We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seclude, Palampur

Save Saved
You added Seclude, Palampur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seclude, Palampur
Chichian-Mathrehar Road | Chichian Nagari, Teh & Distt Palampur, Palampur 176061, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Palampur B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The way one would want their own out-house to be designed... Seclude is a warm, comfortable and all-encompassing home stay in a typical off-beat Himalayan village, off Palampur town.

Open the windows and you have a postcard view of terraced wheat fields, village homes, calf-paths and the Himalayas.

The owners (Sethis - brilliant people :)), ensure you have a great homely stay, without intruding in your personal vacation space. The staff helps you out with whatever you want, and cook up some really good home food. We spent 2 nights here, but would have loved to stay longer for sure.

A must-visit experience for someone wanting to just relax with a bottle of wine, a book and some light music with a view to die for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I went there with my friends with an idea to spend a few days in total peace. And belive me, we simply got it there!!
Palampur has nothing much in itself, we understood this before reaching, but since we already had made reservation, we had to go, so we planned to leave for dharmshala next day, but when we reached there, that place made us to stay for 2 more days, with no sightseeing at all. its not just Seclude, but its the location as well where it is situated. Both of them toghether made our trip. It has only 4 rooms, and it was our luck that no other guest was staying there. it felt like we are having our own bunglow in heaven (Specially during sunrise & sunset).

Last advice:- whom-so-ever plannig to visit there, Ask the cook to make cold coffee. He simply make the best cold coffee, I have ever tasted...

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms are there, Ask for the 1 with a round bed. its the biggest room, with beautiful view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Noida , null, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was there for 1 night with couple of friends and we had an awesome experience. This place really lives upto its name. The staff is nice and will do everything to meet your expectation. Room are nice big and airy.
A wonderful experience, and I shall return with my family.

Room Tip: corner room on the first floor. Speak to Sansar ji for direction, as this place is 11 km before P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

All I can say is after a winding search for the place when we finally landed with the help of the caretaker (who personally came down to chichian point to escort us) it was all worth the effort.... The place and the surround was just perfect. We were a 11 memeber family with age groups ranging from 9-80 and everyone had something good to take home- be it the lovely food served on the machaan, the amazing dhauladhar view or the pet dog julie we loved it el tal.... And it was a discovery made thanks to trip advisor. A must visit:))

Room Tip: There is one suite with one master bed and one round bed for kids... An ideal one for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Seclude, Palampur gives you the rare opportunity of a comfortable stay amidst nature. The scenic surroundings coupled with tastefully done interiors and the ever smiling and cordial caretakers take the Homestay experience to greater heights. The low point being insufficient linens,towels and no toiletry provided by them. Also the meal charges are exorbitant to the point of being outlandish. The management can take a lesson or two in this regard from the camps/hotels/homestays of this genre. Though we would like to visit the place again, they need to seriously revisit the food charges which are at par with prices at the Taragarh palace Hotel !!

Room Tip: the larger room in first floor is the best. The corner rooms have better veiw of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had made the reservations 2 months in advance & while on our way to the place, when we called the property, the caretaker was not even aware of the booking. While the property can has only 3 double bedrooms & one 4 bedded room, apart from us another 10 were booked. The caretaker was helpless in this matter as the bookings are done in Delhi. We were ultimately given a room which was not as per booking & very small to accommodate an extra bed. When we called up Delhi, we were told to check out if we did not like what was given. Our checking out would have certainly resolved they issues with other travellers & we were determined to ensure that this did not happen.

The next day an entourage of 7 people checked in & also brought a pet dog. They refused to keep the pet outside & brought it in the room, which was next to our room on the first floor. Smell & hair were everywhere. No response from Delhi again.

The property is actually a bunglow & stairs to the upper floor are from the kitchen. The dog also peed in the kitchen. The caretaker could not prevent anything that was going on.

Power failure is a constant feature & the arrangement made is an inverter, which does not get power for adequate duration to even charge the batteries. This is actually a very serious issue, since the property is having all bedrooms facing east & another window on the west. The rooms become extremely hot with slate roof & no false ceiling. Simply unbearable.

In the 7 people entourage, 5 were jains. They practically took over as if it was their residence & started dictating terms to the caretaker, who prepared food & tried to improvise it for others.

The caretaker as an individual provides good service & is helpless in these things.

If there are large groups, the management should not make other bookings as it causes a lot of inconvenience to others. You won't even have a place to sit & chat

Exorbitant charges are levied for very simple food of Roti, Subzi, Dal & Rice & a soup. Rs. 300/- per person per meal.

The only positive aspect is that the place is located in a small village & away from the busy area.

Overall not worth the money because of sheer mismanagement & lack of rules coupled with arrogance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I'm sold! A perfect getaway and added to my travel favorite list. On vacation, I love staying in a bed&breakfast versus hotels. This place is great. A unique place to enjoy the seasons of Himachal Pradesh. The property has four bedrooms which are cozy, comfortable and clean. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms with an amazing view of the mountains and a round bed for the children.... How fun! We had the entire place to ourselves which was great. We went in February and the evenings were cold. The rooms were heated by wood burning stoves which we liked. It was great sitting on the balcony in the morning and just looking at the mountain views. The mountains are so gorgeous. The innkeepers are genuinely nice and they made delicious meals. They were really patient with our kids and gave us a great time. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seclude, Palampur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seclude, Palampur

Address: Chichian-Mathrehar Road | Chichian Nagari, Teh & Distt Palampur, Palampur 176061, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Palampur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Palampur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our four bedroom hamlet, built in the local style of architecture with wood n slate, is nestled in a valley with snow capped mountains on one side and fields all around. Each room has en-suite bathrooms, double beds, soft linen and amazing views. A large living room and open balconies act as common areas to unwind. Home-made food made with local produce, fresh fruits, milk and honey is served with simplicity and flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seclude, Palampur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seclude, Palampur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.