We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spa & Wellness Ismena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spa & Wellness Ismena to your Saves list
Spa & Wellness Ismena
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ul.Osvobozdenie, Devin 4800, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Devin
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A very pleasant hotel for couple of days. The houses are fantastic - big bedrooms on the second floor and big living room on the ground floor with fire place. Not very big spa facility but is OK. The region is great for traveling, however the surroundings does not look good in the winter.

Room Tip: The houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Tha place is very nice, almost isn tha mountin, the rooms are clean as well as the swimming pool. Tha staff is polite and everything is biuld in typical bulgarian style, which is very interesting for foregners. Also I has forgotten part of my luggage and the staff was so kind to bring it to me in Sofia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is in a wonderful location approximately 1.5 miles from the centre of Devin and offers excellent facilities including a large (although cold) swimming pool. The gardens are beautiful and the spa facilities are good.

We originally booked a chalet for a family but when quickly discovered it was down a mud track at the top of a steep hill. After a telephone call with the head office in Sofia we were eventually put into two apartments in the main complex which were well fitted out.

A part of the hotel (next to the outdoor pool) is under construction and the pool itself is overlooked to the rear by some houses, so you may be stared at by curious locals, but its not a major issue.

Staff on site were generally friendly and helpful with limited English. Unfortunately however, dinner is appalling, and comes overcooked and served swimming in old fat. But there are plenty of alternatives in Devin itself.

Room Tip: Dont book a chalet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at the Ismena Hotel during July 2011. It was quite a pleasant experience. The spa facilities and swimming pools were cleans and so were the rooms. Considering the generally lower standard in cleanness across the Bulgaria, the hotel was doing quite good.

The food was, well, mediocre. First, we received an amazing dinner, but as the number of guests in the hotel increased the food quality rapidly detoriated. On the other hand, breakfast was good and rich and it's quality increased with a large number of guests.

What decreased the quality of our stay was the service. The manager should teach the staff rudimentary manners like saying Hello, Thank you, You welcome and Goodbye. On occasions we could only receive the orders if we went to the bar and repeatedly asked for them. Ismena has a serious problem with some of their waiters' motivation.

Apart from the insufficient service, the stay at Ismena was a pleasant experience. If you are looking for a hotel in Devin, seemingly, Ismena is the best pick. Do not underestimate, however, the beautiful small hotels in the villages around Devin, too.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We staid at Ismena Complex for 4 nights during April 2011 for Easter. It was our second time there, after the Easter holidays last year.
We staid in a villa, having 2 bedrooms each with its own bathroom upstairs and a living room with a fireplace and bathroom at the ground floor.
The spa facilities are wonderful with 2 sauna (a dry and a wet one), one indoor swimming pool, a jacuzzi and a very cold small pool. Moreover they have a wide variety of massages and body treatments to offer.
The Staff was very helpful and always ready to serve us, even in the bbq area.
We really like the surroundings and I advice you to take advantage of the area and visit the Devils Throat and Yagodina caves, take the Devin ecopath and go to Orlovo Oko view point.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at the Ismena just before Christmas, and enjoyed the room and the general facilities. The houses are two storey duplexes with a large living room downstairs complete with downstairs toilet, and 2 en-suite bedrooms upstairs. The rooms are very large, furnished to a high standard, and comfortable. Certainly good value for money.
The swimming pool is not big, but very warm and made an enjoyable break from the cold mountain weather.
The restaurant staff were very welcoming and helpful, but sadly the food was disappointing. Everything was served swimming in oil, including breakfast.
Some of the English translations were amusing to the point of bafflement, particularly the instructions on using the shower!
However, we enjoyed our stay, and would go back, but maybe eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spa & Wellness Ismena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa & Wellness Ismena

Address: Ul.Osvobozdenie, Devin 4800, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Smolyan Province > Devin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Devin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spa & Wellness Ismena 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Spa & Wellness Ismena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spa & Wellness Ismena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.