We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than staying in Munnar?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Siena Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Siena Village to your Saves list
The Siena Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Siena Village, | Munnar, Chinnakanal 685 618, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Better than staying in Munnar?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Originally we were going to stay in Munnar but changed to Siena Village as it looked and got better reviews than those in the town.Impressively situated with great views and about 20kms out of Munnar which meant that you were a captive audience in the evening.We received an upgrade in our room on arrival which was appreciated and there was a living room with sleeping accommodation and bathroom on a separate floor and a balcony to admire the views.
Friendly staff good food and on balance preferable to Munnar town.
There is a" brandy" shop situated close by for those in need.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    142
    34
    11
    2
See reviews for
142
190
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were tired by full day's journey : from Ahmedabad in the morning and reaching Siena at around 4.30 p.m . But the warm welcome and the courteous treatment of the staff as well as the cool ambience of the resort , quickly refreshed us. Our tiredness was gone. The food is good but the service is better. The choice of the menu is also good. The rooms were great and I liked the way living room is downstairs and the bedroom and the bathroom are like a duplex. Spacious balcony gave a great view . Just one comment about the dining and breakfast area is that it is bit congested and if only it could be more spacious , it would be more fun.

Room Tip: Select the duplex type of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Good hotel with great view and food quality is also good nice location the working staff of the hotel are also of good nature and helpful .The view of hills from suite is excellent .Good hotel with great view and food quality is also good nice location the working staff of the hotel are also of good nature and helpful .The view of hills from suite is excellent .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Excellent location and excellent service. Only wish the government of Kerala did something about the road in Munnar which doesn't seem to have changed in a century. The Siena Village resort is very well managed, staff are very friendly and the location is fabulous. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Siana Village is a excellent property, we have stayed there for 2N and we have very impressed by the services and food and the scenic beauty sound it. It is covered by mountains on all the sides. The staff are also good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

One of my friends referred me to this resort and i must say Iam very thankful to her. Its an excellent property and I strongly recommend this place in Munnar. Here is my review

1. Location - just 20 kms from Munnar town. Initially I thought this is far from Munnar and should I (since I was travelling with my wife and Kid) choose such a distant place away from main town, but my doubts vanquished after a wonderful ride to the hotel. The roads are good (easily driveable) and very scenic. You can halt at various places for photos, refreshment etc. You will not find any sign boards for the hotel on the way though, but for guidance its exactly 1 km from Mahindra Club Resorts. i was happy to see an ATM (South Indian Bank), just in front of the resort, so you will never have to search for ATM`s in an unknown place if you run out of cash.

2. Room - I had booked a standard room and believe me it was excellent !!! It had a nice view with misty mountains right at the backdrop and we could see a river flowing at the distant as our front view .. it was great. I observed that all rooms are ideally located to give a scenic view. There is a mini fridge in the rooms with all essential beverages - water, coke, pepsi, miranda cans, choclates, chips ... (chargeable though based on your consumption)

3. Service - It was WOW !!! We had this guy called Tara Singh who was responsible for housekeeping and he did his job quite well. Very humble, polite and prompt. I had my tea, lunch & snacks served in room a coupe of times and the room service was very good. The way they packed the order to serve in room was super. At one instance, after a day of sightseeing in my car, it was all dust. The day when i had to check out to start my journey back, I requested the hotel staff if they could clean my car, and there it is, no questions asked and no charges ... they cleaned my car.

4. Food - Very good and inexpensive. Since i am a vegie, please consider this feedback for vegetarian dishes. The breakfast had a good spread (buffet) and the hotel staff very considerate for each guest. Though one could take the food of choice in the buffet, the staff constantly asked if guests need anything served to them hot. I really liked the service. It was both buffet and alacarte feel. At night you can go for Garden buffet .. which is again awesome. I was cold outside and I had my dinner around campfire. Regarding cost, on an average the vegetarian dishes will be Rs 120/plate and the quantity is pretty good (enough for 3 of us).

5. Overall Property - Excellent. There are lots of amenities that they offer like billiards table, indoor games, play area for kids, curio shop (you could buy Munnar tea here), camp fire @ night, DJ etc. Walk around and click lots of photos in the property. There are lots of resting places to sit and relax and enjoy the scenery. One other thing I liked is the way they maintain, I saw lots of staff for gardening, housekkeping room service. We never felt the resort crowded too, be it the lawns, hotel etc .. it was pleasant.

Overall its was wonderful experience i will surely stay here on my next visit to Munnar. Since it was my first trip to Munnar, I had lot of apprehensions. But choice of good hotel to stay helps in easing a lot of doubts and fears.Hope this feedback helps.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Siena Village was a great resort, we booked online and crossed our fingers, and upon arrival we were surely impressed by the quality, the sanitation and the courtesy of the staff there.

The Rooms were clean, organized and very well maintained, you don't see any stain spots on the beddings or the sofa's,the bathroom is very clean, designed like a star hotel bathroom, the shower and the faucet both have hot water, the shower is AWESOME, you wish you would stay under it forever!

Food is well prepared with good varieties, it could use some more intercontinental choices for the visitors from outside the indian subcontinent though, the waiters are very nice! i especially remember the courtesy and quality service of "Alpen" who helped us during our launch in pepper mill and dinner in the grill. i was surprised with a birthday cake that my wife arranged for me with the staff and they did not disappoint.

the night outdoor activities were great, loved the fireplace.

the rooms are well insulated, i don't recall hearing my neighbors or any noise outside once you are in for sleep.

the Scenery is captivating, the front is facing the lake and the far mountains, and right behind you you will see the mountain peaks which are big and beautiful, its an excellent place to enjoy the mesmerizing sunsets and sunrises.

the resort is about 14 years old, and i only knew that after i asked one of the staff, because the maintenance and cleanness of the place surely made it look younger than 5 years old.

there are a small place for child activities like a swing and monkey bars, the kids enjoyed it.

there is an Ayruvedic message center located at the end of the resort, which offer massage and some other services, i was informed that the price was steep, however the service was good.

we stayed there for a day and a night, left completely happy and satisfied, with real interest to come back to this place once again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about upgrade options, we were informed of the royal suite hours before our check o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Siena Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siena Village

Address: The Siena Village, | Munnar, Chinnakanal 685 618, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Siena Village 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high amidst the clouds, 20kms off Munnar town in Chinnakanal is The Siena Village. An idler’s retreat, where guests can enjoy sophisticated accommodation, revitalizing Ayurveda and thrilling outdoor pursuits in true ‘Siena’ style. Ideal for corporate gatherings, weekends with family or a romantic getaway with the one you love, the Siena Village experience is one of a beautiful blend of the familiar and the inspirational. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Siena Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siena Village Hotel Chinnakanal
Siena Village Munnar
Siena Village Hotel Munnar
The Siena Village Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siena Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.