We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Dissappointing ...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Don Juan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Don Juan Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Abraham Nunez St, P.O. Box 1348 | Boca Chica Beach, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Boca Chica
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“So Dissappointing ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I took advantage of a Groupon special to stay at the "DON JUAN BEACH RESORT" in Boca Chica. Our trip was to celebrate our two year wedding anniversary. I understand their prices are low… But that is NO excuse for running a resort that is literally falling apart.

Prior to our trip, we made arrangements for a transfer service to pick us up. The hotel management took care of the reservation and confirmed we would be picked up by an approved taxi service. We arrived on time - Thursday at 11.30am, but there was NO TAXI. I called the resort, and almost an hour later, the taxi arrived. He made it a point for us to know how he was taken away from eating his delicious lunch so he could come pick us up, how he is NOT TO BLAME for not being there on time, it was the management’s fault.
We arrived and check in was a breeze. We were escorted to our room and the view was SPECTACULAR... The room however, very outdated, muggy, wet, bugs all over and below "basic" standards. We were excited to see what perks were in our room given that this is an “ALL INCLUSIVE” Resort. Our mini fridge was completely EMPTY. The restroom had a teeny tiny soap bar and a hair cap. Only one big towel and one medium towel – THAT’S IT! Throughout our stay we kept asking – practically ended up BEGGING the hotel guest services to send provide drinks for us to enjoy inside our room, but unless we escalated, those drinks never made it to us. The times WE DID escalate, we received two bottles of water, two 7-Up sodas and a 40oz Brava Light Beer.
We went downstairs and got a bite to eat. The food was cold and bland. We then went to the main pool bar and asked what beer selection they have and to our surprise, they only offer BRAVA Light (Brazilian beer that tastes like skunky water). As far as alcoholic drinks, the only ones I recognized from the very lonely 10 selections were ONE bottle of no name Rum, Vodka and Wiskey – Everything else was unrecognizable. No fruit juices, just a swirly pina colada mix.
They make you really work to get a buzz… the drinks (beer or mixed) are given in cups that are 4oz. three sips and you’re done! Then, it’s back to the bar for another shot of beer or beyond sweet and little alcoholic pina colada.
We then moved on to explore the resort - The main pool is nice. The foliage and overall surroundings is very very beautiful. The beach is just steps away – It really is too bad that the beach SWARMMED by vendors. As soon as you walk in to the sand the vendors come at you like flies on poop. If you say No politely, they don’t understand. If you ignore them, they don’t understand. Eventually they call you bad names, give you dirty looks and walk away, but you don’t have a single minute to enjoy yourself. You are CONSTANTLY- and I mean that with extreme sincerity - CONSTANTLY harassed to buy glasses, pedicures, massages, frames, jewelry, food, tarot readings etc etc etc.
We arrived Thursday Night… The very next day we were at the resort, we were praying to come home. Our room had EXTREMELY THIN WALLS. We heard our neighbor’s romantic intimate encounters OVER- and OVER and OVER again – the sound was so clear, we could hear them talking, laughing, screaming, snoring, and say “good morning” and “good night” each day. The entire resort ambience just seemed so wrong. Staff is very poorly trained on customer service and etiquette. Managers walk around as if they own the place and they are too important to smile at the guests. Staff members seem scared to talk to the guests and don’t know the meaning of going the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one. The “entertainment staff” spends the entire day at the main pool trying to make contact with the guests and watching each other’s back while they take turns to drink alcohol behind the towel room. The male entertainers are the only ones that somewhat make the effort to talk to the guests, while the women entertainers just walk around dancing to the same songs playing over and over again.
By the third day, we came across a restaurant next to the resort called “SPORTING CLUB”. They are NOT affiliated with Don Juan. Their Italian food is very delicious. They use fresh fruit for the daiquiris and pina coladas. Their Rum and Coke really is a RUM & COKE. You are at the beachfront enjoying the breeze and the beach without vendor harassment. The remainder of our stay, my husband and I ate at the sporting club most of the time.
It’s really a shame, because the resort has SO MUCH POTENTIAL. If the resort owners were to invest in this property, they would bring their success rate to new high. I say bring a line of consultants to revamp and re-train the Staff in proper customer care. Fire the sorry excuse for a chef they currently have and hire someone with REAL COOKING SKILLS. We love Dominican food, but the one offered at Don Juan was below standards. There is not clean environment. Flys swarm the buffet and birds come in and out as they please. Invest in new beds – the ones you have are sunk and not comfortable at all. Provide toiletries (shampoo conditioner, lotion and soap) to your guests – Really advertize your brand and make them feel appreciated. Offer a wider variety of alcoholic drinks, is Light Brazilian beer the best way to represent your country?

I can go on and on about things that are wrong with this resort, but I think I’ve said enough.

Will we go back to Don Juan Beach Resort – No way!

