We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place and return every year.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Escale Hotel Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added L'Escale Hotel Restaurant to your Saves list
L'Escale Hotel Restaurant
Rue de la Mer, 62179 Escalles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escalles
Gex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“We love this place and return every year.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a no pretence hotel with basic accommodation but so well situated for the tunnel to Uk, visiting the Cote d'Opale, walking along the coast, eating superb fish and sea food and chilling. The profusion of flowers on the house and outbuildings is very welcoming. The staff are getting friendlier every year- they tell me they have taken advice from customers and it shows. The breakfast is now more varied with eggs and is plentiful. The restaurant across the road is excellent value for money; 25€ for a seafood platter with crab is quite impressive. I will keep on going back and recommend this place to you.

Room Tip: The road outside the hotel gets very busy early in the morning so try to ask for a room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    110
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
66
155
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
essex
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Basic hotel, ideal for those travelling to and from UK. Close to channel tunnel, easy to find.

Clean rooms, everything works as it should. We found the restaurant (which is actually across the road from the hotel) weren't pleased to us even though we'd booked a table for 9:30 and arrived before 9:00. By 10 o'clock, everything was in darkness, bar closed too. Strange, although apparently not in some parts of France.

Worth considering due to its location, cleanliness, decent continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here having come through the tunnel to Calais. Very convenient from there. Pleasant environment and very nice for a walk to the sea. We had two rooms, one on the first floor and the other on the ground floor. Both were at the front of the hotel which, especially for the ground floor was a little noisy. The main problem with the rooms were the use of incontinence sheets under the bottom sheet on the bed. This meant the bed was soon hot from the plastic and rustled every time you moved! Disappointing. Staff very friendly at the hotel and breakfast adequate (€8.50). We had a meal at the restaurant next door which is part of the hotel but you pay separately. Food fine though slow in coming. That didn't matter to us though.
If I was to stay here again I would like a room at the rear and would remove the horrible plastic sheets before I got into bed.

Room Tip: Try one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardstone
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel several times over the years & it gets better all the time. The entrance courtyatd is full of flowers. Tthe grandchildren love the play area and ample grounds. The hotel staff are always friendly & speak esome english. The rooms very well kept. Breakfasts are very ample indeed with bread, croissants, yogurts, cheeses & a buffet to help yourself. The restaurant is also excellent & busy-always a good sign, The beach is 400yds down a lane with parking - lots of walks nearby & only 10 mins from Calais. We will return soon-great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on the way back from The Dordogne rather than the usual mad dash round the Hypermarket and leaping onto the ferry. On arrival the welcome was very pleasant and the room was clean, tidy and perfectly acceptable for a short stay. The shower room and separate loo were on the tiny size, but for 2 nights it mattered not. The bed was very comfortable and unlike one or two other hotels of this nature, late night noise was at a minimum.
We paid the 8.50 euros for breakfast and thought it was well worth the money. It was 'semi self service' with a good range to get the day off to a well filled start.
Had I been travelling with my grandchildren,the small play area would have been an added bonus: a nice touch missing from so many other hotels like this. There were tables, chairs and sun-loungers available for those wanting to soak up the sun.
The hotel is ideally situated for the Eurostar Terminal, about 10 mins max and it's also a pleasant drive along the coast road into Calais. There's a beach about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and there a couple of marked walks you can do.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the meal and service was excellent. Prices ranged from about 10 euro for an omlette to a 30 odd for a set menu, with various price points in between.
It's very popular and I recommend reserving a table, or eating later, as we did when the 1st sitting had departed.

The only issue was on the second evening when we'd lunched late and only wanted a drink in the bar/restaurant. It was obvious that the lady in charge wasn't the slightest bit interested in serving drinks to the 8 or so customers in the bar. Unlike pretty much every other bar I've been to in France we all had to go to the bar and order our drinks. My proferred note was pretty much snatched from my hand and the few cents change I was due weren't offered either. Two other couples and I exchanged glances and we didn't need a common language to communicate our thoughts on the service. One man was so fed up waiting for a second beer that he helped himself to 1/2 a glass in desperation.
After this we went to the bar at the campsite down the road where service was as good as this was bad.
I won't let this incident prevent me from returning to the hotel as everything else about the place very good, but the bar experience was a classic example of grim customer service. Next time I'm straight off to the camp site bar!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We have been stopping here for overnight stays several times a year for 10 years. The hotel just keeps getting better. The owners and staff are extremely helpful and polite (something that some hotels can fall down on). The small flower arrangements in the grounds in the summer are most attractive. The hotel is becoming more popular but this has not affected the service or comfort. Breakfast is on site but the restaurant (which is across the road) for other meals is not part of the hotel and is under separate management. The restaurant is busy most of the year and like the hotel the owners and staff are helpful and polite. To sum up, a pleasant place to stay with English speaking helpful staff and owners. Highly recommended. We love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in the hotel a few years back and while we weren't totally thrilled by the room (I think we were in the old part which is apparently not as good as the newer section) the food in the restaurant was lovely. In fact, we have just returned from France and stopped at the restaurant again for lunch before getting the train back to the UK and had a fantastic meal. Moules-frites, in portions that were so huge that we couldn't finish them! The restaurant was busy with French and English clients and the service was polite, friendly and quick. Not sure I would stay in the hotel again (just not my taste in decor etc though the managers were very friendly and accommodating) but would definitely eat here again. Great French food and at a very reasonable price too.

Room Tip: From what I have heard, the newer rooms are slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Escale Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escale Hotel Restaurant

Address: Rue de la Mer, 62179 Escalles, France
Location: France > Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Pas-de-Calais > Escalles
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Escale Hotel is located near the beautiful national site of the Cap Blanc Nez and 14 km from Cap Gris Nez. The property is surrounded by a family for over 50 years with easy access from the A16 motorway, exits 39 or 40, the ferries and Eurotunnel are 20 minutes and 10 minutes respectively. Hotel Tourism and Handicap label for disabled people, we offers the best value for your evenings with rooms equipped with all comforts, flat screen TV and internet wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Escale Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Escale Hotel Escalles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Escale Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.