We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel l'Escale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel l'Escale to your Saves list
Hotel l'Escale
Rue de la Mer, 62179 Escalles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escalles
Portsmouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Spent a night here after travelling through the tunnel, and we were very pleased with our choice. The room was clean, comfortable and recently refurbished, the staff were friendly, and the restaurant was excellent. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    119
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
164
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
banbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After reading previous reviews we decided to book this hotel for a night after a late afternoon tunnel crossing, as we had a two year old, we wanted to break up the long journey and start fresh for our long drive through France. The hotel is in a quiet location not far from the terminal with plenty of free parking, our room had an en suite shower and was clean and tidy and was over the restaurant where we had a pleasant evening meal. The hotel also had a kids play area which our two year old made good use of.
Breakfast was continental with plenty to choose from, this hotel is ideal for an overnight stop close to Calais.

Room Tip: Our room was over the restaurant and the sound from below could be heard slightly but it did not bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed and eaten here. The fact we returned here speaks for itself. This was the last stop of a three week driving tour of France.
The room, in the converted house across the road from the restaurant, was sufficiently large for our one night stay and convenient for the reception and breakfast room. You would want larger room if you stayed for several nights. It happened to be one of several with good and easy wheelchair access which we didn't need. WiFi was iffy as commented before, but on our previous stay in a different part of the hotel it was fine.Reception was very helpful and took several freezer packs we wanted frozen down for our last shop and return to UK.
The restaurant menu was extensive and strong on fish and seafood options. Our choices were very well presented and exceeded our normal expectations. Service was good. would recommend it it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE England
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel was OK for an overnight stay on our way to the ferry. I did not find the reception staff very welcoming. The room was clean, but the decor was dated, dark and dull. The bathroom was clean and the shower good, but it was small. The WiFi service was patchy and we could not access it all of the time.

This hotel was not the best value for money that we experienced on this trip, even considering we booked on line at a reduced rate.

There is a good car park, but If you arrive later in the day it could be full when the hotel is busy.

I would not recommend this hotel and will choose another on my next trip.

The restaurant is situated in a separate building across the road and is run as a separate business. I have reviewed this under the restaurant entry

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire uk
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I enjoyed my one night stay having travelled from the tunnel, but then I have always liked any hotel approved by Logis de France. Drove up to Cap Blanc Nez. Good shower, extra pillows in wardrobe; I liked the Logis logo on all the towels and mats. Good breakfast with wide choice of cheese, cold meats, fruit juices and cereals; do remember that French milk always tastes different from what you probably have in the UK. The bar at restaurant opposite was dead at 9 pm people from restaurant started leaving about this time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Went to L'Escale for lunch in the restaurant on a very hot, very busy day on our way home via the channel tunnel after a visit to Belgium.

The restaurant was extremely busy, but we were shown to a relatively quiet table overlooking the garden. Our drinks choices arrived promptly, together with an un-asked-for carafe of tap water, which was very welcome in the heat.

The lady serving us was clearly run off her feet, but she took our order correctly and in due time we were served a sharing platter of beautiful, huge prawns with a lovely sauce, followed by moules/frites, two steaks and a duck confit. It was all totally delicious.

By the time we had finished, the restaurant was starting to empty out, and so our lovely waitress was much less stressed and had time to exchange a bon mot or two with us.

We have been past this restaurant many many times without turning in, and I am sure that now, we will DEFINITELY return.

Very good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have recently had our 3rd stay at this hotel. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. The restaurant is extremely good and very reasonable. Good place for a weekend stay in order to visit the surrounding area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel l'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel l'Escale

Address: Rue de la Mer, 62179 Escalles, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Escalles
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Escale Hotel is located near the beautiful national site of the Cap Blanc Nez and 14 km from Cap Gris Nez. The property is surrounded by a family for over 50 years with easy access from the A16 motorway, exits 39 or 40, the ferries and Eurotunnel are 20 minutes and 10 minutes respectively. Hotel Tourism and Handicap label for disabled people, we offers the best value for your evenings with rooms equipped with all comforts, flat screen TV and internet wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel l'Escale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Escale Hotel Escalles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel l'Escale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.