We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hospitality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway of Munnar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gateway of Munnar to your Saves list
Gateway of Munnar
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Surianally Road | opp. Fort Munnar, Chinnakanal 685512, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Chinnakanal B&B and Inns
Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst hospitality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is far off from Munnar. The manager was inconsiderate for the facilities, picked up fight with guest and almost threatened on being questioned.

The rooms were clean and tidy but there was huge staff crunch. Food at dinner as well as breakfast was pathetic.

Room Tip: Avail this hotel only if you can't find any other accommodation. Mostly used for group booking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

While in Munnar - most operators would make you stay in and around Munnar Town which is the city center and easy to commute to all the places of tourist interest. While staying at Munnar Town is great from a transportation point of view - its not the best from a "peace of mind" point of view. We were on a "self drive" visit to Munnar and took the "Thekdey" route from Munnar town and 21 kms later hit this place called Chinnakanal. Chinnakanal and en route is where you find ALL the resorts of Munnar. Club Mahindra, Sterling, Holiday Heaven, Fort Munnar and many more. Sine it was our wedding anniversary we wanted one of the best rooms (within a good budget). We visited ALL resorts of Chinnakanal and the cheapest we got was Holiday heaven @ 3500 a night upto 8000 for a delux suite @ Sterling. We however settled down for Gateway Munnar @ only Rs 2000 a night. Its bang opposite Fort Munnar a 7000/night property. Gateway Munnar had the same room quality as any other resort nearby - as a matter of fact it was better than Holiday Heaven. We got a room with a HUGH terrace attached to it. View and feel of the place is similar to any other resort. The atmosphere in Chinnakanal is much better than Munnar town - the scenic beauty is much better. In all a very good place to stay in and save some money as well. I am sharing a couple of pictures below to get you a feel of the place. Highly recommended !!

Honeymooners might still want to go to one of the other resorts nearby - preferably Sterling or Club Mahindra. Gateway of Munnar is recommended for Friends / Family or Solo.

Room Tip: Take the room on 1st Floor with terrace. thats the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

we were looking for some where to stay in munnar,and we found this hotel which is in chinnnakanal, away from the town an traffic. That was exactly we were looking for.clen and spacious rooms .nice views recommend a lift..

Room Tip: we had the top floor rooms which has a balcony& good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have booked this hotel directly through thier site. Its away from Munnar town. After reaching Munna town I called the recption and got the route. First I got depressed knowing that I have to travel again 20 Kms from Munnar town. When I started the journey, I could see some best parts of Munnar in this route. Really worth seeing nature.
Hotel is good one. I stayed in Deluxe rooms. Rooms are spacious for a couple. New furnitures. Quality bed. Clean toilets. Service part need some improvement.
We stayed there for 2 nights. First day sight seeing was actually the route to hotel itself. You could find Suiciding point like spot called Gap road and power housewater falls on the way. Also blue hills, tea estas with mist and tea estates on the way makes your journey to hotel charged.

TIP:Make sure that you start from Munnar before 5PM. After that we could see nothing (on second day while coming back to hotel after sightseeing) the journey was utter boaring as it was too late and roads were covered with mist.

Altogether good experience and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front get the view of lake and a valley (long view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My friend recommended this hotel. I have stayed 2nights from October 27 to 29 at this hotel. Hotel is ideally located away from Munnar town. This makes the hotel ideal for honeymooners. I stayed in room no 301 which has an ideal distant view of lake and tea estate valley. Dat it self made our morning surprising. Actually we booked for deluxe room, but we got upgraded to higher category at no cost. Food was average. Only problem is that other restaurant options are limited in the locality. So we were forced to dine at same hotel on day 1. Second night we had from near by hotel known as Fort Munnar- but the price was too high. Rooms are clean and neat. Bed was superb. 301 have a wide balcony with an outstanding view of nature. Room service was ok. They had only limited parking. I recommend this hotel. Price for rooms are most reasonable too.

