We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot get more pathetic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ayur County Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ayur County Resorts to your Saves list
Ayur County Resorts
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Chinnakanal B&B and Inns
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cannot get more pathetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Strictly avoid this place.Its like 22 kms far away from Munnar town and the restaurant is so bad that you do not have many choices.The desk staff make you feel like you are admitting into a hostel with a long list of rules.Desk Staff is more intersted in money than providing service and maintaining the hotel.

Even the male masseur was a greedy guy who wrapped up 60 min massage in 45 odd minutes and wanted tip.

Just see the photos i have uploaded to get clear idea of how bad this place is.

Room Tip: Do get the rooms which are uphill they are better,but then you should be physically fit to climb up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    80
    46
    22
    58
See reviews for
116
91
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kozhikode, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying in Ayur county resort. We came in a group of 27 adults &4 kids in eight families. Booked 9 hill view cottages.
The booking process was smooth & quick, thanks to Mr.Jinto PRO. A nicely behaving customer friendly staff.
The check in process was very simple & we got the rooms quickly. The transportation from the reception to the rooms was very hectic. As it is a hill, a Jeep has to take four rounds to transfer all of us & luggage. That took nearly an hour.
Five rooms were hill view suits as offered in the confirmation voucher, but four were sunrise cottages. The interior was bland, not so attractive. Three of the toilets doors in sunrise cottages were in a condition, which cannot be locked from inside - reflecting our maintenance. No floor mats were there in front of the toilets. I complained at 1:30 pm & 2:30 pm then again at 6 pm. No use! I've to call Jinto & complain again at 6:30 so as to get it at 7 pm! So bad & slow service response. The floor of the rooms were getting dirty without a mat.
In the website it is clearly mentioned that tea making kettles are standard amenity in the rooms. But in four rooms it was not provided. I've to complain it twice & rise my voice to get it!
The restaurant is the worst place. The suppliers were not courteous. Buffet menu was a complete disaster. Three of us took buffet & others preferred alacarte. Those who took buffet has to wait in queue for the chappathis & non veg Curries. The long wait made them uncomfortable & have to adjust with the available dishes. only palatable dish in the buffet was the dessert "payassam". The alacarte dish quantity was extremely low. I was shocked to see the somalian chicken pieces in chicken 65! Surely it was not 65 it's chicken 365 !! Such minute pieces. The food was not tasty. The service was bad.
We thought we shall complain it to the general manager so that it won't repeat again on the coming days! It's out first day & three more days still remaining. The most shocking incident was the meeting with the GM. He is a typical pot bellied ex military fellow who always talks in military style. Such an arrogant & rude behaviour is not expected from a hospitality division. He was talking like a military general or superior police officer to a junior most subordinate. This was my first experience from a resort. I used to travel every six months to various places & resorts. But when we have to wait & leave the buffet on half way, his approach was not in a customer friendly diplomatic way. Rather he was mocking us by saying "shame on you that you were expecting a 400 INR discount from us, we are a huge firm worth sixty crores, pay the bill & good night" he was deviating from the issue, not saying sorry or admitting their fault. insulted us in front of the guests.
There is a saying in Malayalam "monthayam valanjaalpinne ellam poyi" which means "when the main beam of a structure is bend, everything will be chaos" i learned that only one director Mr. Cecil is above him & is going to complain. Hope he'll understand our concern.
Overall it's a best locality. rooms are averagely maintained. Just value for money. Restaurant is horrible.
It is around 17km away from Munnar town, so very difficult to see another nearby restaurant

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We are a young couple and had an amazing stay at the Ayur County Resort ,Munnar. It is surrounded by the scenic beauty located among the Tea Gardens.The Room have an amazing view of the breathtaking mountain ranges, which totally enthralled our stay here.The hotel staff are trained thoroughly with proper etiquette of customer service and all the necessary requirements were taken care of.Only drawbacks being, a bit far from the city(22 km), either you need to have your own vehicle or taxi needs to be ordered for,but its definitely a one time visit to the resort.

Room Tip: any rooms, preferably facing to the mountain ranges, rather than road side view should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Resort is away from Munnar market 20kms away. If you have plans for relaxation, very good place to stay away from routine. Pleasant, Comfort, Relax, Excellent stay..... Resort is having Veg & Non-Veg Restaurant separate. Service is not up to the mark due slow service to serve timely if you are used to with Metro City lifestyle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANGALORE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My name is fayaz Sheikh, i had booked the resort for my family. When we saw the resort we were very happy as it had beautiful scenic rooms was clean & neat. I had booked honey moon cottage for me & my wife, 02 bedroom cottage for my family. I had pre-booked cake which was suppose to be kept inside the room before arrival but when i checked with them they did not had any idea about it & later when they checked their system they found out cake order was there, then they had to search for the cake in the city finally they got it late evening. No proper information about the inhouse activities from the management, there were many more probelms from the management side but the resort was so good to compensate all the problems. If the management improves their service then i can rate this as one of the best reosrt i visited.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My Name is Deepak Pisharody and I come from Chennai, India.I had the opportunity of staying with Ayur County from January 13-15, 2013.To begin with the location of the resort is simply superb even though it is 18 kms from Munnar.I have some points to make to justify my title of this information.
1.The Management of the Hotel is very rough and cheat you.They guided me to a near by resort under the name MAS Chancellor resort and told that the booking done by me is valid only for that resort and not Ayur county (even though I had made my internet booking on Ayur county).They later tried to convince me by saying that for tax purposes they have split the names even though the management is same.It was very impossible to buy this statement but I had no choice.
2.The rooms are not maintained at all.The rooms stinks.Housekeeping is very very poor.
3.The room geysers do not function and it takes hours for them to produce only warm water and not hot water.
4.Restaurant food is not good.Breakfast is repeatd every day.Idlis are horrible.They do not know how to make sambar.
5.The resort is filled with North eastern boys who may be less than 18 years of age.The Labour Inspector needs to verify this.

