We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from being a self professed "luxury" hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fort Munnar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fort Munnar to your Saves list
Hotel Fort Munnar
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Munnar, Kerala | Chinnakanal Post Office, Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Chinnakanal B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Far from being a self professed "luxury" hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Upon arrival we were so impressed by the beautiful outside of this hotel and the truly stunning location it occupies. Once inside however, we were severely disappointed.
Rooms are clean and a decent level, even if the bathrooms are a little dated and in need of some maintenance.
but it is the restaurant and coffee shop that really let the hotel down.
The coffee shop: in 2 days we never saw it open !
The restaurant is like a school canteen and has no atmosphere or ambience; certainly not the level of an international hotel nor a luxury one in any Country. Non Indian food was available but was not of a very good quality; Indian food was good though.
Staff were friendly but it is not enough to make up for the shortfalls of the hotel.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    51
    13
    5
    11
See reviews for
60
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We , a party of four, stayed in Fort Munnar for 2 nights on 21/11/12 and 22/11/12. I had a call from the hotel a week later that a phone has been found in the room and they were wondering if it is mine.. I checked and realised that my iPhone 4S which I use in my home country is indeed missing. They posted the phone to me and I got it few days later. I would like to thank the management and the staff in Fort Munnar for their kind help and amazing generosity and truthfulness and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for stay. Fort Munnar is beautiful and the place amazing to spend few days. I would particularly like to thank Shoab who arranged the phone to be sent to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was staying there for two days with my wife. Its on amazing,beautiful location.Its located 20km far from munnar city. We taken hill view room its amzing view.Hotel services and staff behaviour is very good. Room is well furnished and cleen except wardrobe.I like hotel location,restaurants, gardens, food, staff behaviour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I may not like the style of the building, but rooms are clean, big and comfortable. The service is very good, sfatt tries very hard and is nice, very polite.
No AC is not a problem at all (it gets almost cold outside during the nigh). Will come back if around in future!

The quality of food could be a little bit better - esp. breakfasts.

It is over 20 km from Munnar, but the road is great - views are exceptional: plantations, mountains, waterfalls.

Really anjoyed my stay there, it is a great place to rest!

Room Tip: Some rooms have GREAT view (valley and mountains) - try to pick them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

With my wife and daughter , I was staying there for two days. We enjoyed the stay there , rooms was very well furnished, amenities were quit good.
my daughter really enjoyed playing area, and indoor games room and specially provided french fries to her.
Specially I want to state that on that, it was my wedding anniversary, which i just told to manager who was very nice to us about the day, he arranged a very nice and beautiful candle night dinner for us , provide a cake free of cost...
it was really amazing experience.....
Sudarshan , Archana and Pavi

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have experienced best service and hospitality at Hotel Fort Munnar. The staff were always greet us with a warm smile. Rooms were nice, comfortable and spacious. Food was best. Will cherish the memories of our stay.

Rajeev & Sangeeta Gupta,
1600 ROCHELLE AVE #110
LAS VEGAS NY89119

Room Tip: Valley View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It will be wrong to call it a hotel. Its a lodge. The moment i entered this property my entire excitement of vacation vanished. Worst part is their food. they have coffee shop which never opens. Restaurent where they serve buffet is not a restaurant but a small hall where they place food in the middle and nothing is eatable. Apart from building there is no open space for your kids. It is located in no mans land and therefore you have to eat in the hotel only and next day you will have stomach problem. Therefore i suggest to stay in a small hotel in town rather then here and pay a bomb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYTISSAN, Manager at Hotel Fort Munnar, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr Sandeep
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel.
It is very unfortunate that you have recorded that you have had worst experience here.

1) We would like to point out that your comment of “they have coffee shop which never opens” is not true. The services at the Coffee shop are always available upto 11 pm. When we have a buffet breakfast or dinner, it is served either in the coffee shop or restaurant, not in both places.

