We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful home in serenity away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norwood Green

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Norwood Green to your Saves list
Norwood Green
Village Lohna | Bundla Tea Estate, Palampur 176061, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Palampur B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful home in serenity away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We're an all girls gang and love to travel. Due to living in Delhi, where everything is so complex, made up, we always try exploring places which are off beat, not so popular yet worth every bit of our breath. And this time it was Palampur, District Kangra, Himachal Pradesh. We had decided to do some adventure and decided to go North for paragliding. We chose our base as palampur since other places in Kangra are pretty flooded with tourists. Plus we wanted to relax and stay where the pace of life is somewhat easy.

This place just happened to be found by one of my dearest friends while we were just surfing options on the internet. And in Palampur, there can't be a better place than Norwood Green, a home stay run by a very hospitable, enthusiastic and young entrepreneur who knows how to take care of his guests. We had a holistic experience to our stay only because there is a personal touch in everything this place has to offer. The staff has been trained really well to take care of your needs, from food to anything that you might need in a home. The property is exquisite in both interiors and exteriors, done by someone who has an eye for detail and only good things in life. This place is impeccable and soothing to your mind. The surroundings are serene with lush green tea gardens spread over a huge space, spectacular sights of mountains, walking trails, streams not so far. Basically, everything that you might ask for at a place to unwind and gather yourself until you take your your next break. This place will make you look forward to your next visit. It’ll create a huge calling to its self.

If you need to delve deeper into yourself, you need an environment, and believe me, this place has in it to offer you that, the calm, the peace, the tranquility, and everything that you keep looking for in a bustling city, where you can probably never find it.

We were sad to leave the place but extremely elated and glad that we have found something to add on to our travel diary to look forward in our future. We found an experience to share and relive again whenever we are in need of a great change to break the monotony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We reached Norwood Green at 6pm lock stock & barrel for a 2 day holiday driving from Ludhiana. The drive was not so good due to condition of roads in HImachal Pradesh till Kangra but once we turned towards Palampur everything seemed to be becoming more serene and maintained. All along our journey we were in touch with Karan Grewal the owner of the property for directions.
He sent his person to meet us at Subhash Chowk so that we could be escorted in the last leg of our journey, which is slightly tricky if you miss a turn or take a wrong one.
The young man,"Sanjay" on blue motorcycle with white shirt who had come to meet us was to become our man friday. Sanjay took care of all our needs along with a team of well mannered, highly dedicated and knowledgeable staff.
PYARELAL the chef was brilliant, the fare he cooked for us every single day was finger licking. Taking care of everybody's taste from 2 yr old to 65 yr old. His Bharwan Aloo, Tikka's, Kichdi, Palak Matar and everything else was as sumptuous as it can get.
The cottages are very comfortable, equipped with every amenity and facility possible. The quality of Linen, Upholstry, Fittings, Bed, Mattresses, Pillows and everything else is 5 Star deluxe plus.
It was great value for money, and the personal attention without being intrusive is unparalleled. We wish Karan and his team the best and hope they are able to keep this hidden gem shining always. Thank you Norwood Green, look forward to visit again next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Have you ever been cuddled by nature? Have you ever felt time has stopped and you don't remember the date? We just did.

Norwood Greens is a unique experience. Luxury at its premium and architecture that justifies its existence.It gives you the feel that Huts have not been constructed but grown in nature.

Sitting in the tea gardens, these 5 star Huts are unique and gives you a unforgettable experience.
There is plenty to explore beyond the boundaries of its premises and conducted "Day trips" organised by management are extremely personalized.

Food is awesome and special care is taken to suit individual's taste buds.
last but not the least, don't miss paragliding which is the highlight of that valley.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location as well as the service - both - simply take your breath away ....!! Completely unexpected --- now let me not raise the BAR too high and you end up expecting the WORLD ...!! But if you're looking for a quality holiday ..... THIS IS THE PLACE.

The times we wanted peace and quiet - we got that ...!!! And the times when we wanted fun and adventure - we got that too.

The property has an IMPRESSIVE collection of hi-end bicycles - and the pleasure of riding through the tea estates............ is SOMETHING ELSE ....!!!

I'm strongly considering making another trip to the place.........!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A trip to this beautiful hill station is just not the same if you have not stayed at this splendid secret of palampur NORWOOD GREEN'S.... We were greeted by a representative of the property in the central part of town who guided us directly to the property.. Even though we had reached very late in the night the cottages were a delight with the first sight of blooming petunias, pansies and roses... The car drives right upto your cottage with a reserved parking for your vehicle.. You enter the fantastic cottage with your staff in attendance awaiting with a welcome drink and the fresh lemon grass scent filling the air... The cottage is plush with every facility you can think of... All the modern amenities flat screen televisions with satellite tv in each room, electric kettle with an unlimited supply of coffee, tea & kangra green tea... Extremely comfortable beds and pillows to sink into... Very very clean toilets, showers... Fresh clean smelling towels, bathrobes, slippers... Staff at your beck and call... It's like walking into a five star service cottage... You slide the doors from your living room and you are in the lap of tea gardens which extend for 30 acres around you, dotted with trees which supports a host of beautiful birds, as you move your eyes above you see the splendid sight of snow capped dhuladhar mountain ranges.... The serene peaceful environs are somewhere you just don't want to leave... We ordered food as to our liking and tastes customising the spice level for children to the amount of oil... We had lovely picnic baskets packed for us on our day trips...the real gem of the property is the owner Karan Grewal a real knowledgeable & affable personality who plans all your activities from paragliding, to cycling to the tea factory ( the resort provides bicycles for a nominal fee) making it a wonderful activity... Fly fishing, trips to the monastery can all be organised and most activities are in the vicinity of 25 mins to 70 mins, mornings you can do your yoga with the mountain fresh air, followed by fresh orange juice or tea plucked fresh from the gardens and brewed perfectly.... In the evenings the staff set up a wonderful bonfire, while the kids can busy themselves with table tennis on the premises, or snuggle in for a hot chocolate and a late night movie in bed... All in all the most tastefully appointed rooms, wonderful courteous staff a holiday which our 3 days seemed to be too little is calling for a return to this paradise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a weekend , place is managed by a young Man Karan , the first and the only guest house or a home stay or I may call it 5 star ,to spic & span best facility in Palampur the construction is very modern with a great view ,the package includes foods and tea coffee, they take you out for a panic and give nice lunch basket , the staff is very helpful , place is very clean , bonfire every night , location is very suitable .
You have paragliding near , trekking , Ayurvedic Spa , tea gardens , and lots more do .
We will come here again .

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Norwood Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norwood Green

Address: Village Lohna | Bundla Tea Estate, Palampur 176061, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Palampur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Palampur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Norwood Green' cottages are fully decorated & equipped with modern amenities. We are a home stay nested in bundla tea estate, Palampur. Each cottage has 4 rooms with attached bathrooms. The cottage has in house dining, kitchen, lounge, veranda overlooking tea gardens & dhauladhar mountain ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Norwood Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norwood Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.