What made me sad is that when we are choosing holidays to destress ourselves, we end up encountering such messy situations.The Reception at Ayur couinty appear to be intelligent but they dont know even the routes to nearby places.There is no tyravel desk.

The Ayurveda massage person keeps asking tips from every customer above the exorbitant rates they charge us.
Any way please be intelligent after reading this information.I will never recommend this facility to any one.

All the best.

Deepak Pisharody

Room Tip: Kindly choose the valley view rooms if you have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chancellorresort, Manager at Ayur County Resorts, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear valued guest.... thanks for being our guest.... sorry to see that we were not able to meet your expectations. please understand that we have not cheated you in ay ways. you had booked an economy two bed room which was given to you which is value for the money that your paid. you have stayed with Ayur County Only. of which chancellor section hold economy category room.. Be it Ayur County or chancellor, the rooms are decent enough. it was mentioned at the time of booking itself that it is an economy room. and you selected the economy room because you found it to be cheap in munnar. sir please tell me which resort in munnar can give you 2 rooms for 4000. you wanted a free upgrade to sunrise suite which we were not able to gee you. All the rooms are equipped with Racold geysers 25 litre capacity. it takes 5 mins for water to get boiled as it is a cold climate. you have used it for 2 days by which you took bath... and now you say it never works. geysers are regularly checked and they have till now not shown any complaints. if you still feel they are not worthy.. we will contact the company sating that their product is not good. also please note that we had 125 rooms occupied on the said dates which no body had complaint. all the staff at the resort are above 22 and the same is been confirmed by the labour dept.You also needed a free upgrade to the premium restaurant for which you mentioned that the idli and sambar is not good. sir, please understand that nothing comes free anywhere,as what ever we buy from market we have to pay for it. we do not get anything FREE. infuture whenever you travel please plan up accordingly as you are going on a vacation and not for bargaining. we at the resort will also see that in future we entertain guest who come for enjoying vacation and not for bargaining. trip advisor do confirm the genuinely of the case before you publish reviews.. we appreciate people to write reviews which are genuine and not fake, and we consider genuine feedback as our areas of improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at Ayur County in Dec 2012. The resort is situated 20kms away from Munnar city. The location is good but all other things are bad.
1) Bad service
2) Bad Food
3) NO activities
4) Non supportive staff
We had booked room online with the help of photographs that were put on website when we actually went into the room the room was no good than a lodge. Dirty toilets, Dirty bed covers rooms not maintained, wiring coming out of the plugs and the mattress was not even fit for the bed.It was a family suite as per what was mentioned in the website it was worst than a low cost hotel room. On fighting with the staff since the time we checked in finally they agreed to change the room to a better one at 1:30 in the night. A very bad resort very highly priced.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chancellorresort, Manager at Ayur County Resorts, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Is it a mistake that the resort is 15km far from munnar town. all the good resorts are in upper munnar. munnar town is crowded and you do not have anything to see there. you travel from cochin or from madurai for 3 to 4 hours to see the beauty of munnar and not to sleep in the market place, You wanted a free upgrade which we gave at last as we did not wish to spoil the moods of other guest. as you were shouting at the FO staff for not giving you a free upgrade. sir please understand that you pay more you get more.. e.g. is TAJ / leela and other 5 star hotels. you pay for a 3 star and demand 5 star rooms.we have in house activities like fishing, trekking, indoor games, caroms, table tennis... evenings we had campfire and barbecue.... sorry to hear that you missed everything. all our guest were able to enjoy the activities at the resort when all the other had good food, why you alone got bad food , as you said that the food was bad, may be your wife is a good cook, we will let out cheff know on this... The ayurveda people never ask for money unless guest from outside come for treatment, as you need to pay for the treatment. the amount of the treatments is paid by guests at the time of check out. no body asks for tips... sorry to say that you are telling lies. we treat our guest as guest and not ghosts... Trip advisor permits guest to write reviews so that other guest can see this and they can plan up accordingly / also the resort can take feedback for their areas of improvement. you have written review to spoil the name of the resort and its business. for which i would recommend trip advisor to take serious action...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayur County Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayur County Resorts

Address: Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayur County Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ayur County Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayur County Hotel Munnar
Ayur County Resorts Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayur County Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.