Room Tip: Room 301. Good view from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

1. It is very irrelevant to ask a guest to pay balance before check in. Someone travelling more than 500 Kms would like to check in and fresh up rather than indulge in paying balance. I have stayed in 6 hotels in kerala from 22-27 Oct and no one except this hotel demanded a full amount before check in.

2. On 22.10.12, we were travelling from Bangalore to munnar by our car and were about to reach munnar town at around 7pm. We tried calling hotel's landline and mobiles from 7pm till 10 pm and no one lifted/responded. We wanted to know the landmark and way to reach the hotel. The next day, one Ms Clintu had acknowledged that since she on leave, she could not take the calls. She was very prompt to lift phone when we were doing enquiry for reservations. Is it so that front office gets closed at 6pm?

3. Front office people could not speak/understand any thing other than malayalam and tamil. You ask anything and they will stare at your face as if your are an alien.

4. The hotel's website says that it is 20mins from munnar town. We believed it and when we reached munnar at 8.30pm, we were told that chinnakal, a place where this hotel is located is 23Km from munnar. 23Km on hilly area means around an hour to travel, especially with the road conditions in and around munnar. The munnar town itself was silent with no people on road and the road leading to chinnakal was like a road leading to graveyard. We were firhgtened to move further as were were travelling with wive and kids in our car. It takes around 1 hr for a car to this hotel from munnar town.

5. When till 9pm , we could not contact the hotel for reasons best known to them, we had to find a stay in devikulam, 5m from munnar on way to the hotel. We were travelling from bangalore since 10.30am and were too frightened to go further to explore where your hotel is. Since it was a peak season, we somehow managed to find a substandard room and 4 adult & 2 infants stayed in one room. Even after checking in that hotel we kept on trying to contact the hotel as that hotel was way too sub standard to stay. At 10 pm when a hotel staff picked the call, he was not versed with English. We told him that we have taken a room in deviklulam (17Km from the hotel) and asked him to send any vehicle to escort us to the hotel. He managed to tell me in english that he will check and call me back. When i called back after 30mins, again no one lifted the phone!!! Next morning when we reached your hotel at around 9am, we were told to pay balance before check in. We had to request to give us time till evening to withdraw money from ATM in munnar to pay the balance as you charge 3% on credit card. Ms clintu was not lifting my phone so when i insisted to talk to her, the front office called from his mobile to which she responded. I told her that instead of apologising the hotel is continuously asking for money. We had spent 1800 on a substandard hotel just because the hotel didnt rtesponded to my call s to guide me way to your hotel. She apologised for sake of formality and said she will talk to manager to give us some discount as we did not stayed 2 nights as planned. But she didnt called back and finally i just paid all money and left the hotel.

6. At 9.30, when we went to have breakfast, everything was over.

7. Cost of one cup of milk was Rs50 as milk was not part of breakfast buffet. We required milk for our kids.

My advise-though the room were good, but the services were very very poor. Stay away

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed there on 17 Aug.2012 with family.
Service was sub standard.
Staffs seems de motivated.
Service , we can compare with a single employee loadge.
Only Good for Night Sleap.
Dinner was worst.

Breakfast-Terrible.
Water Falls restaurant - the name we can see in Internet only.
By seeing direct , you will laugh.

Room Tip: There is no lift -Choose rooms in the ground or First floor only. I recommend this hotel for night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway of Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway of Munnar

Address: Surianally Road | opp. Fort Munnar, Chinnakanal 685512, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gateway of Munnar 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe class hotel with lake view rooms. All rooms have balcony to view nature at its best. It's located 20 minutes drive from busy Munnar town through misty tea estates, water falls and gap road - which makes it an ideal location for family holidays and romantic getaways. We arrange sunrise and sunset jeep safari to 'Kolukkumalai'- world's highest tea plantation and tea factory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gateway of Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Of Munnar Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway of Munnar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.