We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful hotel with good view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Siena Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Siena Village to your Saves list
The Siena Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Siena Village, | Munnar, Chinnakanal 685 618, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Chinnakanal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gurgaon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful hotel with good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sienna Village is a nice, peaceful hotel with decent view of the valley, if you opt for rooms at elevation. The Rooms are over priced, the food is below average, but certainly not high priced.

AVOID THEIR LOCAL MASSAGE SERVICE AT ANY COST. it is pathetic and complete waste of money.

Also, there is no area of interest for kids, barring a few slides and swings. They should be mindful of organizing activities for kids.

Also, chinnakanal is 22 KM away from Munnar time. Therefore, it makes good sense to hire a full time taxi to this place, as you will often come down to the town to enjoy vagaries of the place.

Room Tip: Ask for an elevated room. If someone can afford, go for the duplex suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    142
    34
    12
    2
See reviews for
142
191
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A modern ambiance, in fact probably just re decorated, with large suite-like rooms, the upper living part with a big fireplace ( it's chilly in Munnar), a large TV screen a suitable size bathroom with new shower fittings .The large double bed was in a lower and separate room, that opened up to the garden. The restaurant got a bit congested the next day at breakfast, but the previous night outdoor buffet was great, with fresh tasty food and hot chapati and nans made in front of you. Lovely idea to have the huge open fire pit to sit around with a cup of coffee , just to chat and gaze at the stars. Personally I have to thank the manager for his absolute kindness and patience in letting me use his own computer when I was unable to connect to the wi-fi with mine.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get one room with the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were a group of 12 that spent 2 nights in Siena Village .
Munnar is breath taking and the scenery was wonderful .The rolling hills of tea plantations ,Siena village added to this splendor .The rooms are cottage style ,spacious and clean . The hotel is just outside munnar .The staff was very friendly ,polite ,helpful and met all our requirments .The breakfast was fantastic. the gardens were well mantained .The entire group loved this place and we will definately visit again .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Superb location - if you have a vehicle all the time.. outside the Munnar city.. Cool experience.. Travelled in Oct-2009. The food is decent.. Love the environment.. The rooms are small but decent. The play area is quiet huge for the kids. This was the best part of our vacation in Kerala.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Siena Village, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Siena Village-Munnar!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dining experience at The Siena Village - Munnar and we met your expectation, feedback like yours will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Siena Village,Munnar.

Thanks&Regards,
Krishnakumar.P
General Manager |
Mobile:+91-9447491993
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I visited this property on my honeymoon visit to kerala in march 2012, we stayed here for 2 nights. It took a while for us to reach this resort as it was far from Munnar, near village Chinnakamal. We were welcomed by very nice and spacious duplex room and courteous staff, which we amazed to see. It has nice view in the background of the lovely resort.
The service is very good as our room was little far from the reception but the service was instant and quick. The resort has two restaurants , one is near to reception and the other is kinda open in the lawn. we didn't enjoyed the food in the open restra but the buffet food provided in the other restra is really good with nice variety. We enjoyed our 2 nights stay here only hitch was that too much driving was needed to go anywhere in and around munnar from sienna village.

Room Tip: We opted for Duplex room and it was good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I heard about this hotel from one of my friend and it is a very Great time spending there. I can say that "we can just go to spend at least two days in that hotel without going to outside sight seeing".

Room Tip: Luxury suite is not required. :) I mean standard room also good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We recently spent two days in Munnar and were lucky to stay at Sienna Village. Highlights of this resort – nice/dreamy location (few minutes of drive from Munnar, but was so glad we did given the beautiful tea estates through the entire drive), the sunrise was beautiful, rooms were exceptionally clean with modern furnishes. Resort staff was fairly helpful and at service whenever needed. We ate at the restaurant (we chose to skip the buffet and eat ala-carte which was a good decision). I give this place 4 stars instead of 5 mainly due to slow restaurant service. There seemed to be plenty of staff, but somehow the service was not speedy. The servers were fairly nice but I think just needed a bit more organization and perhaps better management. Overall decently good experience, just the restaurant staff could use some improvement.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Siena Village, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings From The Siena Village-Munnar !!!

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at The Siena Village. It was indeed a great pleasure to have you stay with us.

Your feedback has been shared with all the concerned team member's, it was quite unfortunate that our services did not meet your expectations in certain areas.

We deeply regret the feelings you have expressed and sincerely hope you would consider us worthy of another chance.

In closing we would urge you not to judge us solely based on this visit and look forward to welcome you back and make your stay a memorable one.

Thanks & Regards,
Krishnakumar.P
General Manager |
Mobile:+91-9447491993
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Siena Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siena Village

Address: The Siena Village, | Munnar, Chinnakanal 685 618, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Family Hotel in Chinnakanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Siena Village 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting high amidst the clouds, 20kms off Munnar town in Chinnakanal is The Siena Village. An idler’s retreat, where guests can enjoy sophisticated accommodation, revitalizing Ayurveda and thrilling outdoor pursuits in true ‘Siena’ style. Ideal for corporate gatherings, weekends with family or a romantic getaway with the one you love, the Siena Village experience is one of a beautiful blend of the familiar and the inspirational. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Siena Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Siena Village Hotel Chinnakanal
Siena Village Munnar
Siena Village Hotel Munnar
The Siena Village Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Siena Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.