We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wind

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chinnakanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wind
Save
You added The Wind to your Saves list
Periyakanal-Muttukad Road, Chinnakanal 685565, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magical place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The view from our room was simply spectacular. The distant mountains were constantly changing.Every morning and evening music from the temple down in the valley floated up - magical.
The staff were very keen - sure they have a few minor problems to sort out such as getting food orders correct but minor as I said. The staff seem quite young but they were enthusiastic and managed very well.
The food was excellent.
Yes the road is very rough but once you see the view it is soon forgotten - until the drive back!.
It was nice to be away from the hustle of Munnar.
A very special place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    62
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
110
106
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, UAE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After reading so many rave reviews about 'The Wind' and it having the #1 rating in Munnar on TripAdvisor, I decided that this is a must-visit for my family and I. Spent 2 nights here after staying at the Devonshire Greens (which, incidentally, is rated #2 in Munnar on TripAdvisor). To start off with the positives, we were given a warm welcome by the staff on check-in. The manager - Noby Abraham was out of town (which was a pity since, by the time we checked out 2 days later, I really would have liked to have shared my views about my stay with him first hand). Anyway, in his absence, Nitin and Anthony were courteous and helpful when needed. Our cliffside cottage (#101) was at the base of the vertical structure and we had to descend a few flights of stairs to get to it. The cottage itself was very spacious and the rest room was simply enormous. The view from the cottage balcony is spectacular. With majestic mountains, an intervening forested valley, chirping birds and the sun peeking out from rolling white clouds & mist - this is the stuff that landscape artists would dream about. For me, the good bit ended there.

The downsides / points of improvement - 1) Others have already commented that this place is very far from the town (~23 km). That's fine for those who want to stay away from the commercial noise of the town. However, what is not acceptable are the horrible approach roads that lead to this property. They have been dug up and crudely filled in with jutting stones. Could easily puncture tyres if the driver is not an expert in manoeuvring. The access road connects to the adjacent SpiceTree resorts, the Wind and another property (though can't remember the name). Why can't these chaps get together and do up the road on their own if the local authorities are not concerned? At least guests will not have such a harrowing time getting about. 2)Lousy food and beverage (F&B) service. Every order for room service (and I do mean, EVERY one of them) was messed up due to memory lapses. There was always a dish or an item missing on delivery of our order and we had to follow up via a call. Empty dishes were not cleared out unless we called and asked for them to be taken away. Even then, there were delays. Food quality was below average. Perhaps it was our fault for experimenting with their Chinese and north Indian food preparations... cause it certainly seemed like the Chef was experimenting with his cooking. The veg. manchow soup tasted like boiled tomato ketchup and the paneer was so sour, we just set it aside. The fish (pearl spot karimeen) felt like it had seen more of the freezer than the sea (we were told that it was fresh but then again, what do you expect a hotel to tell you? However, we are seafood lovers and are acutely aware of what fresh fish tastes like - and that is not what we were served). On the only ocassion that we had breakfast in their dining facility, had to wait for around 20 minutes before we were served anything. And then, they forgot the coffee. It is a pity since the place is so far out in the wild, you don't have a choice but to eat there. Best to stick to south indian fare (they are good at that) and omelettes if you must eat here. 3) Due to heavy rains, there was a problem with flying mites and bugs. These seem to have found access into our cottage and the staff were clueless as to how they were getting in. Figured out by ourselves and plugged the gap at the base of the sliding balcony glass door with a towel. Unlike other top notch hotels, they did not have an electric bug zapper 4) cottage did not have basic facility such as an electric kettle, so you can't fix a hot cuppa for yourself to go with that lovely cool & misty view whenever you like 5) Cable reception on the TV is patchy and Wifi is irregular. 6) There was a power failure on the first night. The power then resumed only in the morning. On enquiring whether they have a generator, was promptly told that they did and we could have called the 24hr reception desk to start it. Shouldn't they have done this themselves?

overall, lovely panoramic view, spacious rooms & friendly staff. Some improvements are required, which if acted upon, can really make the Wind deserving of its #1 ranking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great service, wonderful staff. More than any thing else, waking up in the morning in the edge cliff room, looking at the valleys and mountains is hard to express. Food is excellent (especially the breakfast). Don't miss out on the local trekking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Fanatastic small property right on the cliff. Rooms, bathroom are large and clean. Staff are very prompt and helpful. Food was good, but expensive. This is 22 km from munnar town, so need a vehicle to travel there. Got a tavera for around 2200 rs per day. Walking around the property is difficult for senior citizens as steep area. Overall a great place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent place to stay and enjoy. Hotel is situated in the hills and nice view from Balcony. Staffs were friendly and cordial with excellent service. Rooms were very spacious and nice view. My next trip to Munnar will stay at "The Wind". Only one suggestion the approach road has to be improved

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We recently visited Munnar and were fortunate to arrive in Kerela just as the monsoon had come to an end or had taken a hiatus which was good for us. The first place on our itinerary was Munnar and it took us around 5 hours to reach that place from Cochin. It is a steep drive and it can make you feel a bit sick in the tummy. So please do not eat too much while you are on the way. We entered the Munnar town and headed straight to "The Wind" which was about 25 hms from the main Munnar town which is not at all ideal for stay. At least if you want to enjoy the weather and the view which Munnar is really for.
The road that leads to "The Wind" is steep and you really need to have a good driver who doesnt crib too much as it does need some driving skills to reach there. You might start to regret on the way about your choice due to the steep turns and the shaky drive. But the moment you reach there, you are welcomed by a breathtaking view...Trust me it is heavenly.
And the resort is simply beautiful...and so is the staff.
We had booked two Cliff Edge Cottage rooms for our parents and us.
The rooms were huge and really clean and there was not a speck of dust anywhere.
The TV was a regular CRT one but who the hell needs to watch TV when the view outside is so amazing.
They have huge balconies and they offer you the best view possible in Munnar. It was as if we were staying above the clouds. In the morning you can see the clouds floating right below you from the balcony. It is a sight to behold...
The bathroom was the biggest I have ever seen and there was no problem at all getting hot water from their solar geyser. You just need to run the tap for 10 minutes and hot water starts pouring out.
The food could have been better but the staff really puts their heart and soul into whatever they cook. They are ready to take your suggestions and cook the food accordingly. We were lucky to meet Noby Abraham, the owner of this resort. You hardly come across such humble people.
He asked us repeatedly whether we need anything else and inquired about the comfort of our stay in his resort. I really was surprised at his humility. Great Hospitality!!
I would recommend this place to each and everyone out there who is visiting Munnar. You will fall in love with it..and would never wanna come back home...Please check out the video I have posted too to see the beauty of this place for yourself...

Room Tip: Please select the Cliff edge cottage rooms. They offer a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chhindwara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Location is no doubt superb staff were very simple and helping but there is something that it doesn't give a feel of a good hotel or resort its more like a home stay....... need some good interior for rooms and lobby with fire place or heater coz night are very cold there.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wind

Address: Periyakanal-Muttukad Road, Chinnakanal 685565, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Wind Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.