We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice HPTDC property for a quiet weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tea Bud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palampur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tea Bud
Save
You added The Tea Bud to your Saves list
Palampur, Himachal Pardesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd, Palampur 176061, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Palampur B&B and Inns
Dehradun
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice HPTDC property for a quiet weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was my second visit to the Tea Bud. I prefer government properties when I travel away from major cities and metros. They all have a more or less same kind of appeal. The locations are always good with parking facility, but they lag in customer service. For me, it was a hassle-free stay both times. I stayed for one night both times and i drove to Palampur both times. It is always enchanting when you wake up to the chilly and fresh air of the hills. The service at Tea Bud is manageable. The Himachali people as such are straight forward and simple. If you want to go to places such as Baijnath, Dharamshala, Mcleodganj, it serves as a great base for such excursions. The restaurant at the hotel is nice and it serves good local food as well.
Overall perfect for a quiet weekend trip with your friends or family.

Room Tip: The snow clad mountains are better visbile from west facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amritsar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed there this 14-15 March 2014. This was my 2nd stay there after 15 years, and the place still excited me. This is an HPTDC property and so very well maintained. You can check its availability online on HPTDC website. The location is very central. It has a huge space in and around it with abundant parking. The best part is its big lawn area which gives a wonderful view and a 'close to nature feel'. The rooms are decent as we stayed in super deluxe category. Every room has a spacious balcony with it. All the basic amenities have been provided. The staff is very helpful and cheerful esp. the guy named Pankaj. The food was also very good and reasonably priced.

Overall: This is not a 5 star property, but there are many things that make it even better and at a very decent price. Thank you 'T-BUD' :-)

Room Tip: try to get a super deluxe room if you are a couple, and if you are a big group or family, do book th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We visited Palampur in middle of August 2013 and had booked Tea Bud's Deluxe Cozy room facing the front of the hotel property.
We had initially thought of booking some alternate resorts supposed to be in Palampur but thankfully we opted Tea Bud because after reaching there we found that many of the resorts we had initially thought of were kind of on town outskirts .

Tea Bud was hardly 2 Kms (may be 2.5 at max) from Palampur main market/Bus stand and still it was away from the town hustle bustle. The best surprise was that there were these acres of tea plantations like 300 meters from the resort that offered great walks in evening.

Pros-
1. Location is great- Stone throw away from Tea gardens, "Neugal Khad". Near to Palampur Tea factory and Maranda station- to enjoy the toy train.
2. The hotel property is well maintained - clean rooms and washrooms , clean lawns .
3. Ample car parking.
4. Very courteous staff right from the reception guy to the waiters.
5. Inhouse restaurant Food quality is good.

Cons-
1. You should choose the room wisely- not all rooms have separate balconies attached (ofcourse tarrifs differ).
2. The food although good is a tad costly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A very average property with excellent views and warm staff.Close to the Tea estates and the main market.A good lawn to enjoy time with friends & family.Close to a river location for a picnic.Decent rooms with good homely food.Extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is a decent stay. You will get good quality food and excellent room services. However the maintainance of room is not that good. The rooms have good view of park and its very calm environment all around. You can spend 1 night easily in the middle of nature. Right apposite to it is tea estates and 3-4 km away you will get saurabh van vihar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The tea bud is average tending to good. The room was clean and well kept with the balcony an added bonus. Their restaurant was just functional with not too many options but the food was fresh,plentiful and tasty. It was a good base from which to explore the rather charming town of Palampur and its sorroundings.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Tea Bud, a Govt enterprise is one huge property in Palampur. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. But the food quality isnt that great... The gardens are not well maintained.. Overall a decent property for short stays or halt between trips stay..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tea Bud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tea Bud

Address: Palampur, Himachal Pardesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd, Palampur 176061, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Palampur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Palampur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tea Bud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.