We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gela

Hotel Gela
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Gela to your Saves list
Hotel Gela
| Gela, Gela, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gela
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited the hotel in the summer of 2013. The room was beautiful with huge and comfortable bed (a deluxe room with terrace on the second floor). The green yard is marvellous, especially for a starting-to-walk toddler like ours. Food was delicious. On the negative side - service was average and the prices were high. Watch out the heavy wooden cover of the radiator in the rooms - it is not fixed to the wall.

Room Tip: Second floor room with the terrace is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The quality ot this hotel seems to have worsen. The worst of all was the service. The personnel was just awful, not qualified and even hostile. The food was bad and the rooms were untidy. Our towels had traces of their previous users! The atmosphere was embarrassing. The waiter seemed to be crazy or at least unadequate!

Room Tip: Just choose another hotel, for example at Shiroka Luka.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gela359, General Manager at Hotel Gela, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Mrs.Ivanova, I am surprised with the comment you've made. How do you know about the service, quality etc. if you were not a guest of our hotel. Your name does not appear in the list of customers or you were incognito?
Obviously, you have some personal problems and you will enter in the list of guests, who are not welcome. Definitely this is not your hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel for one night. Unfortunately there was no-one in charge - the staff had apparently been left to their own devices and spoke no English. On the plus side our room and the hotel itself were very tastefully furnished and the location in the mountans was beautiful. Before we departed the next day a phone call came through from the manager who apologised for not being there as he was on holiday! This is quite unacceptable ... The least he could have done was ensure that there was someone in charge who knew how to treat hotel guests. Oh and one last thing .... We were charged for breakfast which was meant to be included in the room price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

A wonderful seven-day vacation in this lovely hotel. Small and very cozy. Spacious rooms, food preparation time had to wait a bit but we got very good quality food and excellent service.V surrounding area has developed several routes for walks..In the courtyard of the hotel has built a real Russian banya. Nature is unique

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The best thing was the room. We paid for the 'deluxe' room, and it was very big, bright, with a balcony. All the furniture, the floors and so on was natural wood (no made in China crap or Ikea). The bathroom was big, bright, with a deep tub and bath salts provided. The second best thing was the sauna/steam room spa area which was in a separate building. The food was local and fresh, but the cook needs some help. Some dishes were insipid in flavorings, but drowned in butter (wild mushrooms), others were extremely salted and very dry (veal sausage). The fresh die bread was fabulous adn the other dishes were fine. Breakfast was included, but this consisted of only one single crepe (albeit delicious). All other bulgarian hotels included some eggs, cheese and so son. The spa was very nice, but they need to attend to the details (as with most places in Bulgaria). However, the price was much too high in terms of value-for-dollar when compared to all the other hotels we stayed at (even given the organic type room). I would say the price should be about 20-25% lower. So I would say the previous reviews by other guests are quite accurate. I can't say that I would or would not recommend this hotel - it depends on your priorities. Oh yes, one awful thing was that at night the few local houses close by all burned firefood in their chimneys - perhaps wet one?- at any rate, it made it impossible to open the windows for fresh air -lest you wanted to feel like you are lying by a campfire. As there was no AC, it made the room very hot. They also had a little house in the yard with a grass roof, and chicken coop, bunnies and a fun dog, which I all liked.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We just got back from a 5 night stay here. The food is organic .Fresh naturally grown products. The best place for small kids:):)
Lovely wide grass field on the front of the hotel ,small farm with little rabits ,dog and cat - the kids just love it.
The hotel is very good, service is ok and recommend that hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Don’t get seduced by their nicely done, commercial website. Don’t go to Hotel Gela!! There are plenty of other better quality and yet cheaper options.

First, the service is terrible. We found the waiters / guides extremely unhelpful and even arrogant. We could only get information about walks, food, etc by asking the most specific questions. There was no spontaneous advice given because they wanted us to pay extra money for showing us the places to go for walks. They seemed completely bored yet arrogant at the same time.

Second, by Bulgarian standards, Hotel Gela is very expensive. However, it didn’t live up to expectations. It’s labeled as a “spa hotel” but the sauna and Turkish bath – 50 meters away from the hotel with construction debris in between - are only open from 17h to 20h (and only upon guests’ request). The result: a permanent smell of damp and a freezing cold “relaxation” room.

Third, the price includes breakfast but the quantity is completely insufficient: for example one small coffee and an extra bill for a second cup. They serve mainly salty pastries and almost leave you no choice on what to take - you have to take what is available this particular morning. Nobody is there to ask whether you wish something else.

The rooms were pleasant but overpriced and equipped to the minimum.

The general location is beautiful but we recommend to stay away from Hotel Gela!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gela

Address: | Gela, Gela, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Smolyan Province > Gela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.