We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommendable :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Capri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Capri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Capri
Autopista Las Americas Km.32 Numero 34 | esq J.B. Vicini, Boca Chica 10700, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Boca Chica B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very recommendable :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was in the dominican republic for the week of good friday 2013. and i have to say this hotel is where am going to stay everything time i go... it was clean , organized. the rooms where big and it had its own balcony. there was air conditioner and no bugs. This hotel is very safe and everything is near by.

Pros: There is a burger king and food spots near by and a place to change money. the bar drinks are not included inside the hotel. the manager is very helpful as well as the doorman.

Cons : the hotel doesnt provide food.. the bar opens at 2pm and close by 10...

Room Tip: the room i stayed in was 103 .. you dont hear outside noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
18
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Don't be lulled by the name. This is no Capri. If you can get passed your room smelling like fecal matter, the scent so strong Raid bug spray won't even kill the smell nor the giant size Dr. Moreau mosquitos lying in wait for you: Congratulations, you are a survivor! The Navy SEALS can use you.

You gain sublime knowledge that you are some how paying something forward or settling a karmic debt after enduring a night on a bed with spring that sticks into your back, side, thigh.

After you rub out the multiple lacerations and indentations in your body, you regain your self loathing (that even for you, you went beyond cheap).

But, ever a masochist, you bravely go where you must: The bathroom. The intermittent spray of extreme cold and hot water shooting from the shower head in the one direction it can, at your feet, wakens brings you to total awareness that you've been had by false advertising.

You have faith.

You know you have purged at least some sins after you've scraped the top level of your skin off with the hemp for towels (the rags I use to clean my house are softer and in better condition).

Furthermore, you are smugly satisfied because you had brought your own soap and somehow beat Villa Capri's management's sadism in having no amenities. Their sadism doesn't stop, for instead of toilet paper, they use crepe paper but you even have that covered because you also bought your a box of Kleenex which now have the dual purpose of wiping your nether regions + wiping the tears of joy off your face as you leave Villa Capri.

Room Tip: This hotel is under renovation, they are fixing their roof. Management said, until the roof is fixe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacapribocachica, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Capri, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Google Translation
Tutti i clienti sono sempre soddisfatti della nostra ospitalita' come si puo' notare dalle precedenti recenzioni. Abbiamo sempre accettato i pochi commenti negativi, per poi poter migliorare in seguito, quindi sono sempre ben graditi.
C'è una squadra di 12 persone che lavorano ininterrottamente per fornire dei servizi adeguati in ogni reparto, quindi riteniamo inopportuna questa recenzione che ci sembra pretestuoso e fatta appositamente per degradare il buon nome dell'hotel.


All customers are always satisfied with our hospitality as you can see from the previous book reviews.
We have always accepted the few negative comments, then we can improve as a result, so are always welcome.
There is a team of 12 people working continuously to provide adequate services in each department so we believe this unfortunate recenzione that seems pretextual and specially made to degrade the good name of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Hotel villa Capri was very clean. Staff was very nice and friendly. Very safe place to stay. The Spa services were inexpensive and very good. I would recommend this place if you do not want to be at a big resort. I have nothing negative to say. The hotel is way under price for the excellent quality of service provided. There is a bar next across the street that plays music all day...It gave the feeling of being in Dominica Republic. The music did not go on too late so good night sleep was not affected.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room with a queen bed. The balcony was nice on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Back at it again! Was in Boca Chica this past weekend. I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Hotel Villa Capri again. This was my second time staying at this particular hotel. This hotel has apartments that are roomy/spacious, cozy, and they feel like a real home away from home. The head staff as well as the staff support personnel were very helpful and accommodating to my needs and my concerns during my stay on the property. The apartment that was provided was spectacular, with a huge living room area, an eat-in kitchen-with a six chair dining table a full size fridge, stove and oven, dishes, pots, pans, eating utensils, double sink, two balconies-one in the living room area and one in the master bedroom, TV with cable stations, and a bathroom to die for. This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to the Boca Chica Beach, and to the local area supermarket. The hotel also offers a spa and massage area-very tranquil and peaceful. The massage was great! .
I will definitely return to this hotel on my following trip to Boca Chica. I love this hotel!

Room Tip: Many of the apartments are very large,very roomy, and sunny. The bedroom and the living room have da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Starting with the owner and workers. You can ask for better people they don't know what else they can do for you. Nothing negative everything was yes. Clean... The covers don't even have a bad smell like other hotel I have stayed at.

Yes you are next to a big road but the noise it's not that bad. You are going to DR everyone listens to music.

Spa loved it very nice girl that did my massage. If you go make sure to use the spa with great prices.

Safe!!! Yes I felt safe there with me and my belongings. There is always someone there locking out for everything and the owner and wife are always up at any time of night.

Villa Capri thank you for making me feel at home.

Jacqueline :-)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at Villa Capri in April for one night before going on a cruise and one another night after the cruise, before my flight.

Clean room, the smell of disinfectant quite strong though. Shower a bit dirty but would do for one night. Very nice staff, attentive and accomodating, security at the gate.

Noisy until late of night due to location, near an auto shop, I heard loud local music until I finally fell asleep. Breakfast is not worth it.

Overall, very good value for money for people in transit.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor is an apartment with ceiling fan and kitchinette, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was traveling to the Dominican Republic for the first time and after having my flight delayed twice I didn't arrive and then leave the airport in Santo Domingo until almost 1AM. I arrived at the Hotel Villa Capri at almost 2AM and was worried that since I hadn't emailed them that I might not be able to check-in since it was so late, but thankfully the owner was waiting for my arrival. I was quickly checked in and was pleasantly surprised that even though the surrounding area didn't look that nice in the middle of the night the hotel itself was very secure and the room was a suite with a large bathroom and full-size kitchen and dinning area. The bedroom was air conditioned and the entire suite was very clean. I slept quite well and in the morning (almost noon) the owner answered several questions and made great suggestions on how to obtain a sim card, travel on a budget through the country, and how to get back to Santo Domingo on a gua gua (bus). I spent an hour after check out using the wi-fi in the lobby and was very grateful for such wonderful hospitality. I definitely recommend staying at this hotel after your arrival in Santo Domingo since it is very close to the airport. I recommend taking the gua gua from the airport (upstairs at departures where American Airlines ticketing is) and paying for a seat for you and one for your luggage which would cost you about $1.50 a seat since a taxi will set you back anywhere from $20-25 US. You would just have to be arriving prior to when the gua guas stop running. It would also be a great place to stay if you are visiting Boca Chica's beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Capri

Address: Autopista Las Americas Km.32 Numero 34 | esq J.B. Vicini, Boca Chica 10700, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer different types of apartments in a complex called Villa Capri. The apartments have fully equipped kitchen, there is a laundry service, internet, daily cleaning, linen and all the comforts of a hotel but with the confidence of private house. Apartment situated in the context of the Villa Capri which comprises: living room of 30 square meters. wall-equipped kitchen with all amenities. Two double bedrooms, bathroom and terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Capri Hotel Boca Chica
Hotel Villa Capri Dominican Republic/Boca Chica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.