We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the one and only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Escale Hotel Restaurant

Save Saved
You added L'Escale Hotel Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Escale Hotel Restaurant
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Mer, 62179 Escalles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Escalles
jarrow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“not the one and only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

my wife and me have stayed at this hotel a few times in ths past and always had great service etc, it was with this in mind we turned on spec on thursday 1st november 2012 (yes in the middle of the school holidays) only to be turned away from both the hotel and restaurant. Disappointed we were about to drive away when I spotted a chambre d'hote just down the road on asking there we got a double room in the annex for 60 euro for the night including breakfast, a saving of approx 30 euro!! we then went to the Restaurant de Cap and were given a great table and had an excellent 4 course meal with wine for just over 70 euro again quite a bit cheaper than the other place!!! so the motto of the story is not to wear blinkers or rose tinted specs!!!!

Room Tip: don't hem yourselves in, there are other options close at hand
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    92
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
127
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have visited this hotel's restaurant on several occasions for lunch and we have enjoyed the food but we have never stayed overnight in the hotel. The hotel is in the centre of the quiet village and comprises three or four separate buildings centred around the reception area. The staff were friendly and welcoming. They showed us to our room which was clean and comfortable. The towels were excellent and worthy of a special mention. There was television with provision of the main British channels. There was free WiFi access. Dinner was served in the Restaurant which was on the other side of the road [but very little traffic uses this road at night]. The choice of food was excellent and it was well-prepared and well-presented. Food is only served between 7 and 9 pm but even at the beginning of October the restaurant was reasonably full and had a 'buzzy' atmosphere. The value-for-money in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was served in the area beside the reception. It would be described as a Continental breakfast but it was served to the table by a very pleasant waitress and the quality and quantity of the food was amazingly good. The breakfast cost 8 euros per person. This hotel has been a very special find which is so close to Calais and convenient for ferries and the Eurotunnel.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

September 16th – 19th, 2012: our 30th visit to this outstanding, family-run hotel which, to us, has always been far more than the name (“Stop Over”) suggests. As well as staying overnight en route to the South of France or back to England, we have found the Pas-de-Calais area rich in its offerings, the hotel being an ideal base from which to explore the Côte d’Opale, down to the Somme and up into Belgium. The hotel, as well as the village itself, is charmingly picturesque ad it is hard to believe it is so close to Calais.
Rooms are beautifully clean, en-suite and comfortable, many with excellent views; the garden area is a delight with its beautiful flowers and children’s play area. Over the past 20 years, my children and, more recently, my grandchildren have used the play area, as well as the tennis courts and the boules pitches. The welcome is always warm and nothing is ever too much trouble, be it putting freezer packs into the freezer or calling a mechanic when the car has broken down. The staff take their tone from the owners: Monsieur and Madame Liétard are eminently professional and pleasant with all their guests – a cosmopolitan mix, mainly British, Belgians, a few Germans and, less frequently, French. They do have rooms for 5, which were ideal when we had three children, as well as accommodation for the disabled, with dedicated parking.
Cold drinks or tea can be purchased throughout the day, refreshing after a walk along the beach at Blanc Nez or descending from the top of the cliff, where the impressive monument to the Dover Patrol dominates the skyline and looks out onto the white cliffs at the other side of the Channel. Breakfast, served in the extensive breakfast area at the main hotel, is excellent, and very good value at 8 euros 50: fruit juice, a hot drink (replenished as you need); cereals, croissants, baguettes, a range of other breads; cold meats and cheeses; ‘boil your own’ eggs.
The bar and restaurant are at the other side of the road; drinks are reasonably priced and the restaurant, run by Mme Liétard’s sister, Madame Bourdon, offers a range of menus, starting at 16 euros; confirming your booking is recommended – the restaurant is invariably busy and they were unable to take us on the one evening we had not booked. Seafood is a speciality but, for carnivores like me, the steak is very good and the veal chop excellent.
I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel: many members of our extended family and friends have enjoyed a stay here and none of us has ever been disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'chambre superieure' - about 10 euros per night more, but more roomy. There is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a no pretence hotel with basic accommodation but so well situated for the tunnel to Uk, visiting the Cote d'Opale, walking along the coast, eating superb fish and sea food and chilling. The profusion of flowers on the house and outbuildings is very welcoming. The staff are getting friendlier every year- they tell me they have taken advice from customers and it shows. The breakfast is now more varied with eggs and is plentiful. The restaurant across the road is excellent value for money; 25€ for a seafood platter with crab is quite impressive. I will keep on going back and recommend this place to you.

Room Tip: The road outside the hotel gets very busy early in the morning so try to ask for a room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Basic hotel, ideal for those travelling to and from UK. Close to channel tunnel, easy to find.

Clean rooms, everything works as it should. We found the restaurant (which is actually across the road from the hotel) weren't pleased to us even though we'd booked a table for 9:30 and arrived before 9:00. By 10 o'clock, everything was in darkness, bar closed too. Strange, although apparently not in some parts of France.

Worth considering due to its location, cleanliness, decent continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here having come through the tunnel to Calais. Very convenient from there. Pleasant environment and very nice for a walk to the sea. We had two rooms, one on the first floor and the other on the ground floor. Both were at the front of the hotel which, especially for the ground floor was a little noisy. The main problem with the rooms were the use of incontinence sheets under the bottom sheet on the bed. This meant the bed was soon hot from the plastic and rustled every time you moved! Disappointing. Staff very friendly at the hotel and breakfast adequate (€8.50). We had a meal at the restaurant next door which is part of the hotel but you pay separately. Food fine though slow in coming. That didn't matter to us though.
If I was to stay here again I would like a room at the rear and would remove the horrible plastic sheets before I got into bed.

Room Tip: Try one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardstone
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel several times over the years & it gets better all the time. The entrance courtyatd is full of flowers. Tthe grandchildren love the play area and ample grounds. The hotel staff are always friendly & speak esome english. The rooms very well kept. Breakfasts are very ample indeed with bread, croissants, yogurts, cheeses & a buffet to help yourself. The restaurant is also excellent & busy-always a good sign, The beach is 400yds down a lane with parking - lots of walks nearby & only 10 mins from Calais. We will return soon-great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Escale Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escale Hotel Restaurant

Address: Rue de la Mer, 62179 Escalles, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Escalles
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Escalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Escale Hotel Restaurant 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Escale Hotel Restaurant is located near the beautiful national site of the Cap Blanc Nez and 14 km from Cap Gris Nez. The property is surrounded by a family for over 50 years with easy access from the A16 motorway, exits 39 or 40, the ferries and Eurotunnel are 20 minutes and 10 minutes respectively. Hotel Tourism and Handicap label for disabled people, we offers the best value for your evenings with rooms equipped with all comforts, flat screen TV and internet wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your L'Escale Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Escale Hotel Escalles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Escale Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.