us and we thank you for the same. Such constructive suggestions help us to better our services and facilities.

We look forward to your next visit!


Regards

Team Fort Munnar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Right from the welcome given by the staff, to the stay to the view from the hotel is magnificent. The staff go out of their way to make the stay a comfortable and memorable one for the guests. It was our 10 anniversary, and as our family wanted to Surprise us with a Cake, the Staff ensured they went to the City to get one :). The food is generally in Buffet style and the room service of pakodas is just too good. The kids play area when we went was not the very best maintained and the steps to reach it were slippery. But apart from that, the hotel is well maintained, the rooms are clean, the indoor games room is comfortable and would keep folks busy. They also offer to get ayurvedic massages done, which are a real comfort. Must Visit the place again :)

Room Tip: We had the room on the ground floor, overlooking the garden, which was fun, but am sure first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have visited Munnar twice in the last few years. The place is beautiful and the views magnificent. Our accomodation at Hotel Fort Munnar was wonderful all round and topped off our memorable holiday. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who intends to visit Munnar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYTISSAN, General Manager at Hotel Fort Munnar, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Poly

We, the management and staff of FORTMUNNAR, take pleasure in thanking you for your visit to Fort Munnar. We are indeed privileged.

Your comments and suggestions are valuable to us and we thank you for the same. Such constructive suggestions help us to better our services and facilities.

We look forward to your next visit!


Regards

Team Fort Munnar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Initial greeting was very welcoming and the slightly remote location was gorgeous. Stayed for 2 nights, spent most of the days doing little daytrips in the area, the hotel was a lovely place to come back to and relax. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff kind, courteous and accommodating, and the food was good.

Initially, I was concerned for the lack of AC in the room, but it proved to be a non-issue (even for a Canadian like me) and was even a little chilly at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fort Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Munnar

Address: Munnar, Kerala | Chinnakanal Post Office, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fort Munnar 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Fort Munnar and let nature encircle and entice you…There are very few virgin nature available in these days of polluted cities and even many holiday destinations. Fort Munnar prides itself in its location – 21 kms from main Munnar town, surrounded by enormous trees, enchanting hills and trees with thick green foliage.A trip during the day from Munnar to Chinnakanal is an experience by itself with soothing greenery lavished all through the winding hills… you would never want the journey to end.Reach Fort Munnar at Chinnakanal and you are in for an equal treat to your eyes. Fort Munnar offers the most expansive lake / valley view in the region, from its lake view rooms, coffee shop and from the roof top.Well, this is just one of the reasons for you to holiday at Fort Munnar. Once you are in the hotel, you will be pampered at every stage. Our bright, ever-smiling reception staff ensures you a smooth, fast check-in and you are escorted to your room where a welcome drink reaches you in a jiffy. As you enter the room you will be fascinated by the excellent in-room facilities - A King size bed, big Wardrobe, Wooden flooring, LED colour Television, Mini bar, Tea/coffee maker, Room heater, luxurious attached bathrooms with bathtubs and running hot and cold water. Come lunch / dinner time and our chefs churn out exotic, mouth-watering delicacies that are served admirably by our restaurant staff piping hot on your table. However wonderful the drive might have been but still one feels the stress of travelling this far. Well, we have an answer for that. Walk into Green Leaves and relieve your body stress and tension through a massage from our expert therapists.If you are planning a sight-seeing trip you will be assisted with a list of places to visit and the distance of each place from Fort Munnar. Our reception staff will help you with organizing vehicles for your sight-seeing as well. Once back from the sight-seeing you can relax with a cup of coffee and snacks at our swanky Coffee Shop overlooking the Anayirangal Lake – Coffee Caza with splendid vista of valleys, mountains and tea gardens spread out before you. or the more spirited of you can let your hair down and shake a leg at our discotheque – Screammmmmm! Next day morning you could visit our gym for a quick work-out and be ready for the day.Well, when you do all these your children can enjoy their day too at our Jungle park – the children’s play area.When the atmosphere is so calm and cool the mind is at peace. Right decisions are taken, right ideas spring out of a peaceful mind. So, plan a conference in our spacious 150-seater (theatre style) conference hall and the mood and ambience is right for a brain-storming. All facilities required for a conference would be provided. You can even plan group activity or games for establishing camaraderie not only among your employees but also between the management and the employees. You return to your business as one strong team ready to take on the challenges of the business world.So, Fort Munnar caters to young and old, people looking for privacy, people looking for leisure and people looking for peace and quite.Visit us to believe us… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fort Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fort Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.