We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fox and Hounds Country Hotel to your Saves list
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Preston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel lots of times. The welcoming and friendly staff make this a pleasant place to return to. I have stayed in the honeymoon suit,superior rooms and standard rooms.They are decorated to the highest standard. The beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms have larger than average baths. The standard rooms are less expensive but are still decorated to a high standard with coordinated bedding/curtains. There is a resident beautician. The bar has an open fire and an open plan restaurant. Food is of a very high standard. service is always efficient and friendly. Dogs are allowed in the bar. Breakfast is served in another restaurant. There is a wide choice and it is cooked to perfection. This hotel has beautiful views. A rear garden leads to a river and woodland walk. There is free Wi Fi. Dogs are allowed to stay in this hotel. A very relaxing hotel in lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 are the best rooms. You will pay more for these rooms but they are worth the extra. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoy your stays time and again with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    68
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
122
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nailsea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We recently stayed here for a family members 50th birthday and it was fantastic! The rooms were stunning, all with slightly different décor but incredibly luxurious. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was exceptional. We then followed by celebrating in the bar where the staff were happy to meet all of our needs. Unfortunately I didn't get her name but a particular member of staff with blonde hair really stood out as being helpful and friendly.
The only slight thin that I was upset with was that when paying the bill when checking out I found that I had been charged £5 on top of the charge of the food for room service meaning that I had to pay £12 for a cheese sandwich! If this was in the room service menu it certainly wasn't stated in large enough print because I would never have ordered this if I had known. Other than that it was perfection.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments to us. It was lovely having such a large group of you here to celebrate together; and I am pleased with all the comments I had from all the guests. I have passed on your comments to the 'lady in question' thank you for your kind words. We have taken your comments on board with regard to room service and have taken further measures to ensure that the room service charge is clearly stated for all to avoid any future misunderstanding. Please accept our apologies that this may not have been clear; but note that room service charges apply world wide in hospitality unless otherwise specified. We hope to see you again for another family occasion perhaps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went to. Celebrate my birthday and it was very enjoyable. However it is not in a village and if you want to dine out, be prepared for windy narrow lanes to get to the nearest pub but we opted to eat at the hotel, which was very good

Room Tip: Staff were very attentive, bed had a rather hard mattress and squeaky base if you sat on the edge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your response. I am pleased you enjoyed your country escape and were able to enjoy the hotel's AA rosette menu. We pride ourselves on being a country escape and hope to see you again soon; in perhaps sunnier weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We recently stayed here for a short break and it was absolutely lovely!
Service was excellent and attended to our every need. We had dinner on the first night which was delicious! Husband quoted it was the best steak he has ever had.
Room was clean and very nice decor.

Overall excellent hotel and if you want to stay in north Devon, pick here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Your review is most kind - we really appreciate your kind words. I hope you are able to visit again when we dry out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

What a gem, I was tired no room planned and just stumbled across this delightful resting house, food was amazing and staff were only to happy to please, great rates and set in a fantastic location, please try this, family run business and everyone signing from the same hymn sheet, a shear delight and will definitely use again and again....

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you Mr Cox - we are very glad you stumbled upon us and hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Held our wedding at the Fox and Hounds last weekend, and what a fantastic day it was. Gill and the team really pulled out the stops for us, anything we needed was catered for. We would highly recommend this hotel for any function or stay over. The food was amazing, the rooms are lovely and clean and there is a very nice relaxed atmosphere to the place. Couldn't have asked for more on our wedding day, so thank you to all at the Fox and Hounds (especially Gill- our wedding coordinator!)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
You are so welcome and thank you for choosing us to host your special day. We are so pleased you and the family enjoyed your time with us and hope you come back before the anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an excellent two night break. Check in soothe and friendly. Room with 4 poster very good free wifi and excellent huge bath. Evening meal exceptional. Slept well. Breakfast very good with some good choices over the usual full devon breakfast. Any changes required no problem. Food so good booked for second evening meal. Got a bit noisy with a visiting group but did not detract and soon settled when they left. Menu varied. Good range of unusual starters. Partridge and rabbit rillets tried both excellent. Haunch of venison perfect and very tender. Sirloin steaks very flavoursome great onions rings. Aciete of chocolate dreamy. Pecan pie delish. Very talented catering team. Looking forward to a return visit

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarakell, Owner at Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we look forward to seeing you back in sunny Devon soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox and Hounds Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox and Hounds Country Hotel

Address: Eggesford, Chulmleigh EX18 7JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Chulmleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chulmleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fox and Hounds Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the stunning Taw valley bordering the River Taw the hotel enjoys a beautiful location in the peaceful unspoiled Devon countryside. Great walks and an ideal location from which to explore a much loved area. We offer excellent quality food, comfortable accommodation and public areas with a Proper Devonshire welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fox and Hounds Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox and Hounds Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.