We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Fauno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chinnakanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Del Fauno
Save
You added Casa Del Fauno to your Saves list
Peak Gardens Chinnakanal P.O | Idduki Dist., Chinnakanal 685618, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Chinnakanal B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place was certainly the highlight of our vacation. It was everything that we wanted it to be. Anoop and his staff greeted us and instantly made us feel welcome. He showed us to our room which was beautiful. It was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was the cleanest that we have seen on our entire trip. The bed was soft and comfortable.

After a relaxing day enjoying the views, Anoop took us on a very long hike through the local area. I think he overestimated my personal physique and assumed that I could hike up the side of a rock face!!! The views and experience was certainly well worth the work, however. We were treated to a wonderful lunch which was far too large for us to finish.

There was a constant supply of complimentary tea, snacks and water. The dinner meals were also excellent and romantic. Even when my wife fell ill (due to unrelated circumstances) the staff did everything in their power to help us feel comfortable.

During our stay, there were wild elephants in the area. We didn't get a chance to see them but apparently it was for the best. They are reportedly quite dangerous! Watch out!

We would not hesitate to recommend this place to others and would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Good accommodation, but not great. The rooms on the main house are not ideal as their noisy from the common area and the two cottages further down are a bit of a hike so as long as that works for you great. We stayed at the furthest cottage which was great and had private patio. However, power did shut off a few times only in our cottage and the shower water heater runs out after a single shower. The food was also rather average. The location is beautiful and they did take us on a nice and pleasant walk. View form patio is breath taking.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here in Oct for 2 nights. The views from the hotel are breathtaking! We were overwhelmed by the manager's hospitality. He accompanied us on 2 great walks in the local area and educated us on the local flora.

I disagree with the other reviewers about the beverages. There was delicious tea or coffee available whenever you wanted and they sent a driver to get whatever drinks you requested, which were charged at cost plus the price of the tuk tuk. We enjoyed beer with our dinners! The food was healthy and delicious and served in a relaxing ambiance.

Our room had a great view- it was clean and simply decorated, with a warm cosy duvet! I cannot recommend this place highly enough- we wished we had another day there!

Room Tip: We has the room in the main bungalow with the terrace which had amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Amazing views of the hills located about an hour from Munnar. Simple clean and friendly but not up to standard compared to other places we stayed on our trip to India. The food was very simple and the lack of beverages disappointing. No soft drinks at all only water to drink with our meal and the coffee was terrible. A cross between a basic hotel and a homstay. But the mountain scenery and walking in the tea plantation makes up for the lack of service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights as a base for a tea plantation trek / visit. Hosts are welcoming, simple room with ensuite in a bungalow, main house tastefully decorated. Parties dine separately as full board given location. Great chicken biryani, followed by a keralan vegetarian meal the next night. Enjoyed walk round cardamon plantation with host. Not suitable for disabled as steep steps down to accommodation. Had breakfast on terrace one morning but couldn't appreciate the view due to cloud.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived after a bumpy, twisty drive from Munnar, with stunning views en route. The Casa is off the "main" road and was very quiet when we were there. It is small, quite simply but artistically furnished and very comfortable with a small, young, exceptionally hospitable staff. The view from the terrace over the surrounding countryside is quite breathtaking. They asked what we liked to eat and we had very good meals, evening, lunch and breakfast while we were there., although I think we could have been more adventurous. We should have asked what was available - there was an Indian family who had different and possibly more interesting food, but we still enjoyed ours. We were taken for a long, interesting walk through the cardamom and tea plantations that surround the Casa by one of the staff, someone who had grown up in the area so knew it well.. He was very informative, his English was excellent and he was obviously very enthusiastic about the area. We saw elephant prints, but no elephants, although there obviously are some in the area so you could be lucky. Some reviews have suggested that a day trip to Munnar is possible. Our itinerary had that, but we stopped there on the way to Casa del Fauno instead and we were glad we did because we had the whole of the next day free to relax and to explore the surrounding area. We felt that was a far better use of our time, relaxing in such lovely surroundings rather than enduring a long bumpy return trip to Munnar.

Room Tip: We had a good room in the main house, with a window that opened out on to the garden. Didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The beautiful bungalow is situated about 20 Kms from Munnar Town and the drive to the place is absolutely fantastic. We had an extremely relaxing and a comfortable stay for two nights at Casa del fauno. The bungalow is located in the middle of nowhere overlooking the hills and the valley covered with tea and cardamom plantation perfect for people. As soon as you enter the place you are welcomed by the stunning fragrance of cardamom and a breathtaking view.
The main bungalow consists of three Deluxe rooms, a Dining and a lounge overlooking connected with the terrace garden. Besides the rooms in the main bungalow they also have three cottages which is a little walk from there. We were 7 friends and had all the three rooms in the main bungalow to ourselves, therefore had almost the entire bungalow to ourselves. The rooms, toilet and the bungalow have a beautiful ambiance, are hygienic and luxurious, comparable to european standards. Wood is a prominent feature in the entire bungalow including the rooms giving it a boutique heritage bungalow feel. One of the rooms has a terrace garden connected with it, and the view from the room is spectacular specially - the mornings.

The bungalow staff is extremely courteous and helpful being led by the owner of the bungalow - Sunni, who is an extremely helpful and a warm person. One example includes arranging wine for us at a short notice at a place - where there is nothing, no market for miles and miles.

I would definitely recommend this bungalow to anyone visiting Munnar, whether it be couples or friends looking to have a serene and a luxurious stay - surrounded by hills and the fragrance of Indian tea and spices.

Room Tip: Although all the rooms are extremely beautiful. Try getting the room connected with the terrace gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Fauno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Fauno

Address: Peak Gardens Chinnakanal P.O | Idduki Dist., Chinnakanal 685618, India
Location: India > Kerala > Chinnakanal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chinnakanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the flora and fauna of the Kannan Devan hills at Munnar. Munnar, one of the finest tourist destinations of South India beckons the visitor with its picturesque sights of lush green wilderness and pleasant weather. The beautiful landscapes and flourishing terrains are soothing to the eye and mind alike. The sprawling tea gardens all around are famous for their finely grown and delicately blended tea. Equally famous are the spice gardens with their tangy and mesmerizing smells that delight the senses all day long! These things are unique to Munnar that attract crowds in hundreds and thousands from around the world, all year long.In this land of exceptional natural beauty and wildlife, our charming country home is situated amidst a working cardamom plantation. The plantation is spread across hundred of acres and the home is located on a clearing dating back , built by the pioneering planters who set foot on these hills in 1880. Visiting this enchanting tourist spot will let you unwind and rejuvenate your weary mind and body. Make a date with the nature and experience the difference ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Fauno Kerala, India - Chinnakanal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Fauno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.