Room Tip: Captains Rooms have the Best View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    118
    103
    60
    41
See reviews for
68
100
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My stay at the don juan resort was a much needed r&r vacation. The island is paradise without question. The property was a little dated but lush with greenery and a pleasant staff. My original room had no air and was run down. Don't be afraid to ask for a better room, I ended up with a beach front room with a great view. The major draw backs were the vendors who patrolled the beach trying to sell their wears. Jewelry ,paintings, caps and sunglasses, offering a massage and mannies and peddies was annoying and bothersome. It is also in an impoverished neighborhood which I think lent itself to the vendors. I never felt unsafe although I did not and would not venture out into the surrounding area in the day or night. It was an all inclusive deal, so it was quite affordable, but the food became boring and bland. If you are looking a real peace and quiet the Don Juan does not make the grade. If you are looking for an affordable and decent property it can work. They also offer water sports and tours to other parts of the island.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are great. the property is relatively quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked here as part of a trip around Dominica Republic. Checking in was a task, we were given wrong key card three times and we had to eventually carry our own bags up and porter was upset no tip.

Mosquitos almost killed us, food was do'able, entertainment tad poor but for roughly £30 per night all inclusive didn't expect much better....Punta Cana paid same price and that was heaps better.

Staff generally ok...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Don Juan must have seen its glory days. However, whatever it may lack in new infrastructure, it definitely makes up for the very warm hospitality and attention to details that it's staff pay to it's clientele. The rooms are clean. Dining choices is not as varied as in the other resorts in the area but the taste is definitely commendable. The facilities are simple but of course you get what you pay for. Although they advertised free kayak, wind surf etc., we did don't find these and we've had to rent a water bike from one of the hawkers by the beach one of whom certainly needed some lessons in customer service and basic manners so beware. We couldnt find the a la carte La Caleta retardant within the premises. Perhaps it's already non operational. We recommend having a drink at the Makey Bar - feel the breeze whilst you savour your caipirinha.

Room Tip: If you normally book your hotel online, also try calling them for their price quote as they can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Service very bad, food horrible, horrible area, lots of prostitutes around the area, we stayed 9 days, I wanted to leave on the third day! No beach towells...I had to wait untill next day to get one! and the hotel was not full! People were not friendly at all!

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food is absolutely terrible ........... short on glasses, spoons ... low quality typical dominican food ... the place is dirty ....... do not stay here ............... Very few towels in the bathrooms ... no water or anything in the small refrigerators ... cannot lock the patio doors ... a/c broke twice while we stayed there ... ceiling fan was broken .......

Room Tip: go somewhere else ! do not stay in Boca Chica !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Don Juan is an older complex of buildings. It's right between the city streets and the beach. The airport transfer bus drops you off on the street. The first impression of the resort is scary. The entrance is very poor looking. There is no feeling that you are walking into a quality or luxury resort when you arrive....you feel more like you're about to get mugged. The place improves once you get off the street and out of the reception area to where the gust building are located. Most are four story buildings. There are no elevators in the resort so be warned about the amount of luggage you take and your physical abilities.

The buffet food is not good but it's about what you can expect from a resort of this quality. They have a small pizza oven snack bar by the pool that probably has the best food (pizza) in the place. Quite good actually.

The "captain's" rooms generally face the ocean/beach. My room was nice enough but keep in mind that the resort does NOT replenish any beverages in the room and they do NOT provide bottled water. You must get your own water from a dispenser located on each floor. Obviously do not drink the tap water.

The beach is not private. guests are constantly bothered by the locals to purchase their goods. CONSTANTLY. Every 5 to 10 minutes is not an exaggeration. if you wish to lounge on the beach you WILL be pestered constantly...probably to the point of giving up and moving to the pool area. The beach is not spectacular anyhow. It's the weekend local hotspot though so it gets very crowded with locals on the weekend is totally TRASHED by them. They send in local cleaners to pick up the garbage from the beach when the weekend is over. It seems to be the local culture to just drop your garbage wherever you happen to be.

My biggest surprise was to learn that the Don Juan has a reputation as a sex tourism resort for pedophiles. There are young pre-girls constantly around the resort looking to service clients. You will often see old, single men hooking up with these 13 - 15 year old girls on the resort, by the pool and on the beach. Local authorities do nothing about it. If you see it happening though, report it nonetheless. Be vocal about it. Take photos and videos of it for the authorities. I would not bring my children anywhere near this place.

If you are a scuba diver, there is a great shop called Treasure Divers nearby and some really nice dive sites including wreck and deeps dive. There are also some awesome freshwater cave sites with spectacular haloclines to experience.

There are not too many resort options in this area and all likely have the same issues. The prices seems surprisingly higher than other Dominican resorts in Punta Cana that are on some of the best beaches in the world. Go figure.

If you fly into Santo Domingo airport, the drive to the hotel is quick. Most flights land in Punta Cana though which can be a 4 hour drive to the resort from the airport…making for a very long day.

Room Tip: The captain's club rooms face the ocean and beach. You can stand on your balcony and watch all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Don Juan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Juan Beach Resort

Address: Abraham Nunez St, P.O. Box 1348 | Boca Chica Beach, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Juan Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Don Juan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Juan Beach Hotel Boca Chica
Hotel Don Juan Beach
Don Juan Hotel Santo Domingo
Don Juan Resort Dominican Republic
Don Juan Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Boca Chica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Juan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.