2) Our restaurant can comfortably accommodate 44 covers and sorry, cannot be termed as a small hall. We also serve food at the adjoining lawn if the guest wishes. During November, the Diwali season, we have had hundreds of guests staying with us (we have a record of this) and 99% of the guests were on breakfast+dinner package. All of them had food from our kitchen and we have not had one guest complaining of stomach pain. The Resort Manager is always available in the property and you had not complained to him or anybody of stomach pain. We take utmost care of the quality and hygiene of the food prepared in our kitchen.

3) The strongest disagreement we would place is on your comment, “Apart from building there is no open space for kids”. At the time of check-in our reception staff informs the guests of the facilities available at the hotel and they include a discotheque (only property to have discotheque in this part), a Gym and a Jungle Park – a well equipped huge garden for kids. Our website gives pictures taken from the recent Photo shoot of our property. In the hotel, we have an activity room with Chess, Carom board and Table tennis. There is also a lawn and a large open space in front of the building. We have had guests playing cricket in this open space!!!!!!!!!!!

4) Again, this is definitely not a no-mans land as most of the best resorts/hotels like Club Mahindra are situated in this part of Munnar (walking distance).

It is unfortunate and irresponsible that such wrong information should be given without making the effort to go around and see the property and we request Trip Advisor to remove such false allegations from their site. No establishment runs complaint free but in comparison, we have many many Guest comment cards giving excellent reports of our facilities and services. Copies of the same can be furnished to Trip Advisor if so required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fort Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Munnar

Address: Munnar, Kerala | Chinnakanal Post Office, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fort Munnar 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Fort Munnar and let nature encircle and entice you…There are very few virgin nature available in these days of polluted cities and even many holiday destinations. Fort Munnar prides itself in its location – 21 kms from main Munnar town, surrounded by enormous trees, enchanting hills and trees with thick green foliage.A trip during the day from Munnar to Chinnakanal is an experience by itself with soothing greenery lavished all through the winding hills… you would never want the journey to end.Reach Fort Munnar at Chinnakanal and you are in for an equal treat to your eyes. Fort Munnar offers the most expansive lake / valley view in the region, from its lake view rooms, coffee shop and from the roof top.Well, this is just one of the reasons for you to holiday at Fort Munnar. Once you are in the hotel, you will be pampered at every stage. Our bright, ever-smiling reception staff ensures you a smooth, fast check-in and you are escorted to your room where a welcome drink reaches you in a jiffy. As you enter the room you will be fascinated by the excellent in-room facilities - A King size bed, big Wardrobe, Wooden flooring, LED colour Television, Mini bar, Tea/coffee maker, Room heater, luxurious attached bathrooms with bathtubs and running hot and cold water. Come lunch / dinner time and our chefs churn out exotic, mouth-watering delicacies that are served admirably by our restaurant staff piping hot on your table. However wonderful the drive might have been but still one feels the stress of travelling this far. Well, we have an answer for that. Walk into Green Leaves and relieve your body stress and tension through a massage from our expert therapists.If you are planning a sight-seeing trip you will be assisted with a list of places to visit and the distance of each place from Fort Munnar. Our reception staff will help you with organizing vehicles for your sight-seeing as well. Once back from the sight-seeing you can relax with a cup of coffee and snacks at our swanky Coffee Shop overlooking the Anayirangal Lake – Coffee Caza with splendid vista of valleys, mountains and tea gardens spread out before you. or the more spirited of you can let your hair down and shake a leg at our discotheque – Screammmmmm! Next day morning you could visit our gym for a quick work-out and be ready for the day.Well, when you do all these your children can enjoy their day too at our Jungle park – the children’s play area.When the atmosphere is so calm and cool the mind is at peace. Right decisions are taken, right ideas spring out of a peaceful mind. So, plan a conference in our spacious 150-seater (theatre style) conference hall and the mood and ambience is right for a brain-storming. All facilities required for a conference would be provided. You can even plan group activity or games for establishing camaraderie not only among your employees but also between the management and the employees. You return to your business as one strong team ready to take on the challenges of the business world.So, Fort Munnar caters to young and old, people looking for privacy, people looking for leisure and people looking for peace and quite.Visit us to believe us… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fort Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fort Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.