We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Don Juan Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Don Juan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Don Juan Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Abraham Nunez St, P.O. Box 1348 | Boca Chica Beach, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Boca Chica
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cheap and Cheerful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked here as part of a trip around Dominica Republic. Checking in was a task, we were given wrong key card three times and we had to eventually carry our own bags up and porter was upset no tip.

Mosquitos almost killed us, food was do'able, entertainment tad poor but for roughly £30 per night all inclusive didn't expect much better....Punta Cana paid same price and that was heaps better.

Staff generally ok...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    111
    105
    57
    46
See reviews for
73
103
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The Don Juan must have seen its glory days. However, whatever it may lack in new infrastructure, it definitely makes up for the very warm hospitality and attention to details that it's staff pay to it's clientele. The rooms are clean. Dining choices is not as varied as in the other resorts in the area but the taste is definitely commendable. The facilities are simple but of course you get what you pay for. Although they advertised free kayak, wind surf etc., we did don't find these and we've had to rent a water bike from one of the hawkers by the beach one of whom certainly needed some lessons in customer service and basic manners so beware. We couldnt find the a la carte La Caleta retardant within the premises. Perhaps it's already non operational. We recommend having a drink at the Makey Bar - feel the breeze whilst you savour your caipirinha.

Room Tip: If you normally book your hotel online, also try calling them for their price quote as they can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Service very bad, food horrible, horrible area, lots of prostitutes around the area, we stayed 9 days, I wanted to leave on the third day! No beach towells...I had to wait untill next day to get one! and the hotel was not full! People were not friendly at all!

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food is absolutely terrible ........... short on glasses, spoons ... low quality typical dominican food ... the place is dirty ....... do not stay here ............... Very few towels in the bathrooms ... no water or anything in the small refrigerators ... cannot lock the patio doors ... a/c broke twice while we stayed there ... ceiling fan was broken .......

Room Tip: go somewhere else ! do not stay in Boca Chica !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Don Juan is an older complex of buildings. It's right between the city streets and the beach. The airport transfer bus drops you off on the street. The first impression of the resort is scary. The entrance is very poor looking. There is no feeling that you are walking into a quality or luxury resort when you arrive....you feel more like you're about to get mugged. The place improves once you get off the street and out of the reception area to where the gust building are located. Most are four story buildings. There are no elevators in the resort so be warned about the amount of luggage you take and your physical abilities.

The buffet food is not good but it's about what you can expect from a resort of this quality. They have a small pizza oven snack bar by the pool that probably has the best food (pizza) in the place. Quite good actually.

The "captain's" rooms generally face the ocean/beach. My room was nice enough but keep in mind that the resort does NOT replenish any beverages in the room and they do NOT provide bottled water. You must get your own water from a dispenser located on each floor. Obviously do not drink the tap water.

The beach is not private. guests are constantly bothered by the locals to purchase their goods. CONSTANTLY. Every 5 to 10 minutes is not an exaggeration. if you wish to lounge on the beach you WILL be pestered constantly...probably to the point of giving up and moving to the pool area. The beach is not spectacular anyhow. It's the weekend local hotspot though so it gets very crowded with locals on the weekend is totally TRASHED by them. They send in local cleaners to pick up the garbage from the beach when the weekend is over. It seems to be the local culture to just drop your garbage wherever you happen to be.

My biggest surprise was to learn that the Don Juan has a reputation as a sex tourism resort for pedophiles. There are young pre-girls constantly around the resort looking to service clients. You will often see old, single men hooking up with these 13 - 15 year old girls on the resort, by the pool and on the beach. Local authorities do nothing about it. If you see it happening though, report it nonetheless. Be vocal about it. Take photos and videos of it for the authorities. I would not bring my children anywhere near this place.

If you are a scuba diver, there is a great shop called Treasure Divers nearby and some really nice dive sites including wreck and deeps dive. There are also some awesome freshwater cave sites with spectacular haloclines to experience.

There are not too many resort options in this area and all likely have the same issues. The prices seems surprisingly higher than other Dominican resorts in Punta Cana that are on some of the best beaches in the world. Go figure.

If you fly into Santo Domingo airport, the drive to the hotel is quick. Most flights land in Punta Cana though which can be a 4 hour drive to the resort from the airport…making for a very long day.

Room Tip: The captain's club rooms face the ocean and beach. You can stand on your balcony and watch all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My travel agent a native of DR suggest that we visit Don Juan in August 2010 & that we would love it. He was exactly right. D resort was smaller than d previous resort we stayed @ b4. Had 1 pool & a smaller pool close by d disco. No swim up bar but did have a small food area where u could have pina colada, pizza & on d beach area u could walk over a small pier & have hot dog or s drink. Water rides u had 2 pay 4. Snorkeling& a few more activities .loved d nightly entertainment. At d disco d staff will show us hoe to dance, just haf a wonderful time. What d resort didn't have in appearance d staff made up 4 it by being really nice to us. Poolside staff employees like Raphael, Ray, Marleni were great with the guests, especially Raphael. He's one of best persons I have meet, he's caring,loving &kindhearted, he makes that resort what it is, d owners should give him a big fat pat on his shoulder along with a big fat salary increase. This resort is #2 on my list of resorts in Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I love Republic Dominica... Been all over the island and had an Outstanding time at the Don Juan, Boca Chica!!! The staff were wonderfully pleasent and willing to help, My suite was Nicely cleaned and straighten'd Up everyday. A variety of delicious foods and fruits to eat everyday plus Entertainment provided by the staff and guests!!!
My only complaint is reading these DUMB reviews by close minded people.. If you want Top Notch service then go to a Top Notch Hotel... Nothing Perfect. You're in there country, so do as the Romans do!!!

I'll be back Don Juan!!!

Room Tip: Every room is a Good room.. You're on Vacation!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Juan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Juan Beach Resort

Address: Abraham Nunez St, P.O. Box 1348 | Boca Chica Beach, Boca Chica, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Boca Chica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boca Chica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Juan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Don Juan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Juan Beach Hotel Boca Chica
Hotel Don Juan Beach
Don Juan Hotel Santo Domingo
Don Juan Resort Dominican Republic
Don Juan Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Boca Chica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Juan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.