We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siena Village, Munnar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Siena Village

Save Saved
You added The Siena Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Siena Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Siena Village, | Munnar, Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Chinnakanal
Channai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Siena Village, Munnar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

It was a honeymoon visit a tour package. About siena village, Very nice location, good service. Food not that great but nice. I give 4.5 out 5 for this resort.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    116
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
116
158
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

I have found this place through the internet and thanks to the well-maintained website, I have zeroed on this place for my honeymoon at Munnar for 3 nights/4 days in August 2009

The room we have opted is a hill-view duplex deluxe cottage that has breaktaking views of the mountains, its so good to be there since you wake up to see the dew drops and the fog spread over the place. The cottage was very well maintained and room service was very prompt and I should say the staff was very courteous.

The next important part is the restaurant which is not so plush looking but the food is definetly one of the best Indian dinners I have ever had while travelling. Be sure to check out the sumptous semya kheer and gazar halwa that metls in your mouth from the desserts section.

To sum up, Siena deserves a strong 5.5 rating from me for the experience I will always remember.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Siena village is a hotel that is an undiscovered gem!!. The Service is great, the food is great, the rooms are great and the scenary, breathtaking. The price for all of this???....Very reasonable. This is my second visit and to tell you the truth, after exploring Munnar quite fully the first time, I came back there just because of the hotel!!
Its a lovely place just to sit back and relax, see the days go by without any real hurry. It is one of my favourite high country hotels in Kerala (my mum thinks so too!!) will be back again.:-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast of England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

A one night stay at Siena Village was a welcome stopover in our Kerala tour. About 15km
from Munnar the hotel is situated on the Munnar - Thekkady Road . Reception was a bit over formal - he even accused me of having his pen - not a good start. The hotel is built on a hill so access to the "Village" style rooms was very steep. Our accomodation was a standard room which turned out to be a substantial apartment style with good facilities.There did not appear to be anywhere to walk locally so a stroll down the local street had to suffice - plenty of polite hellos and an English lesson with schoolgirls on their way home from school who first asked if we were married ! (like 47 years).
Nice gardens maticuluosly kept by elderly women who constantly stone picked and weeded. We ate in the hotel restaurant which turned out to be among the best of our 15 day trip. Not cheap but excellent service (and even under the table Indian wine - also excellent). Comfortable beds , good nights sleep despite no air conditioning (not neede at the 300ft height , all crowned by an early morning view over the valley with mist over the lake - stunning.
All in all this is a good hotel justifying its 3* but the desk could do with a little common courtesy and friendliness - perhaps they could learn from the restaurant staff who were in a class above the hotel as a whole.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed in this resort for 2 days and it was the best part of our trip. The resort is located in a hilly area, where the lanscape is beautifully maintained. They have a tree house for perfect view of the nearby mountains and tea estates. The room we stayed had mountain view and it was one the perfect room for honeymoon. The lawn was superb in the hotel, where you could sit and capture some kodak moments :)

The room has a complimentary Mineral water bottle(daily). They also provide few soft drinks which if we use have to pay it along with the bill. They have a cute refridgerator in all the rooms. And they have Samsung LCD tv too :). We stayed in the room more than sightseeing Munnar. It was an amazing place. Bath was clean and good. Service was also good.

Breakfast buffet was super and there were lots of variety. Dinner was the most unforgettable thing. They have an outdoor buffet with campfire nearby. They also play music, ya ofcourse you can hit the dance floor. They also play soft romantic song for which you can dance with your loved once in the dance floor.

On the whole an amazing romantic place for newly married.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed at the Siena Village for 2 nights in the Luxury Suite. The best part about this hotel is its location. It is a bit far from Munnar town but the view is worth it. Munnar town is just another tourist place, but this hotel is situated 20 km from all that.

There isn't much to do in Munar as such, and its not a place where you would like to do much anyway. The air is fresh, and the scenery is great. Siena Village is sculpted and maintained in a very good manner. The luxury suite had 2 levels. Living room, fireplace, sofa set, flat TV and bar counter on level 1. Bedroom, washroom, balcony and a private open lookout space on level 2.

The garden dinner buffet at this place was average (soup being the best). The lunch and breakfast at the restaurant was a better affair. The Ayurvedic spa was a good experience. Would not say its the best spa as such, but the staff was polite and courteous. The view needless to say was amazing. The sunrise is incredible. There was a fire and dance setup every night when we were there. Not too bad if you are in the mood to party in this sleepy town.

For some reason they were always short on firewood and there was some confusion about the check in time when we arrived, but in all fairness they did make all they could to resolve our problems.

Overall, a great relaxing getaway for both couples and families. Certainly offers much more than many of its competitors for much less, even if not cheap. The activities at this resort are limited. So be sure you call ahead and plan your day before you arrive, if you are the adventurous type.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

The location of this place is amazing....the view you get from the rooms is awesome. Try to take a room on the top floor. Even ground rooms have a porch to provide the valley view. Though it is a bit far from main Munnar town, but the views you get from here...you can't get anywhere else. It is just next to club mahindra resort.

I won't call this place a proper resort....as the entertainment facilities inside are a disco hall and pool table. Probably you can't expect much on a hill station. Anyways, the whole village look, the way it is built is really good...and better than many resorts. The restaurant in the resort has good food (buffet) but is on the expensive side.

I could not use the fireplace in the room as the wood had got wet due to the rains. Also...the water in my room had some yellowish color....on complaining they changed the room...and it was fine in the other room.

Overall, very good experience....you can spend half a day clicking photos in the hotel/resort itself.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Siena Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siena Village

Address: The Siena Village, | Munnar, Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Siena Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high amidst the clouds, 20kms off Munnar town in Chinnakanal is The Siena Village. An idler’s retreat, where guests can enjoy sophisticated accommodation, revitalizing Ayurveda and thrilling outdoor pursuits in true ‘Siena’ style. Ideal for corporate gatherings, weekends with family or a romantic getaway with the one you love, the Siena Village experience is one of a beautiful blend of the familiar and the inspirational. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your The Siena Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siena Village Hotel Chinnakanal
Siena Village Munnar
Siena Village Hotel Munnar
The Siena Village Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siena Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.